We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magoebaskloof Getaway

Agoda.comUS$ 61*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 61*
US$ 62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Magoebaskloof Getaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of Magoebaskloof Getaway
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Magoebaslkoof Getaway is a beautiful spot and very peaceful. However I feel the cottages need a bit of a revamp. Also crockery needs to be seen to, 1 wine glass for 2 people just one of the issues. Plates to small. These are just a few small things that need to be looked at.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doreen E
Ian L, Manager at Magoebaskloof Getaway, responded to this review

Thanks for the input. We are currently going through all our cabins with a fine tooth comb and all reviews will be taken into account. Your input is of great value to us.

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Most beautiful views, great times and absolutely peaceful. Loved the cabin, breathtaking . Definitely going back again. SUV's are a must though to get down the road to the cabins, otherwise it's was an amazing weekend. Love it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thategok
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We had a tranquil experience, the trees and mountain view was breathtakingly beautiful, and I especially loved the wooden cabins. Peacefully hidden away from all the noise this little paradise was just what we needed to relax and enjoy nature. In this rainy season the place is absolutely picture perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank magrietd2017
Ian L, Manager at Magoebaskloof Getaway, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. That is all we ask for - happy guests who enjoyed the peace and quiet.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The location was great a beautiful place, the facilities was clean and tidy and the service was excellent however I think the facilities and furniture in our unit could be upgraded and modernised. Laundry facilities should also be added. I would suggest that the look at adding additional facilities or things to do, like a mountain bike trail or perhaps...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank theak367
Ian L, Manager at Magoebaskloof Getaway, responded to this review

Thanks for your input. One often gets so used to things as they are that you need a new eye to give you insight in what needs to be done. Swimming in the dam is an acquired taste but once you have done it it is really great fun. We do have the paddling pool at the wedding venue for...

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Magoebeskloof Getaway is a good idea in an ideal location that is being left to slowly fall apart. The cabin guide is something of a relic with most of the policies in place to maintain standards forgotten e.g the fishing regulations. It needs an update, much like the website, which doesn't point out that the bass dam is a bass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
Ian L, Manager at Magoebaskloof Getaway, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had so much trouble with me. I never ever felt that you had broken the fridge and it certainly was not a 20 year old appliance. The reason I explained over the phone the person I was speaking to is that he would know that you had tried to get it right and that...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

It was a pleasant experience, facilities was clean & tidy. Cleaning lady was very friendly and helpful. I would have preferred an aircon in the room as it was very hot and when there was a power failure the fan that was in the room also did not work.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniel412
Ian L, Manager at Magoebaskloof Getaway, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We do not use aircons as we are trying to be "green". As for the power cuts - they are a nightmare and seem to be never ending. That is the price you pay for being in the bush.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This is an amazing gem tucked away in the heart of the Magoebaskloof Valley. We had the privilege of watching a group of Samango monkeys right from our cabin! Beth, the manager, was honestly amazing - she helped my fiancé set up his proposal, and then treated us to a divine picnic afterwards! We will DEFINITELY be back to this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robyng211
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This is a great spot in a beautiful Magoesbaskloof valley. Very dog friendly. Spectacular wedding hall set on a lake. Pity we only stayed one nights as there is a lot to do in the area. Highlight was a run through the mountains followed by a swim in the pristine dam.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joburgtraveller2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Situated at the bottom of a deep valley, the guest will eventually arrive in a peace haven - no other way to describe this place. You are met by 4 beautiful, practical chalets, well-equipped for the basic needs of a holiday, friendly service and a huge welcome. The environment is simply beautiful with its variety of flora of that area...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J1783WQpatrickg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Arrived unannounced and welcomed graciously and treated in a friendly and accommodating manner. Location is set in valley with wonderful vegetation and I will make an effort next time to try out there hiking trail !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magoebaskloof
2.8 km away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
163 reviews
15.7 km away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
88 reviews
16.1 km away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Magoebaskloof Ruskamp The Mountain Lodge
12.2 km away
Cheerio Trout Fishing & Holiday Resort
3.4 km away
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
#1 of 1 in Magoebaskloof
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magoebaskloof Getaway Cottages, Log Cabins, Camping & Caravan Sites provide a welcome stopover for business, travelers, sales executives and holiday makers. It's an oasis of peace and tranquility where one is able to unwind and enjoy the lush subtropical vegetation. The magic of fresh spring running water is a taste of heaven, as is the chance to breathe some clean, fresh air. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magoebaskloof Getaway

Address: R71 Road Mageobaskloof A47.1, 0730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Magoebaskloof
Price Range: ₹ 3,598 - ₹ 4,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magoebaskloof Getaway 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Magoebaskloof Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magoebaskloof Getaway staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Magoebaskloof Getaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is The place to be”
, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Give this one a miss”
mcassells1954, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Perfect snuggly getaway for two or the fmily who want to bond”
Rory9111, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Check out if they have fixed the showers before booking”
RickG1945, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are GREAT!”
836chamum, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 61* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
TripAdvisorUS$ 62
Booking.comUS$ 62
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates