We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kinnitty Castle Hotel

1.7 km from Kinnitty centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Kinnitty, Kinnitty, Ireland
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

711 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinnitty Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 701: English reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2015

we had our wedding at kinnitty on the 9th of January 2015. To all the staff at kinnitty and in particular Simon and aoife , thank you for an unforgettable day. All of our guests commented on how wonderful everything was . The food was top class , the setting perfect , and the staff excellent. I would have no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C Thank you for your comments and for such a swift review, its good to know you really enjoyed your wedding day with us and that you would recommend us to other couples planning their wedding, for this we thank you, You are always welcome at Kinnitty Castle Hotel and we hope that we will see you again...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Just back from one nights stay in the castle itself. This was a special treat, €220 for dinner bed and breakfast, not easily earned. The staff and food were just excellent. The problem was the room. When we go away we like better than we left at home, the tap dripped all night, there was no bulb in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ch C
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ch C, Thank you for taking the time to review Kinnitty Castle Hotel after your visit. I am glad that parts of your stay were enjoyable and thank you for the mention towards the high standard of service and food. My apologies are extended to you for the experience you had with our guest bedroom. I can confirm that...

County Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We Stayed here for one night and personally couldn't get out of the place quick enough. we were shown to our room after a lengthy wait to check in , as the rooms were not ready. The room was like a shed, the cobwebs on the walls were ridiculous, the room was dirty and the light switch was hanging off...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank T C
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T C, Thank you for your review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel. I am disappointing to read that your stay was not satisfactory and for that I ask you to please accept my sincere apologies. Firstly, I am sorry that you had to wait a unusual period of time for your room, we had a large event the prior evening...

Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

Nowhere in Ireland should you be unable to sleep due to the heat, but that was the case in January in Kinnitty. All of the positive impressions made by this character filled and atmospheric castle were simply ruined by the central heating which "couldn't be turned off or turned down". Neither I nor my girlfriend could sleep comfortably (in her...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RedzillaOnHols
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RedzillaOnHols Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed aspects of your stay but it is unfortunate you did not get a good nights sleep. On the particular night you stayed with us, the outside temperature was forecasted to drop to as low as -6, and with that in mind, as this is an old building, we...

Pelsall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Dear Cavan , Aoife , Simon and all the fantastic team at Kinnitty Castle. My new Husband and I got married on December 28.12.2014 and we held our dreamy reception in Kinnitty. We booked the Venue on New Year’s Day 2014 and the Groom didn’t see the venue until the night before the wedding and he was blown away with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda R, Thank you for your kind comments towards myself, Aoife and Simon, we are all so happy that you enjoyed your wedding day. Hosting weddings is an important part of our business and it is great to get confirmation such as yours that we are doing them well. Hoping you come and visit in the future Cavan Dunne...

Lisburn
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

Travelled from N. Ireland. Thank goodness for sat nav. This place is somewhat off the beaten track although roads are all fairly decent. Stayed in main castle in an enormous room and equally huge bathroom. Totally unspoilt unique and authentic feel to this place. The basement bar area is wonderfully creepy! The dining room feels like you're eating in Diwnton...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodeton
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rodeton, Thank you for offering us such good feedback on your stay at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, I hope our warm atmosphere may entice you to revisit in the future Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne Hotel Manager

Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

My Daughter was Married on the 28th of December in Castletown geoghen and then Reception in This Amazing Kinnity Castle, the Weather was cold -6 but dry and sunny, Although with as many as 100 guests there will always be some people that for whatever reason may not like Old historical buildings, and the more Modern surroundings may be there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe M
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe M, Thank you for your kind comments, I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your daughters wedding and I hope she did too. The heating issue has since been rectified. Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne Hotel Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Beautiful setting for this authentic Castle hotel with really friendly welcoming staff. Food was top quality too, had the breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner and everything was just perfect. Overall the staff, location and food made for a perfect weekend away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian L
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian L, Thank you for your review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel, I was happy to read that you really enjoyed our offerings and I hope that it will encourage you to stay with us again in the future, Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne Hotel Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 December 2014

This past weekend, we held our company Christmas party at Kinnitty Castle. There were 21 of us in attendance (employees and their spouses/partners). I have to say, it was an amazing experience. Even from my first enquiry, everyone was extremely pleasant and helpful. Cavan, the manager, and his staff are to be commended. They are highly professional, kind, thoughtful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katherine B
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katherine B Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel and for your kind words. We take great pride in offering the personal touch throughout the booking process and the actual event and I am glad that you felt that. Thank you also for your mention of the food, service, accommodation and activities...

Tullamore, Offaly, Ireland
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Myself and my boyfriend decided to come here last Friday night for the murder mystery night which was a meal and entertainment. We picked this place to celebrate our engagement and my birthday, the hotel itself was lovely and the staff were a pleasure but the night was a complete joke. We were placed up on the balcony of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Debbie L
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie L Thank you so much for your review, it is always good to receive both positive and negative critique. It is regrettable that you did not enjoy any of your night - I did not get that impression when I spoke to you when you were leaving, so for that I apologies. It was with every intention that...

540 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (523)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (260)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
13.9 km away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
14.3 km away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
196 reviews
18.5 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
634 reviews
23.3 km away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
134 reviews
36.7 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinnitty Castle, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Kinnitty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Price Range: ₹ 11,927 - ₹ 16,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty
Kinnitty Castle Hotel County Offaly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinnitty Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kinnitty Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view or a room in the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles 831niamhw, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view at the front of the castle so you won't overlook overgrowth at the back”
 of 5 bubbles Leonie398, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a smaller room and we loved it. We saw the bigger rooms and felt they had a little less charm.”
  • Our room. Simple and charming.
 of 5 bubbles Judy_Schmidt, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms amazing but our favourites are , the O'Carroll suite (Bridal suite) (wow) The Hutchinson Suite (huge), The del la pore, (fab)”
 of 5 bubbles Jenleejen, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all very good, ground floor rooms can be slightly louder”
 of 5 bubbles 924nateb, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5