We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Courtyard Hotel

1/371 Princess Street, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001 India
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 25 hotels in Fort Kochi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi, laundry, travel desk. We have added a Jacuzzi pool to the guests to cool down. As a nine room property, we try to make the guests' experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. Our motto is that Fort Cochin is your Kitchen. We are surrounded by many options of where and what to eat. But if you feel like dining in , you can bring in or order food and have it at the lounge or Garden wherein you'd be provided with cutlery and crockery. This is a very private place only for room guests. Very centrally located to wherever you want to go in Fort Cochin. Come and stay with us and enjoy the privacy and calm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Plunge pool
Airport transportation
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Car hire
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Hindi
383Reviews3Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 157
  • 152
  • 48
  • 14
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Fleming75 wrote a review Mar 2024
Brighton, United Kingdom78 contributions83 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights in a deluxe room on the first floor; the hotel is a lovely old colonial building with beautiful period furniture. The bed was very large and comfortable and we slept under mosquito nets - no bad thing as the window frames are original with gaps! The air con was good and there was a kettle with tea & coffee. It was good to come back after sightseeing and jump in the small plunge pool; the garden was small but had tables and chairs and was nice to sit in. The hotel is halfway down Princess Street which has plenty of cafes for breakfast; Trouvelle opposite which did a brilliant breakfast roll in a fabulous air-conditioned modern bakery. The cakes were to die for! Next to the hotel was a 4* hotel where we had a beer in their bar and also went to the Old Harbour hotel round the corner for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The stairs going upstairs were very steep but there were several rooms on the ground floor around...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sincerely, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeff C wrote a review Mar 2024
Oxford, United Kingdom102 contributions70 helpful votes
Excellent in every respect. The hotel is located in a nicely restored historic building, very close to all of Fort Kochi's amenities and attractions. All the facilities are great, i.e. swimming pool, air conditioning, wi-fi, etc. The rooms are comfortable and appropriately furnished, with nice views on to the central courtyard. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is tasty, and the hotel is excellent value for money. If you have mobility issues then ask for a room on the ground floor, where the rooms have step-free access.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your great feedback. We are really happy that your stay with us was enjoyable. Yes, we have kept the 2 rooms on the ground floor for mobility challenged guests. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the breakfast served. It really improves the team's morale when a great review is given by our guests. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DatchetA wrote a review Feb 2024
Bude, United Kingdom50 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
Heritage charm in the centre of town, great location to see the Chinese fishing nets and the local fishermen hand casting from the beach. Location is ideal for coffee shops, art galleries, small supermarket and restaurants all within 5 minutes walk. Hotel calm and small only 9 rooms makes a welcome change from the big chains. Small pool a cooling relief on a hot afternoon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we are centrally located in Fort Cochin with almost everything worth visiting, a few minutes walk only. Being a small property, we always try our best to make it a calm oasis, from the normal day to day outside our walls. And our guests' privacy and safety is very important to us. With climate change, we put in the pool as the weather has really been warmer. We are happy that it is used and enjoyed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Milena R wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed three nights and really loved this place. The staff is extremly friendly and the breakfast was very good. The room was good as well, we slept very good. Many attractions and restaurants are in wslking distance. It is a good place to start exploring Cochin.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Thank you for your feedback and review. Our staff are very happy that they were able to make your stay comfortable. We are also happy that you enjoyed our hertitage rooms and teh ambiance of our property. We hope you'll visit us again !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Monica B wrote a review Jan 2024
Los Angeles, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for the start of my cycling trip and really enjoyed that atmosphere. Super friendly staff and the breakfast was delish! Also just a walk away from many restaurants and shops. Oh and I do love that their A/C and internet was fantastic! Lots of room to house our bike too
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I arrived midnigh from the airport. You mustto call ahead and make sure you tell them that you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2024
Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GreenwichSarah wrote a review Nov 2023
Rochester, United Kingdom214 contributions94 helpful votes
The Old Courtyard is a delightful hotel in the heart of Fort Kochi. Its ideally located on Princess Street with easy access to restaurants, shops and the sights of Cochin. Our room was incredibly spacious and well furnished, super comfortable double bed and a large bathroom. Just outside our room was a seating area overlooking the interior courtyard and swimming pool. The pool was a real delight after finishing sightseeing due to the high humidity. The staff team were super friendly and helpful making our stay a very welcome one. Breakfast was served outside in the courtyard and was a set local authentic breakfast - we had something different each day. Would recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your great review! It really helps uplift our morale and encourages us to do better. We are very happy that you enjoyed your room, the big bathroom and the quiet verandah outside your bedroom. Our team appreciates that their efforts are noticed to help make the guests' stay comfortable and happy. Our best, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Piainindia wrote a review Sept 2023
Goa, India144 contributions32 helpful votes
Continuing our drivecation through Kerala, our next stop post Kannur was Fort Kochi. We'd booked ourselves for two nights. We ended up staying four! The hotel is located perfectly for exploring Fort Kochi, the Chinese nets, the street restaurants and shops. Our room, the Queen Suite, on the first floor, was as shown on the website ... in fact much better in real life! Comfortable, dust free, spacious with a modern bathroom, a very comfortable bed and not a single mosquito nor insect around. The staff was super! Wilson, the manager and team helped ensure we didn't want for anything. His assistants Ranjan and Santosh were A One. Once outside the hotel, you have to brace yourself for the tuk-tuk drivers who ply their sightseeing tours on you ... until, you do take one, as we did and frankly, had one of the best experiences! Our tuk tuk driver, Shaifee sits right outside the hotel. We started at 10.30am on the day of our excursion: starting with the Spice market, Jew Town, Dutch Palace and finishing with lunch at one of the best local Keralan restaurants, Queens Kitchen. He charged us Rs. 500/- for the four hours, well worth every paise. We actually felt 'sad' having to leave, it was so much a home away from home. Our thanks and best wishes to the owners and their wonderful team! P&A
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel does not serve food however there is no dearth of options of various cuisines. Eat...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 10 Sept 2023
Dear Pia and Andy, Thank you for staying with us. And thank you for the fabulous review. Our team was very happy to host you. We appreciate the descriptions you have given about our Suite Room. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karine D wrote a review Apr 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful colonial building equipped with spacious rooms, traditional furniture and a lovely plunge pool. The location is ideal, within walking distance of a lot of landmarks (the Chinese fishing nets, colonial buildings, churches,…) and various shops and cafes. What makes this place special however is manager Paul and his staff. Paul is such a nice man who will brighten your day with his warm smile.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from reservations oldcourtyard, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 24 Apr 2023
Dear Karine, Thank you for your great review. Our team is very happy to know that they were able to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We are also happy that you appreciated the aesthetics of our property, which makes it unique in the area. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Imen T wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
Be careful when you book this hotel. they promise a full refund and when you cancel, they take out 4.5% of the payment. so called admin fee. I had to cancel and I am still trying to get the full refund ! very sneaky and god knows what else is in the small print.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosemary Kuruvinakunnel, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2023
On booking, it is clearly written that transaction fee will be captured by the payment gateway. All transactions are charged the same 4.5% . The hotel does not get it but the payment gateway charges it. We, the hotel does not get a penny out of this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nnd d wrote a review Feb 2023
Mumbai, India8 contributions15 helpful votes
We are 3 friends currently staying at the hotel. 2 nights done and 1 to go. We have booked the suite and the geyser was not working on the first day. It got repaired after complaining twice and the AC has stopped working on day 3. We promptly complained to the staff at the reception but he did not take any action. When we got back from dinner at 11, he just laughed it off and did not move from his desk. We then had to call the manager who was absolutely unaware and refused to acknowledge the fact that his staff has goofed up. We have been told that nothing can be done so we would need to suffer through the night. This, after having done full payment in advance. Absolutely unprofessional and unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosemary Kuruvinakunnel, General Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2023
Dear Niti, Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the Geyser, it didn't work because someone among you fiddled with the mains which was used to hang towels. It is our mistake to not put a sign that said," Don't Hang Here" as we have enough hanging hooks in the bathroom. Your complain was addressed and fixed in a few hours after you complained. As for the air conditioning, we were unaware during the day time that it was not working as the Manager was not informed. You addressed the complain to us in the night after you came back to the room. You called the Manager at midnight, and unfortunately, there was nothing he can do at that time. The next morning, the AC technician came and fixed the AC. You were also refunded 50% of your day tariff for the inconvenience. Most issues are addressable with the right staff. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us immediately, during day time hours, otherwise, these could have all been avoided. Sincerely, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fort Kochi area.
PRICE RANGE
₹4,682 - ₹5,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard kochi, kochi courtyard
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)Fort Kochi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OLD COURTYARD HOTEL (Fort Kochi) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Courtyard Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Courtyard Hotel?
Nearby attractions include United kochi tours (0.2 km), Kerala Kathakali Centre (0.3 km), and Kashi Art Gallery (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Courtyard Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at The Old Courtyard Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and extra long beds.
Is parking available at The Old Courtyard Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Courtyard Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rasoi Fort Kochi, Warehouse Cafe & Restaurant, and Mary’s Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Old Courtyard Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a plunge pool during their stay.
Does The Old Courtyard Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Old Courtyard Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Old Courtyard Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Fort Kochi.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Old Courtyard Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Courtyard Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. George Orthodox Koonan Kurish Old Syrian Church (1.3 km), Aspinwall House (0.1 km), and Kadavum Bagam Synagogue (2.5 km).
Is The Old Courtyard Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.