We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Deer Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,367: English reviews
The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Way to overpriced! To old, to dirty, to bad, to noisy! Go away! Don't book this! Only go here is you want no quality for your money or you want to support a bad hotel management. Worst ever. Needs a renovation quickly and half of the money ain't word it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne-Marie V
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were so disappointed. We aim to provide a good value option in a very expensive location, and while the hotel is older and lacks some modern amenities, we strive to achieve the highest standards of cleanliness and service. I would value the opportunity to discuss...

Calgary
Reviewed 10 September 2015

It was okay Good was excellent by very price high. Staff was fun and happy. You have the best coffee ever' and it was hot! The hot tub sucked it was warm and the jets did not work. Warm room like hot'

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinesZ6676HJ
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and our staff made you feel welcome. I am sorry that you were disappointed in the hot tub; since your stay we have replaced the heater so that we can maintain the temperature more consistently, which should improve the experience for future guests. Thank...

Reviewed 9 September 2015

Beautiful old property which, with some creative investment, could be a true mountain gem. Built in the 1929s, this hotel has the persona of a once semi-grade dame whose lack of care and maintenance has become somewhat embarrassing. We arrived at 6:00pm. After a day of hiking, we eagerly anticipated our dinner reservations, which the host had indicated were 'limited'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephan D
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your experience, but really appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve moving forward. There are some limitations which come with the age of our historic building, particularly the compact size of the original guest rooms and our...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We stayed here for one night and the room was ok. It was quite small and the lodge itself is a little dated in the rooms but the lodge in general was fitting for its environment and definitely has personality. It's good for a night stay stopover. Has a hot tub too! That wasn't too bad!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha K
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the character of Deer Lodge and found the location convenient for your trip. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I absolutely loved this hotel It is old for sure but has such interesting history and charm. It doesn't matter at all that you can't see the lake as it is only a gentle short stroll away. There are lots of lovely cosy lounge rooms to sit in with friends to chat or play cards or you could choose to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the unique and historic charms of the Lodge, and received a warm welcome from our staff. We hope you will be able to visit us again in future.

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

After triumphantly completing the Plain of 6 Glaciers hike in the snow, we felt we deserved a warming cognac and a sit by a fire. The Chateau had no such thing and was full of tourists hustling and bustling around. We decided to head back to Banff when the Deer Lodge caught our eye, and are we glad we stopped!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muimu
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's wonderful to hear that you found exactly what you were looking for at Deer Lodge - there's nothing like a hard-earned drink by the fire after a long hike! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

My daughter and I had been hiking the Plain of Six Glaciers at Lake Louise. It was raining and then snowing most of the way. We were looking forward to a warming drink by a welcoming roaring fire by the time we got back, but discovered that the Fairmont at Lake Louise didn't have any open fires anywhere and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda_from_Bucks
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's great to hear that, like so many visitors over the past century, you found Deer Lodge a welcoming retreat after a long day exploring the mountains! We hope you'll be able to join us again on your next adventure.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Even though there is no view on lake Louise it is located a few minutes away. I wanted to see the sunrise and had to wake up just a few minutes before so that was perfect. The hotel is old but beautiful, our room was clean and the food at the restaurant was good. The staff was really helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you were happy to have chosen Deer Lodge and were able to catch the sunrise over beautiful Lake Louise! I will pass your kind compliments on to the staff. We hope you will be able to join us again in future.

Reviewed 5 September 2015

If you want to stay within a short walk of Lake Louise but don't want to pay Fairmont prices, this is the place for you. The lake is only a 5 minute stroll and you avoid parking hassles. A friendly place with helpful staff. The bar (food also served)and restaurant are also good. The only downside was our room on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris D
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed dining with us. I am sorry that you were less satisfied with your guest room; our standard rooms are fairly simple, but we are always happy to accommodate requests, such as for an upper floor, to...

Chilliwack
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Wonderful! Beautiful old lodge with excellent customer service! Hot tub was very nice located on the roof top so romantic! And dinner was delicious the food was very unique and very tasty and great views!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 961katelyng
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the service you received. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (346)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (422)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Heritage Room One King Bed (38)
Viewed
Heritage Room Two Double Bed (53)
Viewed
Hot Tub (11)
Viewed
Lodge Family Room (50)
Viewed
Lodge Room One Double Bed (41)
Viewed
Lodge Room Two Twin Beds (28)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Tower Room One Queen Bed (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
2.4 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,223 reviews
2.2 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
894 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,240 reviews
0.8 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
679 reviews
6.0 km away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Cuisines: Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: ₹ 6,910 - ₹ 21,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville, Arkansas
9 months ago
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Hong Kong, China

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Deer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family Rooms are large and sunny.”
  • Lovely old door with antique fixtures.
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, big and bright and clean (plus a sofa)
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, the corner with the single bed
 of 5 bubbles 475cindyw, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesnt face the road”
 of 5 bubbles happytraveller413, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure where best rooms would be it was so quiet where we were”
 of 5 bubbles JoanneM4848, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed at 2nd floor with beautiful mountain view”
  • From Dinning Room
 of 5 bubbles hcbreeze, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor will be better because no lift”
 of 5 bubbles choc601, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5