We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We were in room number five for a couple of nights for a wedding. We had a nice view of the sea and the bush and it was very close to the hub of Point Lookout. The apartment was very average, fixtures and fittings all pretty old and nothing felt at all like luxury. However very clean and lovely reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachaelSh87
WWManager, Manager at Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. As new managers we have worked hard to encourage owners to renovate their apartments. Many owners have refurbished and upgrade their units. Some have resisted. We will send your response onto the owners of this apartment in the hope that they will now see that they have to refurbish their...

Kenilworth, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2015

The room (32) was very tired looking. After booking a premium two bedroom room and paying for it we were very dissatisfied . The lighting was shocking could not read a book.only the main bedroom had bed lamps. The verandah was dirty and had an old rusty airing rack on it. We did have ocean views. The shower doors in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
WWManager, Manager at Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review our resort. As all units are individually owned we do struggle at times to get them to replace items as we advise them. thankfully after your visit we were finally able to convince the owners to replace the outdoor setting and remove the airer. We now have a lovely timber setting on...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Very comfortable and well appointed. However, our view was of the road, and at $250 a night was pretty disappointing. Nothing at all like the photo above, aI would call it a misrepresentation. No wi-fi, and only two channels on the TV were watchable (the signal was woeful).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ssherro
WWManager, Manager at Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We would have to say that none of our units look out over a road, a few do look over our driveway, but predominately their view is still of the national park. The apartment descriptions clearly say National Park views or garden in our Standard Ocean Side apartments where you...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2015

My husband and I had four nights at the resort, staying in a front, ocean view room.(unit 20) The view was great and the unit was beautifully presented. The gorge walk is a must do - we saw whales, dolphins and kangaroos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn1523
Nambour, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2015

This was a self contained 3-bedroom unit in a holiday complex. It was off season being winter - though plenty of whales swimming by. We stayed 3 nights in this establishment which is the closest resort to the main beach. We had views along the beach (though it was closed due to extreme weather). Resort was very quiet - as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glaitken1
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

This is my third stay at this perfectly positioned appartment complex. This time we paid a little more for one of the front self contained appartments with uninterrupted ocean views. Stunning views overlooking the beach and surf club. The appartment on the 3rd floor was HUGE. Three bedrooms, ample sized kitchen and dining, but did I mention the views? You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn S
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2015

This was my second trip, the first with my family, we occupied all the rooms and even with the apartment full of people it was very spacious. The kitchen is very well equipped with all sorts of crockery, pots and utensils to cook up a storm, which we did every day. A short walk down to the beach, its conveniently...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Naseema M
Palm Beach, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We stayed in a premium ocean view room for 3 nights on the 2nd level. The view was lovely, looking south down Main Beach. This resort is situated right next door to National Park so it was very quiet and a 5min walk to the local shops. I was a little wary of booking this hotel after seeing some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2015

My Husband and I stayed for a weekend at this Resort. We stayed in a One Bed Ocean View Apartment. It was not really ocean view-----if you bent your head to one side you got a small view of the ocean. The Apartment was self contained and had almost everything that you could want for a short getaway. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Murphydog_5
Brisbane
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We booked a two bedroom oceanview apartment and received a three bedroom with one room locked off. On arrival staff were friendly and apartment had great views & were spacious but urgently needed renovating. Floors looked clean but were sticky (salt spray??), kitchen doors falling off, be aware of the metal handle on the hot oven, lounge was like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussie64Brisbane

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lookout
1.5 km away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
8.9 km away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
130 reviews
0.1 km away
Samarinda
Samarinda
#2 of 4 in Point Lookout
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Point Lookout
60 reviews
2.9 km away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#4 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
83 reviews
13.9 km away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#8 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small family run fully-self contained holiday apartment complex. We offer budget style accommodation through to Premium Ocean Front apartments. Something to suit all budgets. WWR is close to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, cafes, restaurants, boutique giftware/home ware stores are all within 5 mins walk. Between May to November you can watch the migration of thousands of Humpback Whales pass by from just about any position on the Headland. You can defiantly watch Whales from the Premium Ocean Front apartments balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort

Address: 7 Samarinda Drive, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island > Point Lookout
Price Range: ₹ 6,538 - ₹ 14,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 20 has direct views of the beach and ocean”
 of 5 bubbles lisabH8513JS, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra to get the ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles PC62, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You get what you are given, unfortunately. Some rooms furbished beautifully, some not.”
 of 5 bubbles N1134VBevah, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Definately book a room on level 2 or 3 with an ocean view because it is specatular.”
 of 5 bubbles venojeff, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view will be romantc”
 of 5 bubbles mea97tnh, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5