We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Point du Jour

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merville-Franceville-Plage
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Le Point du Jour
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Le Point du Jour
 Click to rate
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Good sized pitches all separated by hedges, for some you may need an extension hook up. Ample clean amenities, some were unhappy that the amenities are mixed sex (this is France not the UK) but there is another block near reception which is male/female. Plenty of water points. Direct access to a lovely, dog friendly, sandy beach. Walking distance to...

3Thank lainebbailey
Seasonova C, Gérant at Le Point du Jour, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely comment :) We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that would be a great pleasure to see you another time! A bientôt!

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We chose this campsite because of its location to a beach and the local town. We were not disappointed. However this is where it ends. The site is very tight. Motor movers are needed. Some vehicles had to be parked half on the access road. I'm sure a lot of the pitches are not the size in the brochure. The...

1Thank Laurie P
Romford England
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The main attraction is how close is the Ferry Port, but there are other attractions. Adjoins the coast beach which is a superb massive beach where you can walk for miles. The nearby village is a nice holiday seaside affair with plenty of shops bars restaurants etc, which are an easy walk from the Site. Each pitch is functional, maybe...

1Thank WestHamEddie
Lemarchand G, Gérant at Le Point du Jour, responded to this review

Bonjour, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We would just like to precise that the sanitaries are cleaned up twice a day and that the reception is opened from 8 am to 8 pm ( an emergency number is available after 8 pm in case a ustomer needs anything).

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Lovely site I'm sure and facilities particulary toilets were clean but very difficult to get a double axle out the exit. Don't bother if you have a long caravan!!! It did seem noisy! We wouldn't have got the caravan on the pitch without a motor mover and the access from Caen along the towns was very tight.

2Thank Alison S
Slane, Ireland
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This site could be amazing but unfortunately the pitches are small, the noise rules (in fact any rules) are not enforced and the facilities are not well looked after. The saving grace is the location (straight on to a beautiful beach and right near lots of interesting sights). The pool was warm but again disrespected by many other guests. Woken...

2Thank Missmyagi
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

office staff were abrupt and not very helpful on arrival. The pitches were very tight and difficult to manoeuvre your caravan onto and access roads were very narrow!. Neighbouring caravanners stated that they would not be back! The "shop" had limited supplies and was very small. The sanitary blocks were consistently dirty at all times throughout the day and there...

1Thank m2608
Lemarchand G, Directeur général at Le Point du Jour, responded to this review

Bonjour. We are reaally sorry to hear that your stay did not bring you full satisfaction. All of our pitches are 100 m². Of all of our pitches, a few of them may be less accessible for very large campers but we always try to accomodate people to the most fitting pitch and we make changes if needed and offer...

Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived at this campsite at around lunch time, young man on reception was very friendly and spoke good english booking in was quick & easy, we were given a map of the site and told have a look around and see which pitch we would like pitches are not small & we had plenty of room. Toilets have no...

2Thank MrsZozzer06
aldo et sandra s, Gérant at Le Point du Jour, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We never had any complaints about showers and toilet room. Following your comment we went to check and we did not find uneven tiles. You should have come to us so we could have maybe help you or answer your questions. The sanitaries are cleaned two times a day...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night so we was close by for our morning ferry,as in previous reviews the staff were useless and unhelpful the pitches are the worst we have seen in our 18 years of touring,if we had'nt had a motor mover then there was absolututely no way we would've got into our pitch,would'nt recomend this site to...

4Thank Julie W
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

The site doesn't meet the very good write up found in the Caravan Club brochure. The tiny bar has a couple of shelves with a few expensive but randomn goods; the bar has no branded spirits and we paid €24 for a small beer and 3 spirits with mixers- it was not possible to tell what the spirits were. It...

Thank James H
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This was a good location and the beach access was very good but the pitches are very small and we were so close to our neighbours on either side that all conversations were public ones. This was further compounded by the pitch behind us being on a hill with no hedges etc. to provide a screen - when the folk...

Thank Why3slm

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Dining (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (13)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merville-Franceville-Plage
4.4 km away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
5.6 km away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Vauban
Hotel Le Vauban
#1 of 3 in Merville-Franceville-Plage
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Restaurant Chez Marion
Hotel Restaurant Chez Marion
#3 of 3 in Merville-Franceville-Plage
78 reviews
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
5.1 km away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#5 of 14 in Cabourg
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Le Point du Jour

Address: Route de Cabourg, 14810 Merville-Franceville-Plage, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Merville-Franceville-Plage
Price Range: ₹ 1,959 - ₹ 9,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Point du Jour 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Le Point Du Jour France/Normandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Point du Jour staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Le Point du Jour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get there as early as you can, and pitch near the beach”
TerrieA, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The ONLY moans we heard were from a few fellow Brits who turned up in largish car/caravan rigs without prior booking (or only booked for a late night arrival or early deaprture stop-over for the nearby ferry) and were allocated one of the smaller pitches. Our advice is if you book in advance and (for a small supplement) request a specific pitch you wil be very well looked after by the exceptionally accomodating site owners.”
JohnandRosie2014, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
“If staying for more than a short stopover with a car and largish caravan book early and request a pitch (small supplement required) that suits the size of your unit.”
JohnandRosie2014, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger pitch! There were camper vans on massive pitches, whilst caravans struggled on tiny ones!!!”
NurseAbbers, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
4 of 4