We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Show Prices
#78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 365: English reviews
Alberta
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel Jan 20-21, 2017. Rooms were not properly cleaned, and there were jelly beans, and popcorn kernels all over. The lamp was so dirty I didn't want to touch it. TV didn't work, and the power was our in half of the room. The staff was courteous, and understanding, but the room was one of the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Karen B Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our location on line. We are truely sorry and disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with our location. Our management team are in the process of reviewing your concerns with our staff. It is our policy to ensure all guest concerns are addressed at the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only down side was the continental breakfast. Please give the poor caterer a bigger budget! Coffee barely luke warm; waffles always cold; microwave unplugged or broken. Unappetizing pucks of egg-like food product and meat-like food product. Staff was very good. Pool was in good shape.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J. Wayne D
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, we are glad that you continue to sta y at our location for over 10 years. Your family has and continues to be a valued customer. We welcome any suggestion to our breakfast . Currently we offer a variety of pastries including danish, scones, muffins, strudell. We offer bagels, breads, jams, coffee, teas, yogurts,...

Penang, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay here. We called to confirm our stay and see if we can book a handicap room. The very nice gentleman said they were all booked and said he could give us a room with a walk in shower. I called back and spoke to a lady, who was not very helpful and said, "we don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebnCait
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, As the hotel manager , I have never received any communication from yourself until reading your comments here on trip advisor and welcome you to contact me directly . Due to the holiday season, I did have the opportunity to meet you as I checked your family out. Again, none of your comments were discussed...

Mayerthorpe, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pool very nice as well as hot tub. I will tell other about our experience.Make TVs easier to move around in quicker start up.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank connieh442
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful things that you have put in your review , we appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 526mirandam
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Elko, Canada
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Some of the Super 8 Hotels appear to be transitioning thru govern grants into homeless shelters. We were told the 1st floor was being painted and workers wouldn't be there during the night but it was clear people were staying below us. The breakfast was about equal to prison food and coffee cold and clearly from the day before. Interesting...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 453susannej
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Super 8 Shawnessy is at the tail end of our renovation project would includes painting of rooms, vanities and new carpets. During your stay, the first floor was closed and no one has been able to stay on that floor during the renovation project The staff are committed to ensuring customers concerns are addressed in a timely fashion and as...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We stayed at the Super 8 this past weekend, for an out of town hockey tournament. Let me start by saying that there were positives as well as negatives during our stay. The start off, the hotel was very accommodating to our hockey team booking all our families together on one floor, and the staff was very welcoming to us,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oilersfan1499
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback , we appreciate both the positive and negative as we strive to improve our service and our product Looking forward to your next visit

Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2016

When we first arrived the manager had her desk attendant on the phone for over 20 minutes suggest if there is that much concern for employees send an e-mail and allow him to do his job. 4am fire alarm went off and could hardly hear it in the room. Followed the fire exit instructions and when we got to the...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertlR9511JP
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I will be following up with the staff regarding your concerns At Super 8 , we pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and support of our staff. On behalf of the staff, I would like to apologize if you felt that our front desk had not gotten to you immediately We...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The elevator was very wet from the kids using the pool and the bathtub does not have any safety handles for seniors,do not recommend for seniors.....

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marylU593PZ
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know your concerns SUPER 8 Shawnessy is able to give our guests a choice with a variety of room types. We are able to feature rooms that are accessible with walk in showers and bath tub rooms with safety bars The next time you book at our location, please ask the front desk for an...

Kootenay Rockies, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

First off: The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. I had booked a 'ground floor' pet room but at arrival was told that the entire main floor was being renovated and we were forced to accept a room on the second floor. During our stay at this Super 8 we encountered several major issues (residual cigaret smoke in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garden-witch
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we are happy we were able to address your concerns and that you returned to our location We look forward to seeing you soon

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#81 of 109 in Calgary
163 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#84 of 109 in Calgary
34 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Residence Inn Calgary South
Residence Inn Calgary South
#59 of 109 in Calgary
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Address: 60 Shawville Rd, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Price Range: ₹ 4,558 - ₹ 10,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area Alberta
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kelowna, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“;The place is under renovation. Hopefully it will be a little better after renos are completed.”
 of 5 bubbles AlbertaKarebear, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles garden-witch, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road construction.”
 of 5 bubbles kcl491, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 130dennis, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Find one with no kids near you”
 of 5 bubbles diamas2016, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay