Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0 Canada
Lake Louise, 8am in the morning. Taken from the front of the hotel.
Traveller (8629)
Panorama at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
360
Panoramas (42)
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Lake Louise
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Babysitting
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Ski rentals
Skiing
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Price:Up to 25% Off This Summer

Location

111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0 Canada
10,251Reviews171Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6,545
  • 2,125
  • 885
  • 439
  • 258
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DCH_in_Canada wrote a review Sept 2022
Newmarket, Canada
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stay here every winter and summer, and even though we have spent well over 100 nights here, we still have reason to come back again.

On this summer visit, we treated my mother and cousin to a nice 3-week vacation, split between the Chateau Lake Louise and the Banff Springs Hotel. Because there were four of us travelling, we booked a Two Bedroom Lakeview Suite. We were pleased to be assigned to 859 on the top floor.

Arriving at the hotel, the valet staff promptly greeted us, unloaded our bags, and handed us the keys to our suite. We left the car with the valet and headed to the suite. It wasn't busy at the front desk, but it was nice to be able to skip and head directly to the suite.

We were greeted in the suite by a nice bottle of wine and a welcome snack. Accor Diamond member benefits, such as the drink vouchers, were also provided on arrival. The suite was beautifully renovated, and provided good space for the four of us. With two bedrooms and two-and-a-half baths, large closets, a lovely living room and dining area, the suite had great space. And of course, great views from the six windows across the front of the turret! The only thing it could have used, was some additional dresser space for clothing in the second bedroom. The master bedroom had plenty of drawer space.

We ate dinners in the Fairview, Alpine Social, Walliser Stube (always my favourite) and several times at the Lakeview Lounge. We had breakfast in Lago most mornings, but also ordered in-room dining a few times. It's nice to have breakfast included via both options. All meals were excellent. I don't know if we just got lucky, but we seemed to get the best window table for every meal (except Alpine Social, which doesn't really have any views), so that was appreciated.

On our first day while having dinner in the Lakeview Lounge, the hotel's Manager of Dining Services came to our table, and said she noticed us having dinner, and offered any assistance with any meals for the remainder of our stay. We already had reservations for remaining nights, but it was very nice of her to reach out.

If I had one complaint, it was about the time to get breakfast. There was nearly always a line to get a table, and with no way to reserve. Guests in suites are supposed to have priority dining access, but that clearly doesn't apply to breakfast! It also would be nice if you could have in-room dining earlier than 7:15, which is too late when planning some early morning hikes or trying to get to a Lake O'Hara bus reservation. I don't remember it like this on any of our prior stays, so this is an area that really needs to be addressed. I'm hoping once the delayed renovation of Louiza is completed and they finally open, perhaps they will offer breakfast in two restaurants? They certainly need more breakfast capacity to eliminate the waits.

While not the responsibility of the hotel, over the course of the nearly two weeks we stayed here, it certainly helped that the weather was fabulous, with only one day with cloudy skies. We used the Moraine Lake shuttle bus a couple of times during the stay. We hiked about 50 miles and climbed a couple of peaks. It was a great trip!

Now we just have to wait until March for our return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lake view suites in the main building provide the best experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 13 Sept 2022
Dear DCH_in_Canada, Thank you so much for being a loyal guest with us and taking the time to detail your recent stay on Tripadvisor. We are honored to see you keep having a reason to come back and we appreciate you sharing your comments with the team. We look forward to your upcoming stay in March! Sincerely, Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gilboman2001 wrote a review Sept 2020
toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for two nights at the end of August in a Lakeview room, I had emailed few days before my stay to request an AC and/or fan and they were great and able to get a room with AC for me which i enjoyed and appreicated.

the hotel itself is in perfect location, view from my room was amazing and the interaction with staff from parking to check in to restaurant, room service and canoe rental was excellent and reflects the price of the property.

Covid19 precautions were evident in only permitting access to guests on the property and parking lot, masks indoors for everyone, sanitizing stations everywhere especially outside elevators on all floors and modified room cleaning and booking to use gym/pool.

the room itself was fine, definitely not reflective of the price but think of it as 80% is for the view/location and 20% for room. it was of a decent size though bathroom was tiny with limited counter space or even space to move around. Room had nespresso and kettle as well as a fridge. Tv had ability to stream from your device though it didn't work with my Samsung S10 but worked with my wife's Pixel phone. Bed and sheets were great and comfy.

rest of room looked a bit dated and paint was chipping along the baseboards.

our rate came with daily continental breakfast which was pretty basic but serviceable but it was great we could have it in our room via room service which was great and the gentleman who bought our breakfast for the two days was very friendly and gave great service.

the concierge service was great especially via text and was able to book gym reservations, ask questions, check out, ask for items all through my phone with a real person which was great.

We ate at the Lakeview restaurant for dinner and much like the hotel/room itself, it was for the view as the food taste/quality was pretty underwhelming. we had a ahi tuna appetizer that was pretty bland and lobster mac and cheese and burger/fries. It's comparable to a cheap chain restaurant in taste but given the location, there's nowhere else to eat. the staff were great just like in other parts of hotel

overall had a great stay due to view/location and staff and if/when we come back to lake louise, will stay again for the location
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Lakeview room is worth it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Dear gilboman2001: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay! Please know that I have shared your comments with our Director, Operations, our Director, Rooms and our Director, Food and Beverage so that they can review your feedback with their respective teams. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca K wrote a review Oct 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and I have to say, the staff at this hotel are just out of this world - they cannot do enough to make the stay magical for every guest! Eric at concierge was particularly helpful in the run up to our trip. The location right on the lake was just breathtaking, we had a lake view room and it was really amazing to wake up to the teal lake in the morning. The beds are super comfy and the rooms have a nespresso machine and all Le Labo products in the washroom - just divine!! The rooms themselves are a little dated, nothing special. We ate in the Lakeview lounge for lunch and dinner and it was delicious, the chef was more than happy to adjust the menu for vegetarians beyond the options listed. It’s also quite reasonable! Another great perk of staying in the hotel is the discounted rate on the lake Louise canoes as well as the express line!! They also have a complementary shuttle to morraine lake which saves guests the hassle of getting up at 4AM to ensure they can get in to the car park there. All in all, super stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Rebecca K: Thank you for your review! I am thrilled to read that you had a lovely anniversary celebration! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
natallovertheworld wrote a review Feb 2020
Newport Beach, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is unmatched and most of the service was great if we requested something, but I’m hoping that they step up their attention to detail and anticipating their guests needs like an upscale place like the Fairmont should do. I don’t like to leave negative reviews but if I was the manager I’d want to know to improve these things before they get any worse.

When we arrived late on a shuttle from the airport no one greeted us and took our bags, we had to carry bags and giant snowboard bags all the way down the long hall to the reception even though there is only one shuttle from the airport so they should have a bell attendant ready with a cart. When we finally got to our tiny room, we were excited to enjoy a drink at their basement bar but the bartender at alpine social ignored for a good 15 mins... the bar was not busy at 10 pm, he was just chatting up some girls sitting on the adjacent side. He saw us when we sat down and smiled at us but he didn’t ask if we needed anything until we flagged him down and he did not seem happy to be interrupted from his conversation to serve us.

About the room: there were dusty places in our room that housekeeping had missed and having sensitive lungs due to allergies I have a very hard time breathing in dusty places. The room was so tiny, we barely had any room to walk around our bed and the bathroom could only have one person at a time in it. A picture of this tiny room wasn’t provided when we made the reservation otherwise I would have chosen another room. The description said Mountain View and I couldn’t wait to see an alpine mountain scene with fog out of my window but it was really a parking lot and building view with mountains way in the far distance across the valley. Since we got in at night I didn’t see it until the morning and didn’t want to switch rooms since we had already settled in. When they came to tidy and clean our room, they still didn’t clean the dusty places. They also left a dirty coffee mug on the tv stand, and didn’t remove the dirty pool towel on the chair.

There was no trash cans near the elevators so some people had left their trash on the hallway table.

Hopefully they take these things into consideration because we were seriously underwhelmed and at this price there should be a higher standard.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear natallovertheworld, Thank you for choosing Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stunning scenery in Lake Louise and received high quality service! However, we were very sorry to learn of the issues pertaining to your arrival experience, your accommodation, and the service you received at Alpine Social. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding experiences to all guests and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to further discuss these events in a private setting. We have sent you a direct message and hope to connect with you shortly. Thank you, again, for your thoughtful feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with the exemplary experience that we pride ourselves on in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelbugs1004 wrote a review Jun 2020
Torquay, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We received a lovely upgrade to a beautiful large apartment on the corner overlooking the beautiful lake for our anniversary which was a wonderful treat especially the extra room for our toddler son. Beautiful restaurants particularly Walliser Stube & Lakeview Lounge. At this point we would have given 5 stars. The whole chateau loses a bit of its magic relaxed feel as it is overrun with bus loads of tourists so didn’t feel we quite received the same special treatment we’ve had at other Fairmonts being house guests. Smaller gym than other Fairmonts but loved the private stretch room I had to myself. Would have liked an outdoor heated pool as well as the indoor like other Fairmonts in the area.
Communication prior to arriving was brilliant but once we checked in, it seemed to switch off. Had sent earlier request for hypoallergenic towel for our toddler son’s common skin allergy & front desk had no idea what I was talking about on arrival & then never got back to me as promised after we checked in. Had an issue with one of our own personal towels being removed from our room by housekeeping of which I had to continue chasing up with various hotel staff even after we left as no one seemed to know anything about it or ever got back to me. No apology or compensation even offered. Staff had no idea if their towels are hypoallergenic or not so we kept receiving mixed messages. Better communication between staff required. This put a slight negative on our experience as had higher expectations of customer service. No welcome text received after our 1st night to check we were happy nor were we offered express checkin/checkout being an Accor Golf member. Upon checking out there was only 1 staff member on with a significant line of people wanting to check out which ended up a lengthy process. Avoid room service as it was lacking heat, children’s cheese toastie was almost inedible & chicken club was below par. Overall the Chateau is spectacular & we would stay again but there are some areas for improvement to making house guests feel important.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 23 Jun 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you chose Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to celebrate such a special occasion as your anniversary! I am however, disappointed to read that your experience with regards to service fell below expectation. I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your stay and kindly request you to reach out to me at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com. It is feedback such as this that enables us to learn and to continually grow so that we are able to provide the best possible experience for our guests!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelCSH wrote a review Jan 2020
Fort Worth, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the location to the room to the food to the staff, everything about our stay was incredible. My wife and I spent four days after Christmas and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. The room was much bigger than we had anticipated with a stunning view and spotlessly clean. Every staff member we interacted with was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay went well. The food, especially Walliser Stube, Alpine Social and the Lakeview Lounge, was all spectacular. It was also the perfect location from which to enjoy a few days skiing at Ski Louise just down the road. The shuttle, ski valet and bellhops made it so easy to travel between the Chateau and ski lodge and one of the drivers even found and returned a pair of sunglasses I dropped on the shuttle. We had an amazing time and can not wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FCLL, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear TravelCSH, Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to know that you and your wife received friendly, helpful service from our team during your four-day stay! We pride ourselves on creating memorable experiences for our guests and it is terrific to hear that you also enjoyed your dining services and skiing in Lake Louise! We do hope to welcome you back to The Chateau again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LillyWales wrote a review Mar 2020
Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed our stay with mostly positive experiences during our two nights, end of ski safari trip. We love the Fairmont Group and have stayed at the Pallisair, Whistler Chateau, Singapore and Santa Monica.

We opted for a great deal Apres ski which included 2 drinks each, buffet breakfast , parking and a lake a View Deluxe room. The beds always gorgeous and the view was better than sensational, showcasing a magical white wonderland , particularly stunning because it snowed and it snowed and snowed.
The buffet breakfasts in Poppy’s were great , variety and quality.

The bar restaurant staff seemed not to know about the packages sold so I felt rather awkward redeeming our drinks vouchers.

I booked a pricey Chateau experience meal in the Walisair Stube Which should have been better. The setting is Lovely old fashioned warm and comfortable. The menu included fondue starter, chateaubriand and a desert of chocolate fondue. All ok, lots of ’song and dance’ about the food from the young chef and our waiter. But frankly overpriced and lacked lustre. Cold plates , I mean freezing cold so this needed rectifying . The meal..too little fondue for 2, gelatinous bernaise sauce, overcooked potatoes, coolish steak. so all in all not good enough but edible, . The staff seemed very nice, attentive but very naive/untrained about how to deliver a nice Quality and hot meal. So all in all a disappointment and we are used to the Fairmont delivering better than this. We enjoyed ourselves none-the-less.

A further negative was a poorly cleaned bathroom. The grounds and environment were sensational, the bell and valet staff very engaging and professional , bar and beverage team also. Great meal in the Apres dinning room also and great service.
So all in all a nice hotel in a beautiful location but room cleaning and food service in the Walisair needs some oversight.

Will we go back, no, would we recommend yes ...but for us the Apres package made the stay affordable and I especially recommend the lake view. But all other Fairmont stays have been far better, impeccable and especially so in Whistler and Santa Monica.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lake Biew end of corridor room provided a great view through two windows.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo B wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our two day trip to the Chateau began on a very positive note when Andria, one of the hotel's concierges, booked us a shuttle trip to Morraine Lake. We discovered that the parking lot at Morraine, which comes before Lake Louise is normally full and nearly impossible to get to. Andria solved this problem easily and we were quickly aboard a shuttle that took us to and from this beautiful lake.
It was early on that we saw that all of the staff were wearing masks and requiring all guests to do the same.
We had asked for an room upgrade, since it was my wife's birthday, but we didn't receive one. Initially we were disappointed but when we saw the view from our hotel window, our disappointment faded away. I've added a picture of what we saw from our window. The room itself was average size but well appointed. I highly recommend booking a lake view room.
In the evening we had dinner in the Lake view Lounge . All of the tables had a front on spectacular view of the lake. The food was delicious. I had the salmon and my wife the steak. We liked to meals so much we came back the next day and ordered the same items this time my wife had the salmon and I had the steak. The service was first class, just what you would expect in a Fairmont hotel.
The next morning our breakfast in the Fairview Bar and Restaurant was equally good in terms of quality of food and service. It was during this meal we observed the hotel's cleaning protocol. When guests left a table the dishes were quickly cleared and an out of service sign was placed on the table. Then a staff member came with a spray bottle of disinfectant and cleaned the table and chairs. This staff member left and a few minutes later and second staff member came and proceeded to disinfect the table and chairs a second time. When they left they took the table not in use sign with them. We were impressed!
Our goal that morning was to walk up to Lake Agnes. so we wanted some more information about the hike. Andria was behind concierge desk again and she informed us that the 7 Km round trip was more difficult than advertised. especially for senior citizens like us. She suggested that we take walking sticks with us and even supplied them, on a loan basis, from the hotel.
The walking sticks were terrific and helped us make the Lake Agnes tea house located at the end of the trail.
Great weather, spectacular views. delicious food and helpful service made this a very memorable trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms facing Lake Louise are the most desirable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 2 Sept 2020
Dear S612DZleob: Thank you for taking the time to share your review! I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us in celebration of your wife's birthday! I will be sure to share your kind words with Andria and the team! We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Westydave wrote a review Feb 2020
Emu Plains, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just finished a wonderful week at the Fairmont Chateau. The highlights of the week are:

The Ice Magic festival was amazing: teams of 2 working for 36 hours to create amazing ice sculptures with chainsaws , drills, and irons ... cannot believe the artwork they created ( it was -30 degrees as well)

Gold Floor: the food, the service , the room and most of all the view is amazing. We are a family of 4 sharing one room with 2 queens, we loved breakfast every morning ( omelettes by Conner and the team were a highlight) the all day snacks and drinks were also used each day. Some nights if we had lunch we would just have the gold lounge canapés for dinner .. they were great .. the concierge would also organise anything you needed.

The Night Snow Shoe experience: booked this in for our last night in Lake Louise and had a great experience. The weather had warmed up and our guide was both knowledgeable and great fun. Recommend this to families, as long as you can walk you can snowshoe

Book in a photo session: the professional photographers are great, we walked In a 30 minute photo session which produced great photos with no fuss (I am not a photo shoot fan and I enjoyed it :-) )

Overall cannot praise the lake Louise team highly enough ... well done
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Gold Floor with Lake Front View is a Must ...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary wrote a review Mar 2021
Okotoks, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wanting to get out of the house for a few days after a year of not being able to travel, we decided to check the Chateau and take advantage of reduced prices due to reduced demand. We had a lovely weekend and especially enjoyed some wonderful meals in the restaurants. It would have been nice to have some seating in the public areas to sit and enjoy the views and hotel, but there was little or none, perhaps due to COVID concerns. We appreciated that the lake ice was well cleared for skating and for walking to the end of the lake and back. Not to much to do there in March if you don't ski, but we did enjoy our time away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Responded 9 Apr 2021
Dear garypU8386FL, Thank you for sharing your review with our team. As you have kindly noted, at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise we have made some operational changes, including to our public spaces, in response to Federal and Provincial guidelines. However, despite these changes, our team is committed to ensuring that each guest has a memorable experience and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Chateau, from your dining experiences to taking in the stunning surrounds in Lake Louise! We have shared your review with our team and certainly hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, ~ Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from markhemsley
Otford, United Kingdom147 contributions35 helpful votes
Hi, whilst you can see them , there were no issues experienced
Answer from markhemsley
Otford, United Kingdom147 contributions35 helpful votes
i think it is their own , they said you could but it at $75 a bottle.
Answer from Jessie C
1 contribution
That high in the mountains, you will likely have similar winter conditions in October to what you might encounter in November. Lake Louise is beautiful any month of the year. In the summer months, the lake is turquoise and reflects the backdrop of the mountains. In winter, it is frozen over with a covering of snow. When it is foggy, you are not able to see the mountains behind the lake, so the view on a sunny day is much more spectacular. The weather, of course, is variable, so what exactly it will be like when you go is unpredictable.
FayeF asked a question Jul 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello! Is the breakfast at Louiza a buffet or a la carte?
Answer from Big Ron
England, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
There are options for locations on Breakfast depending on your tariff/package booked. It also depends on what season and whether weekend/weekday stay. It is a wonderful hotel and you are best placed to ask when arranging your choice/tariff.
Patsy P wrote a tip 19 Jun
Merritt Island, Florida37 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat down stairs less expensive"
Read full review
Karen R wrote a tip 18 Jun
14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking in the garage is 40.00 per night. Avoid the morning crowds from bus tours and enjoy the lake in the late afternoon."
Read full review
Douglas S wrote a tip 14 Jun
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring appropriate warm gear and prepare to layer clothing. It’s chilly due to the glacier !"
Read full review
katterhagen wrote a tip 12 Jun
8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book directly with the Hotel"
Read full review
Loraine K wrote a tip 11 Jun
London, United Kingdom84 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid staying while the renovations are taking place."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Louise area.
PRICE RANGE
₹67,614 - ₹1,18,847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairmont chateau lake louise hotel lake louise, chateau lake louise, fairmont lake louise, lake louise fairmont, fairmont hotel lake louise
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkLake Louise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
539
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRMONT CHATEAU LAKE LOUISE - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Nearby attractions include Plain of Six Glaciers (4.4 km), The Lake Louise Ski Resort (6.9 km), and Big Beehive (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whitehorn Bistro, Post Hotel Dining Room, and Plain of Six Glaciers Tea House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Lake Louise HotelsLake Louise Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake LouiseHotels near Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire