We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 542: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

booked in for bed and breakfast as we were going to see Jools Holland in concert at Chatsworth with our friends Sue and Steve from manchester.our room was the dove dale which was lovely,my only fault with the room was that it was to hot.evening meal was fantastic and the service was very good, breakfast was really good as well,overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel t
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comments,apologies that your room was too hot that evening the building seems to retain the heat well in summer and lose it in winter its the age of the building.We usually have a spare fan at the Bar for next time . Kind Regards Alan

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a birthday treat and was not disappointed a great little chocolate box village in the middle of Chatsworth est Derbyshire.the cottage we stayed in (Monsal Suit)was next door to the Devonshire Arms a really quaint cottage room with views of the village and scenery beyond a small brook running along the grounds a very picturesque place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bingtan
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for your review it made our day,we are all really pleased that enjoyed all we had on offer ! See you soon. Kind Regards Alan

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

We visited midweek on a lovely evening and sat outside for a drink in the sun! We decided to eat and the manager managed to squeeze us in in the "pub" area as we had our dog with us. They are having work done on the majority of the pub but this didn't affect our experience at all as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V1xen
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Great read thank you we are all real chuffed that you had a fantastical time with us! See you again Regards Alan

Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Very much enjoyed two nights here for DB&B. Comfortable warm room in adjoining house. A few minor niggles which I pointed out on comments sheet. Very pleasant dining in pub. Slowish service but then we had the whole evening to fill. Cannot remember foie gras on many menus, plenty of places with pâté. Excellent beer. Excellent breakfast with most efficient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Great comments thank you.Really pleased to read that you enjoyed the beers and food.At present we are looking into the issues you raised on the comments card. Thanks again. Regards Alan

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed in house next door. Was told I could park there but even the best driver would struggle to get out of there without damaging their car. Tight angle going over a narrow bridge with railings. Not much parking space and walls to avoid too and that was without other cars there to avoid. The bedroom carpet was badly stained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank puppies105
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Hi thanks for the comments,my apologies about the second night at dinner.We have just put some extra dishes on and are reformatting the menu.As for the carpet we are having the room measured up tomorrow for some new. Kind Regards Alan

NYC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

In mid-May we stayed at the Devonshire Arms for two nights. The Inn was charming and the staff very hospitable. The Inn has a great traditional pub area and a modern brasserie dining room. It is situated in the center of the small, picturesque village of Beeley. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annbg
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments ,we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Alan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

I stayed for one night at the Devonshire Arms at Beeley, whilst visiting Chatsworth House. This pub/restaurant/hotel has extremely comfortable rooms - all of which we were told have a 'touch of the Duchess', which is to say, they are beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The staff are all, to a person, friendly and courteous, and very helpful. The manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargaretinLondon
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Great Comments thank you,we are all really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Regards Alan

Brigstock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

I stayed a couple of times when the pub was first refurbished and it was smart and fresh. I agree with other reviewers, it is now expensive for basically a pub sleep over. We used a 'suite' room on our last stay, the carpet was stained, the pillows old and with no pillow protectors! The sofa bed was ancient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback,we have started our refurbishment programme of the gardens,Bar and Brasserie this week and hope to be finished in 5 weeks. Thanks again for the comments. Kind Regards Alan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

This was a nice little pub-style hotel close to Chatsworth House. The service was friendly and attentive - and the rooms had real charm. We ate dinner in the pub restaurant. The food was decent, although the waiter did keep having to see 'if we've got any left...' for items varying from a starter to a bottle of wine on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lex382
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Its great to hear that you thought our food was good. I will pass on your comments to all the team. Kind regards Alan

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

I was disappointed with my stay at the Devonshire Arms. At the end of the day I felt like I'd been charged £200 to stay in a room over a pub! I had expected so much more and was therefore disappointed. We stayed in the Suite situated in the main building, and of course given the proximity to the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that we didn't hit the spot and your expectations . I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team. Kind Regards Alan

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeley
5.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
4.9 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
4.7 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
20.6 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.3 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the Chatsworth Estate, Beeley is one of those picturesque unspoilt country villages. And The Devonshire Arms is one of those picturesque country inn at the heart of village life. But with a difference! It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a warm and comfortable interior full of oak beams and stone crannies. Make your way through to the brasserie and be amazed at the contrast of the startlingly different décor with panoramic windows overlooking the village, the contemporary bar, the glass fronted wine store and colourful furnishings. And for the ultimate escape, why not stay in one of our eight stylish cottage bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Address: Chatsworth Estate, Beeley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Beeley
Price Range: ₹ 9,629 - ₹ 19,848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Arms at Beeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Devonshire Arms at Beeley staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Devonshire Arms at Beeley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Liked room location in adjacent house quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles HarryBeDa, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think that maybe the outside rooms may offer more space and better facilities”
 of 5 bubbles MJRNorthMidlands, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Although some rooms are not in the main building this is no disadvantage as everything is close by. Our cottage room was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JBCWarwick, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms in annex”
 of 5 bubbles UKLorraine, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was Poppy, a first floor room across the road from the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles gouldsDerby_England, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5