We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paseo Malecon San Jose Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23400 Mexico
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1359)
360
Panoramas (17)
Pool & Beach (394)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 19/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 19/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 60 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Santa Fe style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids pool
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
74Somewhat walkable
Grade: 74 out of 100
28Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1666Reviews398Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 546
  • 613
  • 299
  • 102
  • 106
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Damaris wrote a review 10 Aug
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at Posada Real with my family and enjoyed it so much. I’m not fussy, I thought the rooms were adequate, we had a cute balcony and it was clean. It’s not a super huge hotel which I think is convenient because you can walk to the beach/pool and restaurant easily. As mentioned in other reviews, the pool is on the smaller size but we found it was hardly crowded on the days we went. I was surprised by how good the food is, at times I noted limited variety but the taste of the food was superb. On Mexican night, the tacos were mouthwatering, among other entrees. Service is beyond great, all the staff we encountered were so friendly and hard working. They even remembered my son’s name. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, General Manager at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Freedom46483756220, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate your comments. Our staff and I will be happy to have you among us again. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travis wrote a review 3 Aug
Layton, Utah1 contribution
Rooms were ok for the price. No sewer smell for us. Shower drain was slow though. Food was the best, authentic Mexican, I couldn't eat enough. Food selection was minimal, but it was really great tasting. Pool bartenders were slow, but sped up if you leave a few bucks for tip. Check in was mostly quick. However once you are checked in you are ushered over to the time share people. Just say NO. We even had the infamous Jorge take our baggage, no problems with him, he was polite, knowledgeable and quick. The only major complaint about this place was the trash wifi. The wifi DOES NOT have a MESH system. So as you move throughout the resort you have to connect to a new hotspot. Infuriating, on top of that they use some home grown crap sign in system, so your device cannot ever remember the username and password. So every time you sign in (even if you signed in previously) you have to re-enter the wifi credentials. I've had way better wifi at cheap hotels in the mountains of costa rica in the middle of no where. It's 2022 there is absolutely no excuse for this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Y9237SUtravis, I appreciate your comments on our food and general service. I have taken down notes about our wifi service. I will check it with the person in charge to make it easier. There is always room to improve. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We will continue working hard to offer a very good quality of service to all our guests. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flavien wrote a review Jul 2022
Paris, France8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The worst hotel ever! DON’T GO THERE ! It is a 70s hotel that has not been renovated since the 70s! Rooms are old, dirty, dirty sheets and towels, cockroach in the shower, pool ridiculously small with drunk people in it as the bar is in the pool, noisy common spaces with holes in the ceiling, people working there not nice. We only add breakfast there and that was just ok if you have eggs and fruits. This might be the worst hotel in the hotels area. Avoid !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just don’t go there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 2 weeks ago
There Climber59936250054, I am sorry for not fulfilling your expectations. We will reinforce our supervision after making the fumigation of the rooms to avoid this kind of situation. Our staff has many years with us and we have a lot of repetitive guests that come to every year because of our service. I understand that not everybody has the same expectations. As you requested we have reimbursed your one-night stay with us. Please, accept my apologies. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PatriciaNube wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions
The most remarkable thing is the excellent food in the buffet, although they do not have specialty restaurants, it is not necessary, the food is delicious whether it is seafood to cuts, the taste of the cocktail bar can improve, the rooms facing the sea have the best view, we would return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear PatriciaNube, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to serve you again on your next visit to Los Cabos. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joe k wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We always love coming here. The service is always great. The rooms are out of date but we don't care. We have been there 10 times and up until our last visit the food was always decent. Last January the food selection was very little and the quality was not as good as all of the other times. I hope Covid did not keep way the better cooks and it tastes better this August. If not it may be our last time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Joe, Thank you for your comments. I have good news, we are remodeling our bathrooms, up to now we have 33 of them finished. Please send us a message on our social media requesting one of them. About the food we always try to have good quality, I hope you will find the same flavor. Fortunately, we still have most of our cooks. It will be a pleasure to have you among us next August. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aldo R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I want to start of by being clear in that, I will write my review with out any bias if the experience I had at the hotel. I will be honest and factual. I want to start off with the staff, that probably is the only positive thing about the place. The waiters by the beach and poll are very kind and attentive, big thumbs up for that. The reception ladies are very kind and helpful as well… I want to start off the negative part of the review, by the examination I’ve made of the rooms in the hotel. The rooms are very disgusting, by that I means that when I walked into the room it STANK of the SWEWER . The furniture in the rooms is very old, the chairs are made of tree and som pillowish thing on, which are full of dust, for the bad cleaning. The walls are full of dirt and when there is rooms cleaning they DONT CLEAN THE FLOOR, which is dirty because of the fact that the hotels chose to have old mosaic. The hotel have ONE POOL and ONE small warm Jacuzzi for a WHOLE HOTEL OF 2 BUILDINGS. The bigger pool also got mosaic Floor, which is breaking and that’s can lead to the small pieces of the mosaic to harm your feet….. THE FOOD IS THE WORST. the so called “ Buffet”is TERRIFIC, the kitchen staff gives you food and they give small Micro amounts with the BIGGEST ATTITUDE. There is a tiny selection of food. … overall the staff very nice ( not the kitchen staff) … I DO NOT UNDERSTAND how the hotel I rated 4.6 stars. I think there should be and update on that!!! …. Take care of your money, Health because the food gave me bad stomach some days after.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: AVOID hotel !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Aldo R, I am sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations. I appreciate your comments, they help us to look into our services and make improvements. Please accept my sincere apologies. The Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Check in took forever. We kept showing our confirmation and the guy at the desk said it wasn’t it. Then at the end he ended up taking what we had. But he was not rude I will be honest. The person who was rude was JORGE! Jorge had to assist us with check in to our rooms. He was disrespectful to my father by talking to him like he’s an idiot. We saw Jorge had issues with opening my sister’s and I room during check in. He did not make a comment about it. We saw he had issues getting the light in our room (#133) to turn on. Finally when he got it to turn on he just left. Didn’t tell us the trick to turn it on. Later during our stay I asked him for help because my sister was having issues opening the door JUST LIKE HE DID. Instead he said I had to go to the front desk to verify that was actually my room even though HE WAS THE ONE that helped with us check in to our rooms. We had a taxi waiting for us and he knew that too so we were in a rush and the receptionist was really busy. But instead he just continued to stand around and not help us. Thankfully the taxi agreed to wait for us until our dad managed to open our room after several attempts. The short male tanned chef was really rude as well. He was an older male. I had the biggest attitude ever just because he hates his job. I would ask him kindly for a serving at the buffet and he would give me an annoyed face. I asked him for pasta fettuccine and he would asked me multi times what kind of pasta even though I would tell him. It got to the point where I was avoiding the buffet if he was working because I didn’t want to deal with his snobby attitude. Also we all came back with the stomach bug. There was one day they were serving pasta that had went bad and they still continued to served it. The all the inclusive is not worth it. They stay is not worth it. Jorge was the rudest bell boy I’ve ever dealt with. It hurt me to see how he treated my father. He spoke to my father like he was an idiot and my father is the kindest soul ever. He works hard and has a big heart. It took everything in me not to go off on Jorge. I bit my tongue because my parents raised me better. But I urge everyone to think twice before booking a stay here at La Posada Real in Cabo San Jose. Jorge needs get reevaluated for this job. He should not be working here if he’s going to continue being this rude and awful. He didn’t even bother to assist us during check out when we were loading our luggage into the car. He just saw us and walked away. Keep in mind we never said one negative thing to him. It wasn’t until the end of our stay when I asked him for his name but that was it and I said thank you too. This hotel needs to be more careful with the food as well. Stop hiring rude people & serving old food!!!!!! I do have to say the lady at the desk was really nice and sweet as well as your nurse and some of your waiters (which we often did tip). However, I WILL NEVER book this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Lizzzambr, I am sorry to know about your bad experience at your check-in. Jorge has many years of working with us and it is a surprise to read about his behavior. I will look into this issue and talk personally with him to avoid this kind of situation in the future. Also, I will talk to our Chef about our food service and request him to better supervise our meals' quality. I appreciate your comments and please accept my sincere apologies for these shortcomings Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randall Herbert L wrote a review May 2022
Vancouver, British Columbia3 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Saying this is a retro hotel is being nice. It is tired and old and it shows. Rooms are basic, with no fridge, no hot water, no wash cloths or decent bed to sleep on. The rooms are quite noisy as you hear people in the hallways and people above you all night long. (Lounge chairs by the pool are more comfortable) The wifi hardly works and management are aware of our requests to fix it, but nothing was done. The food is poor at best, hot food was never hot or even warm, and selection was pathetic. Server staff around the pool snack bar and restaurant were friendly but too few of them to serve everyone. Sure this is a cheap place to sit on the beach, but it is a 2 star property at best. Save yourself the aggravation and stay at an BNB or VRBO for less.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: “Garden view” rooms actually look at the loading dock of the viceroy property.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 31 May 2022
Dear randallhererl; I am sorry for not fulfilling your expectations and I apologize for that. I just want to mention that I am surprised about your comments on hot water and washing clothes services, we have both. With regards the wifi, is correct, we have invested these days in equipment to improve this service, unfortunately, the supplier had some technical problems but finally, he has solved it and now our wifi services is running fine. About the food, I will talk with our Chef to look at the foodservice and improve it in quality and temperature. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey C wrote a review May 2022
Coquitlam, Canada11 contributions6 helpful votes
Was so looking forward to a relaxing vacation and we weren't disappointed! We intentionally chose a smaller resort, as we didn't know what to expect post-covid restrictions. We were lucky to get room 328 on the "hammock" side and the view was spectacular. Although older, the room was very clean and comfortable - everything we needed. The refrigerator wasn't stocked - we made a trip to Comer to get big bottles of water and beer to self-stock. No problem! There were water stations on every floor and throughout the resort to refill water bottles which was great. The grounds were beautiful - there's a few resident iguanas and tons of birds! The pool was really nice, the beach fantastic. Always loungers/umbrellas available. The service at the beach was over the top! Diego was amazing - we never went thirsty or hungry. The food from the beach was superb. The main buffet was just fine - always something good to eat. Ahi tuna on the grill, steaks...yummy. There was entertainment nightly. The bar in the main lobby was a busy place - Bernardo was the best - he worked his butt off to keep everyone happy all with a smile on his face. The location was great - a short walk to Plaza del Pescador - ice cream, restaurants and shopping. About a 35 min walk to the main plaza in San Jose. Art walk night is a must, as is Baja Brewing (try the steak Big Burrow burrito). There's a little plaza across from Baja Brewing with a cigar shop - handmade and pretty darn good! Try the chocolate scented ones. Overall, good value for the money and we would definitely stay at the Posada Real again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 31 May 2022
Dear Tracey C, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Posada Real Los Cabos. I really appreciate your comments and our staff and I hope to be at your service again on your next visit to Los Cabos. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
21Diana11 wrote a review Apr 2022
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions6 helpful votes
This was our third visit to the San Jose del Cabo region and our stay at the Posada Real. We had a wonderful ten days at the resort, and taking advantage of all the nearby beaches, walks, shopping, restaurants, art and culture. The staff are superb, and show their enjoyment and commitment to their work and customer service. We can be "high maintenance" for items such as extra face towels and such ... and this was delivered with a smile. As we enjoy experiencing the fabulous eateries in town, we mainly stayed for the great breakfasts and pool side lunches (fish tacos!). We trust and appreciate the Posada "Family" and wish them all the very best as covid transition welcomes more guests in the coming months.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Simply ask for what you are wishing in advance!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Raul Chi, Director General at Hotel Posada Real
Responded 2 May 2022
Dear 21Diana11, We are thankful for your patronage. We are happy too, to know that you enjoyed your last visit and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
posada real los cabos hotel san jose del cabo, best western san jose del cabo, best western posada real los cabos, san jose del cabo best western
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosSan Jose del Cabo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Posada Real
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Posada Real?
Nearby attractions include Playa Hotelera (0.3 km), 11:11 Disco Room San Jose (0.3 km), and Baja Querer (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Posada Real?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Posada Real?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Posada Real?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Posada Real?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Posada Real?
Conveniently located restaurants include DoZo, Macca Pasta Bar, and Santo Pulpo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Posada Real?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Posada Real offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Posada Real?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Hotel Posada Real have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Posada Real accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.