We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paseo Malecon S/N Lote 11, Col Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400 Mexico
17 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$272
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
$286
View deal
Lol.travel
$246
View deal
eDreams$272
Trip.com$283
Priceline$296
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3291)
Pool & Beach (744)
Room & Suite (679)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 27/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cabo Azul Resort
Updated 27/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 60 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Fishing
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2844Reviews431Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,159
  • 427
  • 114
  • 70
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Phodg wrote a review 11 Aug
129 contributions95 helpful votes
Second time we have stayed at the Cabo Azul resort and we would definitely stay there again. Rooms are lovely, grounds are spotless and the pools are amazing. Never had a problem getting served at poolside either. Some nice little restaurants right across the street from the hotel and an Uber into town is anywhere from $3-6 US depending on surge pricing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 2 days ago
We are happy to hear that you had one more pleasant vacation! Thank you for sharing this review.
Read more
Asya L wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution
The resort is nice but DO NOT BOOK ANYTHING THROUGH THE CONCIERGE. They get you to go to their sales pitch but when it comes time for them to hold up their end, they LIE. Booked a boat tour and was told the wrong time!!!! No adjustments or changes. CHRISTIAN CHING was responsible, had made promises from the beginning but everything he was promising and in writing was INCORRECT. TERRIBLE CONCIERGE SERVICE. Also if you aren’t someone you vacations here on a monthly basis you won’t receive poolside service- completely ignored but paid just as much for a birthday vacation as someone else staying at the resort (2 bedroom villa) TRASH concierge service and place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 5 days ago
We regret to hear about your experience with us and we appreciate your feedback. We will share this with our team to improve future resort stays. If you have any other feedback you would like to share or to discuss this further, please reach out to us.
Read more
Chrystals73 wrote a review 4 Aug
Santa Barbara, California17 contributions4 helpful votes
This property is the dream Cabo resort! Directly on the beach, lots of great food and drink options, fun activities - including movie nights - tons of pools w/lots of loungers. It was a perfect place to spend a weekend relaxing as a couple. Thanks to Diamond Club points (gifted from in-laws) our room was a three bedroom, three bathroom Penthouse (but on the third of four floors?). The patio was massive and faced the pool/ocean. The a/c was working brilliantly which was crucial for July. There was also a full kitchen and an 8-person dining table. It was gorgeous. One of the couples we met was upgraded to a two-bedroom suite. This is probably because July is low-season but it's worth asking! The fancy restaurant, Javiers, was a bit of a letdown but it was still good. We just expected more. Service, ambiance, and views were top-notch and the lights at the front door made a GREAT photo opportunity. The poolside restaurant was great! From breakfast sandwiches to noontime quesadillas were delicious. We didn't eat dinner there. I will say the chips were a bit stale which seemed to be the case all three days were there. Strange because I would have assumed they made them in-house. There was also a sushi bar which we didn't have but probably would have if we stayed longer. The hotel also had a coffee shop that served Starbucks and a grocery store that had everything we needed including a 2-gallon jug of water and sunscreen. They didn't carry travel-sized items which was a bummer since we had to abandon said sunscreen at the airport. The pool was a dream. We were always fortunate enough to nab poolside loungers thanks to my early-bird husband who went down and 'saved' our seats with the blue-striped beach towels. This system seems to be well honored. There were hundreds of non-poolside loungers and daybeds available. Each chair is completely shaded by high-end umbrellas. We were surprised to find that they changed the terrycloth mattress covers each day! The towels were fluffy and clean each day as well. The bed-like cacoons were fun too. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They snatch up your bags the minute you step foot into the lobby (going and coming) which always kind of bugs me but is expected with higher-end hotels. Overall, this hotel was perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Definitely go with an ocean-view room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderfully detailed review. We are very pleased to learn you had a fun and comfortable stay with us enjoying the upscale 3Bedroom Penhtouse accomodations . We look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation.
Read more
dm5301 wrote a review 4 Aug
Hudson, Colorado31 contributions3 helpful votes
Check in was busy and moved slowly. Our room was not ready until 4:45. Food was good but quite expensive. Music in Javiers was too loud. It is fine dining not a club. If We are sitting outside seaside we enjoy conversation and the sound of the ocean, not the pounding of Mexican club music. Service was very good around the resort with standouts of Angel at Bell Services and Martin in the restaurants. This was our 6th time staying here, but less enjoyable than before.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ocean view room was more pool view than ocean view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and compliments to the highlighted Team Members! We will work hard in to improve and provide a higher impression on your next visit.
Read more
robcamacho0321 wrote a review 3 Aug
1 contribution
Excellent property to unwind, relax and enjoy the Cabo weather. Movie night on the beach was amazing and the food choices are excellent. Walking distance to plenty of things and the staff takes extra special care of you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing! We will be looking forward to your return soon.
Read more
DaniWachs wrote a review Jul 2022
Simi Valley, California13 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We recently stayed at Cabo Azul for the first time this past week. We booked a 2 bedroom ocean view room. Once we arrived to the hotel, we waited in a very long line at the front desk behind lots of large parties checking in. Definitely not a great way to start the trip. After about 30 minutes in line, waiting to check in, we were told our room wasn’t ready yet and is guaranteed to be ready by 4. It was pouring rain when we arrived, so walking around to check out the hotel wasn’t really an option, so we hung out in the lobby and booked some excursions with Leon, one of the concierges (who was awesome btw). After booking our stuff, we still had about 45 minutes til 4pm, so we walked to the market at the hotel and got some snacks. I texted the front desk at around 3:50 to see if our room was ready yet, which it was. Problem is, the line was extra long by that point. We asked 2 female concierges, who were standing around, if we had to wait in line again to get our keys and they said yes. But the other concierge was more than happy to help us get the keys without having to wait another hour in line. Once we got to our room, we were very pleased with what we saw. Even though we paid for an ocean view room, we were on the first floor and did not have any view of the ocean. But we really enjoyed having such easy access to the pool right out of the sliding doors. The beds in our were VERY uncomfortable. Super springy and we did not sleep good the whole time we were there. The pool was amazing. AMPLE seating for all. Not sure why people are complaining that they can’t get seats. We stayed from Saturday-Thursday and never once had a problem getting seats. Daybeds were open all day, as were the little wicker pods. Every seat at the pool was very comfy, more so than the bed in our room. The service by the pool was great. Waiters were super friendly and the food was delicious. The pizza was fantastic. The pina colada not so much, cause it was pretty full of large chunks of ice which was disappointing. Javier’s was fantastic. We are there twice during our stay and it was so good! Flor de Noche was great too. Small menu, but really good. Housekeeping was hit or miss. They came very late every day (4pm) when we were done at the pool and trying to shower for dinner. We only had turndown service once during the entire time cause we were back in the room by 8:30. Overall, we had a very relaxing trip. The hotel is beautiful and the pool was fantastic. The only reason we wouldn’t go back is because of how uncomfortable the beds were. Literally, that’s the only reason why. Pros: Beautiful hotel Delicious food at both restaurants Fantastic pool Friendly staff Ample seating by the pool Super convenient location to local shoppes and eateries Cons: Beds in room are super uncomfortable Housekeeping hit or miss Drinks were very icy Guacamole was very bland Long lines at check in Not a lot of seating while waiting for a cab Lobby doesn’t have much seating
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We love to you had the opportunity to enjoy all the array of amenities during your time spend at the resort. We really appreciate learning about our guest's stays and reviews like yours definetely give us the opportunity to have a wide insight. We will review the improvement fields with the team and hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.
Read more
Eichenmuller wrote a review Jul 2022
Seattle6 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is gorgeous! Lovely pool and amenities. And the Service and cleanliness are top notch. The Check in process however was atrociously inept- and needs to be addressed- after 40 minutes in a line with only 7 parties in it and 2 workers we were asked for signatures and picture identification of all parties after thai wait my party members had scattered- making a terribly long process even longer Most sea of Cortez bay beaches are swimmable and most ocean beaches and with that in mind as you plan to visit to Baja Ca u will not be surprised - glad we broke our stay into 3 areas and circumnavigated the peninsula.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate your feedback and will be taking in account the feedback for the registration, please note that the proccess for all guest is mainly for security porpuses. We still hope you were able to enjoy your vacation time and will work hard to improve our services specially during peack hours.
Read more
LeleLoves2Travel wrote a review Jul 2022
Hermosa Beach, California26 contributions8 helpful votes
We just spent two nights at Cabo Azul at the recommendation from some friends in LA who LOVE it. We were completely underwhelmed and truly not that impressed. The hotel itself is lovely and the pools are wonderful -- so a very lovely setting. Unfortunately, the service really fell below expectations. The check in process was very hurried and we felt like we were more of a burden to the gals checking us in and we really wanted to fell welcomed. They also put us in a horrible room with no view -- we overlooked the parking lot and another building. If we were going to be at the hotel for an extended amount of time, I would have asked for another room but at that point, I really didn't want to fight it. Additionally, the luggage wasn't even delivered to the room even after being told it would be. Food and beverage prices at this resort are absurd -- we had just spent a few days in La Paz paying $5 for Don Julio Reposado and we arrived to Cabo and had to pay $20 for a basic margarita. Not a deal breaker but just annoying that everything was such gringo prices. The waiters also asked you to tip them in USD cash (which we ignored). Thankfully the food was really good -- but you can also just go to Javier's in Newport Beach and get the same thing (for probably less money lol). We had a junior suite room and the size is perfect -- just make sure you ask for a decent view -- our room also faced the street which was very loud. The hotel also REALLY caters to gringos -- and some people may really like that! We prefer going to Mexico and speaking the language and enjoying the whole experience. We regularly travel to Puerto Vallarta (2x year) and will continue to enjoy those trips vs. returning to Cabo Azul anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We are sad to hear that your room view did not delivered your expectations. Rest assure that our team makes their greatest effort, however the room and view depends on the reservation and availability at the moment of your stay. We still hope that you had a good experiece overall and will be taking your service feedback for improvement.
Read more
Marc N wrote a review Jul 2022
Bartlesville, Oklahoma555 contributions233 helpful votes
Most resorts will get you something if you need it but Cabo Azul room attendants clean and refresh the room twice a day. Check in was too long. Check out was quicker. Restaurant had good food but prices are higher than expected. Had the restaurant cook our fish from a deep sea outing-- it was marvelous.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get the deluxe view room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We are glad you had a great experience with us and we hope to see you soon!
Read more
heather s wrote a review Jul 2022
San Diego, California7 contributions
This way my 9th visit to Cabo Azul since I first visited in 2016. I know what to expect here and every time it exceeds my expectations. First, the resort is stunning, sexy and meticulously maintained. There are a variety of pools to experience along with a variety of comfy chaise lounges. Hector is my favorite pool attendant and always make sure I have a cold drink in my hand. Second, the staff is extremely attentive, accommodating and friendly. Rolando, at the bellhop has been there for 10+ years and will ensure your stay is perfecto! Third, the food is amazing! From Javiers, (say hi to Raul) to the Lobby Bar (amazing sushi) to Flor de Noche, to in Villa Dining. You can't go wrong at any of these dining experiences. Some of my favorite include ALL the Ceviche options, ALL of the Pizza Options, Poke Bowl, and Sushi bar. Lastly, this was my first Solo trip here as it's typically with family or friends and this resort suites anyones needs. Everyone I meet while staying here is a return vacationer and I guarantee you will be too when you experience Cabo Azul! See you again in two weeks Cabo Azul!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Cabo Azul Resort
Responded 1 week ago
So many compliments from very special Team Members! Hearing how you have been able to build such a perfect vacation time no matter if you travel with your family or solo has a special meaning to us. Thank you for your review but most of all for your preference. We will see you soon for your 10th visit!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$229 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cabo azul hotel san jose del cabo, hotel cabo azul, cabo azul resort spa
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosSan Jose del Cabo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
320
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cabo Azul Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cabo Azul Resort?
Nearby attractions include OMNIA Dayclub Los Cabos (0.3 km), SHOREbar (0.2 km), and Plaza del Pescador (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cabo Azul Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Cabo Azul Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cabo Azul Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cabo Azul Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cabo Azul Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spicy tuna, La Forchetta, and Latino 8.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cabo Azul Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cabo Azul Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cabo Azul Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cabo Azul Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.