Westmount River Inn

Westmount River Inn

1840 Westmount Blvd NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3G8 Canada
Traveller (37)
This is how I had to secure my door at night because the lock was insecure (no deadbolt, just a doorknob lock of french doors that could be pushed open).
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 lodges in Calgary
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Westmount River Inn is located across the beautiful Bow River and walking distance to the Kensington district, many dining options, nightlife, theatre, museums, art galleries, performance spaces and parks galore. Within minutes you can access the Jubilee Auditorium, Eau Claire Market, Calgary's vibrant downtown core, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, University of Calgary, Foothills Hospital, TELUS Science Center, and the TELUS Convention Center. We are 7 minutes away from the meeting spaces at Calgary's major hotels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Iron
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern

Location

1840 Westmount Blvd NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3G8 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Calgary Intl Airport
10.5 km
See all flights
71Reviews2Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Aimee wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A huge thanks to John and Kim, our gracious bed and breakfast hosts at this lovely inn. We are a 4 person family and appreciated the 2 rooms connected by one bathroom setup, and all the free snacks and hot chocolate for our little ones. This place is truly unique with the master craftsmanship of the woodwork shown throughout the house. The place was very clean and close to everything we needed. We felt well accommodated and well at home.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and John, General Manager at Westmount River Inn
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Thank you for the positive feedback Aimee, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter M wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This inn is a home to two incredibly modest hosts, Kim and John. I am glad I stayed here as it provided a personal touch to my Calgary visit. The home is a 10 minute bus ride to the downtown business core and in the range of many restaurants to choose. I enjoyed my stay at the Westmount River Inn and have no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and John, General Manager at Westmount River Inn
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Thank you for the positive feedback Peter, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and Calgary visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria Ramos Guerra wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our time at the Westmount River Inn was a lovely stay and encounter I believe we were blessed with at the end of our honeymoon...

The home faces the river and a view of downtown. hosts of this bed and breakfast were knowledgeable and helpful for our every need. Free parking, water, coffee and tea, and they gave us a free room upgrade on hearing we were on our honeymoon!

The place is 10/10 for professionalism, coziness, and cleanliness ... Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and John, General Manager at Westmount River Inn
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Thank you for the positive feedback Maria, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DArm wrote a review Dec 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Greeted by a young family member who was not wearing a mask at the door. Area and room were clean and lovely wood floors. Was asked for identification but no vaccination proof. Little instruction provided by greeter, although she was friendly and offered tea.
Although it did not appear busy, the owners who reside on the lower level from the rooms were up until 3am. Voices, laughter from the room below us, and glasses clinking in the kitchen made it difficult to sleep. Finally quieted down around 3:30. Very poor sleep. Minimal blankets were also provided and had to leave the fireplace on to maintain warmth.
Was disappointed as the cost of Guesthouse was on the higher end. Positive was cleanliness, and near Kensington district.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and John, General Manager at Westmount River Inn
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Hi Daria, our sincere apologies as this is not what we aim for in our guest experience, and I apologize that you did not have a good rest, as this is the most important part of your stay. We stock 2x the amount of spare blankets, and a plethora of face, hand, and bath towels, should you have required anything I wish we provided it to you. We always let our guests know that if they need anything, please let us know. We will strive to do better, thanks and I hope that you enjoyed your time in Calgary Please contact us for a major discount if you decide to come to Calgary again - we will do our best to make it up to you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lizbob2015 wrote a review Oct 2022
Red Deer, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at this fantastic Inn and we were blown away.
We occupied the master suite with
King sized bed and fireplace which has a walk-in steam shower and gigantic jet tub, it is utterly amazing
It was meticulously clean and very nicely decorated.
Our hosts were just the most lovely people who gave us a warm welcome and tour of their beautiful home.
It is located in a nice area with view of the river and city skyline and yet quiet and peaceful too,
We highly recommend staying here and we will definitely return.
Thank you to both of you for making our stay so wonderful
Liz & Bob Bloos
Red Deer AB
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Syd N wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
*NOT* a traditional hotel, but a genuine gem! Yes, the owners asked us to remove our shoes at the door, yes it is literally their home. Not really bothersome, and in my case (I'm half Filipina and also take my shoes off in my house) a welcome change. The home itself is beautiful, filled with rich, gorgeous woodworking that I was told was custom, done by one of the home owners himself. The room was spotless and welcoming, and my boyfriend and I were even offered some delicious biscotti on the first day. The innkeepers/homeowners are INCREADIBLY kind, and if you want a nice treat, please stay here!
(Also, there's just a lot of shops and whatnot nearby. Not necessarily walking distance for myself as a disabled woman, but not more than a 5 minute drive. I recommend the Oxbow for dinner!)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The King Balcony room also had a bathroom with a standard width tub that was nice and deep!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenny B wrote a review Sept 2022
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
WARNING: This is a private home in a residential neighborhood, flanked by worn down homes and facing a highway. I did not feel safe in this home as a solo woman traveller. My bedroom door did not lock securely. I had to be let in by calling a man living and working there who was creepy. There was religious paraphernalia decorating the house throughout (crucifixes, Virgin Mary). I had booked a 5-night stay, and when I tried to cancel on Day 1 after realizing I could not sleep there, I was told there were no refunds, no matter what.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Derek D wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Westmount River Inn on July 28th. and found everything to be outstanding. Kim and John are excellent hosts who are very proud of their beautiful home. The king suite is spacious with a comfortable bed and a gorgeous ensuite. We had a wonderful hot breakfast, delivered to our room. The inn is situated close to the Bow River walkway and within easy walking distance to Kensington with all it's restaurants and shopping. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The king suite is magnificent with a large walk in closet and a huge ensuite with large shower...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MawahibA wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I went to this b&b for Valentine's weekend. The owners were so welcoming, we stayed in the main king's suite. It was absolutely beautiful, the fireplace and the jet tub were my two favorites in the suit, we had a regular breakfast the first day, and a vietnamese breakfast the second day, it was DELICIOUS!!
We had our own private bathroom a spacious walk-in closet and a massive room. It was clean, quiet and no one bothered us. I would definitely recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian M wrote a review Feb 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A phenomenally gorgeous stay. The interior woodwork and rooms look incredible. A comfortable and homely place with great service.

The place was very peaceful, definitely a unique gem. There is nothing like it - we have stayed in the Banff fairmont castle, and the quality and luxury of the interiors does not compare! A great place to take a weekend off, if you want to experience luxury for the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Westmount R
Calgary, Canada
Hello Janey, Thank you for contacting us. Yes, we offer gluten free breakfast and gluten free toast as well. Also there are Asian breakfast offered at a small charge There was a couple day of smoke smell from Fort McMurray and BC when there were a huge fire and smoke was all over the city. It is now all fine. Hope that answer your question. Best regards, Kate
MaryAnn M asked a question Feb 2015
Pickering, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
Can I leave my luggage at the Inn before check-in, and after check-out?
Answer from Kim N
Calgary, Canada
Yes, please just call us to arrange for storage. Thank you, Kim
Syd N wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The King Balcony room also had a bathroom with a standard width tub that was nice and deep!"
Read full review
Derek D wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The king suite is magnificent with a large walk in closet and a huge ensuite with large shower and jacuzzi tub."
Read full review
Sharon R wrote a tip Aug 2018
Edmonton, Canada177 contributions82 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms in the front of the Inn are right by Memorial Drive, so ask for a rear room if you are sensitive to sound."
Read full review
yay4films wrote a tip Jul 2017
North Plains, Oregon159 contributions92 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suggest rooms not facing the street. The small room is plenty fine for people on the go. It's in a rear-facing corner of the house."
Read full review
Trifus wrote a tip May 2017
Edmonton18 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you like to open windows at night, book a room facing the back yard as you can hardly hear the traffic."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
₹9,026 - ₹13,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgaryHillurst / Northwest Calgary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WESTMOUNT RIVER INN (Calgary, Alberta) - Lodge Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Westmount River Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Westmount River Inn?
Nearby attractions include Trapped (1.1 km), Peace Bridge (0.6 km), and Escape 60 (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Westmount River Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Westmount River Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Westmount River Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Westmount River Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Westmount River Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gaga Pizza, Hayden Block, and Niko's.
Are there any historical sites close to Westmount River Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heritage Park Historical Village (7.4 km), The Confluence Historic Site & Parkland (4.1 km), and Lougheed House (2.0 km).
All Calgary HotelsCalgary Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalgaryHotels near Westmount River Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire