We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The YWCA Banff Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The YWCA Banff Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The YWCA Banff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The staff are fantastic at both the front desk and the Cafe. The food at the Cafe is also great and reasonable pricing for Banff, daily specials are great for people on a budget! The central location is super handy, less than 5mins walk from downtown Banff (probably about 2mins to be exact!). The only downside to the hostel is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jephry
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jephry, We're thrilled to hear that your had such a great time when you stayed with us. We were especially pleased that you enjoyed both the quality and price of our cafe menu, whilst being served by "fantastic" staff. As you keenly observe, our location is one of the very best in town, only 2 minutes walk to Banff...

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Got stuck staying here for brother in laws wedding. He booked us I this dump while he stayed elsewhere. This never would have been a choice I would have made. If you are going to spend this much money you might as well spend a little more and stay in a real hotel. Small shower and no television in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bcprst
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bcprst, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope your brother-in-laws wedding went well and all the family had a great time. Obviously when your brother-in-law booked the room for you his primary motivator was cost. As the most cost-effective place to stay in Banff we offer simplicity at a rock bottom price....

Golden, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Myself, my girlfriend and my parents stayed here for 3 nights early September 2012. While both the communal kitchen and location is great, it is closer to downtown than many other hotels/lodges on Banff Av., the building is quite out dated inside and this needs attention. Within 5 minutes of arriving our toilet had overflowed all over the bathroom floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Troy K
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Troy, Thanks for taking the time and composing a review of your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you took full advantage of the guest kitchen, which cuts down cost eating our in Banff for every night of your visit. As you point out our facility does have some maintenance quirks, which keep our dedicated maintenance...

Aspen, Colorado
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

When planning our night in Banff on our road trip, this was the only place with available rooms, and was right in town on a very busy weekend. It ended up working out really well for us and that's probably partially because we're flexible and easygoing. I say this because in no place online that I searched for lodging did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HoboHealth
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hobo Health, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're really pleased to hear that accommodation at The Banff Y Mountain Lodge worked out really well for you and you found the room private and shared bathroom clean. At busy times of the, such as Long Weekends and during great snow conditions, most hotels and...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2012

first off the people working at this lodge are some of the stupidest people i have ever had to deal with, the lack of orginizational skills and the lack of respect they show for guests is amazing. The food at the cafe on the lobby level is horrible serving forzen and microwaved foods. the room rates are fare because the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yo m
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Yo M, We're really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our level of comustomer service, from our Front Desk staff to our Maintenance Team, so it sadens us to hear we didn't live up to your expectations. Ive done some research into your booking and I cans see that you stayed...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 August 2012

If one has to pick any superlative attribute about this lodge, it is the in-town location. It is smack in the Banff downtown just across the Bow river. Other than that is pretty less-than-basic dwelling with $115 per day tab. We usually stayed at Radisson at Canmore during our previous visits, but decided that the additional money and driving between...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SriniIyer
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Srinilyer, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and recognizing our awesome in-town location. We appreciate that there a large number of other hotels/hostels in town and that you chose us for your stay. We hope the HUGE windows in your room gave your a great mountain view and the newly installed blinds kept the light out...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The stay at Banff Y Mountain Lodge was okay, however a little pricey for what you get. The location is really good, right at the river in the city. The room was okay, bathroom spacious and clean. The breakfast offer is very limited and coffee and orange juice are not great. I also got plain instead of vanilla yoghurt which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TripReporter177
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi TripReporter177, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Glad you enjoyed the spacious clean bathroom and room. We're a little surprised to hear that you felt we were a little 'pricey' as our rooms are some of the most affordable in Banff. Especially when you consider you don't pay GST when you stay at our social enterprise....

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a lovely stay here in Banff. This accomodation is a cut above the rest as it felt more like a hotel than a hostel but still had the convenience of a kitchen. Our room was spacious and had a lovely view of the mountains. It is fair away enough from the main street to make it more private...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mike s
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike S, It thrills us to hear about guests who really enjoyed their stay. Thank you for your comment that we are "a cut above the rest" and that "it felt more like a hotel than a hostel but still had the convenience of a kitchen". We like to offer something for everyone, no matter your budget. Feel free...

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2012

June 2012 room 305 1st night - bed frame broken (squeaked). Matress totally lacking in proper support or stability as bed. When we moved partner bounced about - like being on a trampoline or quivering jelly. 2nd night room 306 - bed frame had broken jagged metal support - matress no better. Gave partner backache after few seconds on it,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sue C
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We wanted a low-budget, clean, decent place to stay in Banff and that is what we got. Yes, it is very institutional in its feel and yes some rooms have very cramped space--but the price is right and the rooms are pleasant enough. We actually stayed two nights, left for Jasper, and then returned for two nights. The result was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank k j

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
679 reviews
1.4 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
1.2 km away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The YWCA Banff Hotel is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our hotel has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: ₹ 3,436 - ₹ 7,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The YWCA Banff Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The YWCA Banff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing away from street and elevator”
TwoCrabs, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for room facing court yard”
368CathyC368, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 'facing the courtyard' are quieter.”
QuietlyRetired, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be glad these people are there offering good value for money in banff”
nielgillespie, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay high at the back and away from the elevator.”
Harold2010, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5