We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The YWCA Banff Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The YWCA Banff Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The YWCA Banff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Stettler
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My son's wedding was to take place high up on a mountain in Banff. They hadn't found a back up location in case of rain. The day before the wedding, with rain in the forecast we went to the YWCA in Banff to see if they had anything available for about 50 people. They had the perfect room for up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 912heleno
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 912heleno! We are so delighted that we were able to be a helpful part of your son and daughter-in-law's very special day! Our Great Room is indeed a perfect venue for intimate wedding ceremonies, and we are glad we were able to accommodate you on short notice. Best regards, Carla

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Location - excellent, right on Bow River with easy access to the river hiking trails, including Bow River Falls. About 10 min walk from town centre. Parking - you have to tell Reception but parking was no problem, there were always plenty of spaces out back or on the grass/gravel car park. Breakfast - not included. Facilities - more of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Catherine, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, and providing us with feedback we can use to improve. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our facilities and the convenient close-to-downtown location. As a not-for-profit enterprise supporting the YWCA Banff programs and services, your stay will have a positive impact on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in summer and were very comfortable. Location is perfect just a 5-10 minute walk over the main bridge into the centre, so away from the noise and crowds but very near. Room was clean and comfortable and staff very nice. Only gripe is the wifi which is some of the worst we have experienced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewis111
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi lewis111, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our facilities and the convenient location, and especially our friendly and helpful staff. We do apologize for the unreliable WiFi - this is in area we are striving to improve in the near future. As a...

Reviewed 27 June 2016

My sister and I stayed at the Banff YWCA for a full week during our vacation. It was about $100/night cheaper than anything else we found, so we were not expecting perfection. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. They provided clean towels daily, and came in to make our beds & vacuum the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarieDsM
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi MarieDsM, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the value and cleanliness of your accommodations, as we strive to offer comfortable rooms for budget-conscious travellers visiting Banff National Park. Thank you for the feedback regarding our bathroom floors - feedback like...

Tri-Cities, Washington
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

It was very basic as expected. We had a private bathroom, which was tiny. It had a shower and a toilet, the sink was next to a bed. It was not super clean. The bed was comfy. It had a nice view of a mountain, which made it more pleasant. There is a cafe on location which is handy. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KCass319
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KCass319, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and providing us with feedback we can use to improve. Indeed, it can be expensive to stay in Banff during peak season summer months, and we strive to offer clean, simple and affordable accommodations to budget-conscious travellers. We're delighted to hear that our friendly staff made a great...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Very, very basic room but nice fresh white linen, clean room with huge window and spectacular view. Just over the bridge from the hustle of downtown. Really enjoyed my stay and have saved at least $100 by not staying in an overpriced Banff hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Deb P, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay! We're glad to hear you appreciated the convenient location and the great views. We strive to provide simple, clean and affordable accommodations to our budget-wise travellers. As a not-for-profit enterprise supporting the YWCA Banff programs and services, your stay will have a...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Had a great stay here. It was quiet, rooms and showers were clean. The only reason I did not give this a 5 rating is due to the restaurant not being open during my stay. I don't remember seeing anything in the confirmation about this. Otherwise, great stay! thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wendy O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear you had a quiet and comfortable stay. Our apologies for the change in our cafe hours - your feedback has been noted! YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise, and revenues from our operations are reinvested into community programs...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We went to Sunshine village for a short snowshoe trek after which we visited and treked up to the lower falls of Johnston canyon. Then we went to Banff to watch the Santa Claus parade. We had booked into a Y lodge and little did I know it was the YWCA. My wife does not tell me everything. Anyway, after...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Harold2010
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We knew going in that this is not the type of hotel we normally stay at so expectations were low and were met. The room was clean, though the bathroom was so old it was off-putting. It was a private bathroom though so at least it was just for us. Everything worked but we could not find a way to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank albertasn0wbird
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello albertasn0wbird, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The hotel is indeed an older building; in fact, it was the original Banff Mineral Springs Hospital! It is worth noting that the noise from the train is a sound that is heard from almost every hotel and residence in Banff, as the railway has...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2015

There were four of us travelling together, my husband and myself, my daughter and my elderly dad, so we needed three beds. Their "family suite" was perfect. It had an ensuite and there were extra bathrooms across the hall. The Banff YWCA has been around a very long time and is a bit tired but it is situated right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rl_wk27
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the family suite, as well as the convenient location of the hotel. As a not-for-profit enterprise supporting the YWCA Banff programs and services, your stay at the YWCA Banff Hotel will have a positive impact on this...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
653 reviews
0.6 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
2.2 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
1,080 reviews
1.2 km away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
476 reviews
2.1 km away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The YWCA Banff Hotel is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our hotel has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: ₹ 3,406 - ₹ 7,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The YWCA Banff Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The YWCA Banff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing away from street and elevator”
 of 5 bubbles TwoCrabs, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for room facing court yard”
 of 5 bubbles 368CathyC368, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 'facing the courtyard' are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles QuietlyRetired, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be glad these people are there offering good value for money in banff”
 of 5 bubbles nielgillespie, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay high at the back and away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Harold2010, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5