We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Road's End

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (228)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 guest house in Dhanugala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
LUXURY RIVERSIDE COTTAGES - YOUR HOME IN COORG A superb in-house team awaits to cater for guests every need and request. The Roads End is run by the owner who is local to the area and who has carefully selected staff from the surrounding area to ensure in-depth local knowledge is available on hand to their guests. The Roads End offers a luxurious and discreet alternative to the typical Coorg holiday and is a truly bespoke experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
147Reviews1Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 100
  • 29
  • 10
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Deepshika wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I've visited Road's End several times, and each stay has been exceptionally memorable. The food at Road's End is simple yet incredibly tasty. The host and staff are exceedingly friendly and always ready to lend a hand. Besides enjoying the serene views by the stream, what truly captures my heart are the pets on the premises - from Ginger the indie to Kenzo the Dalmatian, and the many cats that roam about, providing comfort and warmth by snuggling up to your feet.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Maps63387163052 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Nice location. Lovely food. The cottages are simple and nice and overlooks a small river but the river is dried up because of the summer season. Truly a jungle feel. Enjoyed our time. Lovely bar area also. They have basketball, pool table and tt table and badminton to spend time. Staff are very Friendly and nice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Explore45452871168 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
We arrive to this property in the end of the coffee plantation. Nice cottage Ac rooms with the facilities needed. What impresses me the most is the atmosphere of the place its very calm and filled with nature around. Lots of areas to walk around and explore. The entire staff are very courteous. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend The Roads End for a perfect getaway. Love to come back here again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rishi b wrote a review Mar 2024
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
I visited this property a few weeks back. I must say the name is very apt. It's located at the end of the road. Beautiful and nature lovers paradise. So many different birds. The cottages are by a river and very peaceful. Nice rooms and lovely sit out. You can sit there the whole day enjoying the view. I will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rita Vinod wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
Roads end as the names suggests is really at the end of a Road. In summers, the stream beside the property runs dry. So most of the activities of kayaking, boating fishing are not there. Then you have to make do with the TT table n small cricket pitch. Rohan and his team made the stay hospitable by their courteous behaviour. However, we found cockroaches the room, pretty much all sizes - small to big to xl - which is an absolute no no. The AC keeps switching off die to power fluctuation. Bathrooms tiny to say the least. No hot kettle facility in the room. For the price we paid, we have stayed in much better places. The basics in a resort are important. If that's not on, no matter how good the food is or the behaviour of the staff is, one would not go there again. At least I would not.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bodhisattva Dhar wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a run down property, with overgrowth, shabbily maintained cottages, and not much to do. Highly overpriced for the service they are providing. Only saving grace was Roshan , his helpful nature, the food and the staff. But when the basics are wrong, there’s not much the staff can do alone with their behaviour.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
deedatt wrote a review Mar 2024
New Delhi, India28 contributions12 helpful votes
It’s a nice location, however it’s just a few cottages in the middle of a field. Some recreational options like TT, Snooker, Bandminton, Basket Ball etc. Not much to do, really. The river is a dried up thing, at least in the summers, no charm at all. Low point: Rooms are really shabby, AC does not work, infested with Roaches of different shapes and variety (and these are not bugs from the jungle, proper big cockroaches) High point: Food was good, staff are very nice and helpful. I would not come back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vinay Rai wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
An incredible place and a fantastic experience. I had visited The Roads End a couple of years ago and recently enjoyed a vacation with my friends and family. The experience was memorable. Great place , nice rooms and incredible food especially the Coorg cuisine. Kudos to the staff for their service and the management of this wonderful property. Hoping to be back for more R&R. Thanks for your hospitality V Rai
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anu1012 wrote a review Sept 2023
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India12 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel/resort has very little going for it. For straters, the approach road is terrible. It is a narrow road on which only one vehicle can travel. The road itself is broken and pothole ridden in many places. As for the property, we had booked a King's Room at around INR4500/ night. The room was spartan, at best. Basic amenities such as tea/coffee maker and face towels were missing. The porch area of this room was dirty and we even had a stray dog lounging at our doorstep. Black ants were dime a dozen and the shower curtain swept the bathroom floor, thus giving it a damp and dank feel. The manager, Mr Rohan, was kind enough to give us an upgrade to one of the cottages for the next night, which was an imporvement over the room. The cottage was better but the amenities were still lacking. The breakfast buffet is not lavish, to say the least. However, although the options are limited, the food itself was quite tasty. I wish they would serve it sooner, though. Breakfast here starts at 9am. So, if you wish to start your day early, you may find yourself in a fix. The property itself is not well maintained. The grass is growing wild and there are cobwebs everywhere, especially in the area near the stream. There is a general feel of disrepair around the place. The one thing that redeems this resort partially is its very helpful staff. Their spirit of hospitality is truly commendable. I would like to thank Mr Rohan again for the free upgrade. However, speaking for myself, I would not stay at this property again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations THE ROAD'S END COORG, General Manager at The Road's End
Responded 25 Nov 2023
Greetings Ms Anu, We apologise for the lapse on our part. We are sorry for the shortage of handtowels and have fixed the issue. The interior roads are narrow in all of Coorg and in all hill stations and jungle areas in and around India. Our road leading to the property is definitely fully motorable as we have all types of cars coming in and out of our property daily without any issue. insects like spiders and ants are definitely in the vicinity of our cottages and we do spray our cottages to avoid them from entering inside. Since we cater for a maximum of 15 to 20 guests at a time, we have a big enough breakfast buffet designed to avoid huge amounts of wastage. Our breakfast starts at 8.30 due to the trend of our guests eating late. Tea and coffee service starts at 7 am and breakfast can be served earlier upon request. Thank you for staying with us. 🙏
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
A S wrote a review Jun 2023
Bengaluru, India3 contributions2 helpful votes
God knows who are those people gave this property those high ratings ! So misleading :) When we arrived at the resort we found that the 2 rooms which are provided to us were not cleaned properly. Sheets were not clean and mats were dirty. TV cable connection was not recharged, dirty water was coming out of hot water tap which later reduced for some extent after wasting 3-4 buckets of water. No welcome drink was provided, evening Tea/snacks were all chargeable and are pretty expensive. Rs 100/- for buttermilk ! When we wanted to order from à la carte menu for dinner, they refused to take the order and said we need to go for Dinner buffet which costed 500/- each ! And, funny part was there was no single Coorgy cuisine items for dinner ! Food was dead cold and chapati was like made 3-4 hrs before. Only chicken curry & fish fry was available in non-veg and daal, veg curry & potato subzi in veg sections. Coming to the activities part, this was the most disappointing experience for us. Though there have been slight drizzle, most of the day it was sunny, and yet they did not offer us for trekking or plantation visit. River stream was not at all clean and slippery due to algae. Pond was dry, no drop of water in it. And, that fishing and river rafting that they promised in their website felt like mockery. No camp-fire provided and the chairs kept outside was not at all cleaned, this shows how careless the management of The road's end is. And the BBQ, not sure if that's normal but, 500/- per platter of 6 chicken pieces. Hygiene was not at all maintained, veg and non-veg were cooked and handled at the same table and same materials. We also saw the person washing the used plates and spoons without any soap !. There were hardy any staff found for immediate help, for everything we need to call the manager. No one at Road's end is pro active, their uninterest in their guests was noticeable through out our stay there. Next day morning, the breakfast was complementary. So, again nothing Coorgy in the menu. Idly/vada/scrambled egg/bread/cornflakes for kids were available. Tea/coffee was not served until we ordered them ! We checked out immediately after breakfast because there was nothing to do in the resort. We 6 people and a kid had disappointing experience in the Road's end. And, this is the end of my ramble.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay at home than going to this resort !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations THE ROAD'S END COORG, General Manager at The Road's End
Responded 15 Jun 2023
Hi Mr Avinash, We sincerely apologise for the bad experience you encountered while staying with us. We have raised up the issue with the staff and made necessary changes. We always strive to make sure that our customers have an enjoyable stay but unfortunately we didn't achieve that with you. We are sorry for that. We can assure you that our linen is clean as we use a very professional dry cleaning company for our laundry. Bon fire is not possible when it rains as the ground is wet and it wouldn't light up. River rafting starts only in the month of July as the water level needs to be higher for the rafts not to get damaged. We are sorry for not offering you alacarte when we place a buffet as the kitchen staff will be very busy preparing for the buffet. Since you found the buffet expensive, we have only charged you for 4 people instead of 6. We do prepare a variety of Coorg dishes, we are sorry if it wasn't there on that day. Thank you for your feedback. We shall make sure that the mistakes done by us are rectified and won't repeat in the future. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dhanugala area.
PRICE RANGE
₹5,186 - ₹6,858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaKodagu (Coorg)Dhanugala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROAD'S END (₹̶6̶,̶9̶4̶2̶) ₹5,018 (Dhanugala) Guesthouse Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about The Road's End
What are some of the property amenities at The Road's End?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Road's End?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Road's End?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Road's End?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Road's End?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Spice Rack, Coorg Planters Court Multi-Cuisine Restaurant, and House Of Meat.
Are pets allowed at The Road's End?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Road's End?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.