We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 506: English reviews
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked this for the night of my partner's 60th birthday to tie in with a daytime treat nearby so I wanted it to be special. The room was fine, quirky but well equipped with a sitting area and spacious bedroom. I had booked a package which was not cheap for a pub with rooms but on the face of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ElCeeAy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We recently spent 4 pleasant nights at this hotel. It was recommended to us and did not disappoint. We stayed in Dove Cottage over the road from the main hotel. Our room, Poppy, had plenty of space and was well appointed. Breakfasts were fab and we ate in the restaraunt every night, all of the meals were lovely. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RonniF_13
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Peaks with us!We are also looking into installing blinds into our brasserie area to help with the bright sunlight and the heat! Kind Regards Alan

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed before and enjoyed the relaxed ambiance, we did have a pleasant time but think some of the room decor was looking tired, the bathroom had cracked floor tiles. We had great Chatsworth Gold beer sat outside and then tasty food in the brasserie. Breakfast was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and we felt we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nwspm
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments!I will be sure to look into the problems you encountered with your room. Kind Regards Alan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have eaten at the pub on several occasions in the past and enjoyed it. We decided to treat ourselves to staying in the hotel for two nights, at the not inconsiderable sum of nearly £350 B and B. Our room was lovely, but the bedside lamp did not work. We switched it for one in the hallway and left...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank HMac186338
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the review unfortunately we seemed to get everything wrong on this visit,I can assure you that this is not of the standard that we expect from ourselves and can only apologise for your experience. Once again sorry for the shortfalls. Regards Alan

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights for a Golden Wedding celebration. There were 17 of us for the second night and everyone commented on what a fab little hotel it was. Every room has its own personality and is individually decorated. Some of us were in a cottage and some in the main building above the bar and restaurant. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank backtofebruaryrain
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Super review thanks we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Alan

Leicestershire
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have eaten here many times and while the food has always been good the service over the last few years has become indifferent at best. We had the monk fish and burger which were both delicious. We did notice that while other burgers arrived after ours had salad garnish and a tub of chips our had a pile of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KateLeicestershire
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments,I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed the food although disappointed with the service I will be sure to speak to Stuart about your comments! Thanks again. Regards Alan

warwickshire
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We've just spent 3 nights in the Celandine suite in Dove Cottage. The suite is beautifully decorated however one window had a blind missing which meant one had to be careful when crossing in front of it. Also one light bulb didn't work and despite reporting it was still not working when we left. only real down side is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireTopcat
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the Review,we were really pleased to read that enjoyed your stay with us.I will pass your comments on to the Chef about the menu,maybe we need to do a few more specials! Thanks Again for the comments. Regards Alan.

North West UK
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I have staye here several times now and standards are being maintained - or perhaps even improved! We stayed in the relatively new Dove Cottage rooms and they are quite delightful. We often used to view these cottages whilst eating in the brasserie and now we've been able to stay in one. Service and food are top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalamaki-Rob
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Great to read you enjoyed your stay,we will certainly aim to get that other point back back when you visit again! Hope to see you in the near future. Regards Alan

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The last time we had lunch at the Devonshire Arms was May 2013 when I reviewed the service and vegetarian food as poor. We had recently heard that the menu had changed and were keen to give our one time favourite pub another try. Today, our vegetarian food was excellent, there were interesting choices on the menu and not a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mirador40
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for a fantastic review,its great that our new Head Chef is delivering quality food for all tastes,I will make sure to pass on your comments. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Alan

Reigate
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a great stay, the staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us welcome. Our room was possibly a little small but well appointed. Dinner was great in terms of flavour, quality and serving. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this establishment. Thanks to all the staff for making it such a great visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review,I will be sure to pass your comments onto all the team! Hope to see you again soon. Regards Alan

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeley
5.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
346 reviews
4.7 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
623 reviews
1.6 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
20.6 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.8 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the Chatsworth Estate, Beeley is one of those picturesque unspoilt country villages. And The Devonshire Arms is one of those picturesque country inn at the heart of village life. But with a difference! It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a warm and comfortable interior full of oak beams and stone crannies. Make your way through to the brasserie and be amazed at the contrast of the startlingly different décor with panoramic windows overlooking the village, the contemporary bar, the glass fronted wine store and colourful furnishings. And for the ultimate escape, why not stay in one of our eight stylish cottage bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Address: Chatsworth Estate, Beeley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Beeley
Price Range: ₹ 8,689 - ₹ 17,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Arms at Beeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Devonshire Arms at Beeley staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Devonshire Arms at Beeley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Personally I would ask for en suite shower rather than roll top bath in room. Had a good laugh about it but would have preferred the option.”
 of 5 bubbles bromley260, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles A7554QXgeorgeg, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles tonybN1093AM, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for their largest room”
 of 5 bubbles 145Carol, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were in the cottage over the road which was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NoreenO600, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay