We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
See the most recent reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is my second trip to Riviera Maya (Feb 22 - Mar 1). First one was at Iberostar Paraiso Beach 2 years ago. If you're expecting a breathtaking beach and decent food, go elsewhere (i.e. Iberostar). Don't be fooled by the 5-star rating. The positives first (not many): . Good service: waiters are super friendly. The other staff do their...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Charbel B
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear Charbel B Thank you very much for your recent visit to Grand Sunset Princess and we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions. We would like to mention that we are sincerely sorry to read your feedback. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just returned from a ten day stay at the Princess Grand Sunset Resort. It is a beautiful hotel, marble everywhere, beware of slippery floors. It is a very long property, be prepared for lots of walking especially down to the beach. One of our main disappointments was the beach because most of the ocean view is blocked by...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Francilia P
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear Francilia, Thank you very much for choose Grand Sunset Princess for your holidays. We are very much regret that we could not meet all of your expectations, our property and staff work every day to make our guests’ stay a special and a memorable one, and we are sorry that it was not the case this time. We do...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 5 March 2014

February 22 - March 1, 2014. I apologize in advance, for the length of this review.  I want to cover as much as possible. General info about our group. 10 people, including 4 kids.  2 platinum and one swim-out suite.  The platinum suites were not much better than my swim-out, but included many more benefits. The swim-out suite was great!  Lazy...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank peggy m
Leamington, Canada
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. I love seeing the Coties and seeing the Igaunas. What I didn't like was waking up finding a Green Geko on my curtains. Actually, I just said that I didn't like that because for some reason little tiny lizards seem to freak me out early in the morning. That's because I'm not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy Ann Q
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know that you have spent a great time with us. We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you and we really appreciate you all your...

Sté Thérèse
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Clean and beautiful place, confortable bed, good food, good employes ! Il you are more than 2 persons, good luck to réserve a la carte restaurants. Same fi you want to go at the beach and you want more than 4 chairs, and éven if you wake up a 6:30 tue morning to réserve chairs with towels, you can lose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliane B
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your honest review with TripAdvisor’s Travelers, we are grateful for your visit at Grand Sunset Princess. Our goal is always exceed your expectations providing a high quality services and through high level of products. We are taking note of your comments and suggestions in order to work on them and keep moving forward to...

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We found the resort to be very good in most areas. The staff were always friendly and customer-service oriented. From check-in to bar service to houskeeping and so on. The property is huge, so there's a lot of walking to be done. The shuttle around the grounds doesn't run frequently enough. The several a la carte restaurants are excellent, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve G
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the time that you have taken to make constructive comments; we are committed to listening to our guests and constantly work on improving our services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Grand Sunset Princess! Best Regards, Obed Canché Grand Sunset Princess

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The service was TERRIBLE. Staff were not overly friendly. Management was horrible. The gounds were well kept, it is a beautiful resort. However, food was comparable to Cuba and the people were rather rude. I would not go back to this resort simply because of the poor management. Having accidently broken something worth no more that $20.00 dollars Canadian (a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JazzyJ005
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear JazzyJ005 We really appreciate this review. We are sorry that you did not have the best services as we are used to give, we really apologize and be sure we will sharing your comments with our staff in order to improve and take actions to give an exceptional service. However allow me explain you that as in any facility...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went with my family from Feb.21 - 28,2014. The resort is amazing the first time you see it. Very clean, grounds are meticulous. Iguanas and Coaties (Raccoon like animals) are all around. You won't go hungry here, lots to choose from, but by the end of the week, you were craving food from home. Got into the resort late,(around 11...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Joe G
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are deeply sorry that we didn’t reach your expectations. Our goal is that all our guests have a Great experience while staying with us and it is clear to me that your experience was not the usual experience that our guests have at Grand Sunset Princess. Regarding the cards, as any mechanism of any hotel tend to...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Plain and simple, this resort is excellent!!! Beautiful grounds and clean, spacious, extra modern style rooms. Marble stone floors throughout the resort, luxury at it's best. And the food is actually great! So much to choose from and always fresh and hot. Two different buffets and many a la cartes to choose from. The mexican and steak house were delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Angerowsell
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear Angerowsell Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Grand Sunset Princess. One of our top priorities is that you and all our guests have an unforgettable experience to share with their family and friends. On behalf of all our staff we give the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I just came back from this hotel and was very unimpressed. First, you should know that this hotel is huge and feels like a cruise ship. If you like big cruise ships, then you will like this hotel. Room: We stayed on the Riviera side, and had the Grand Yucatan Platinum Suite with pool access. I was expecting a gorgeous...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lvd80
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this review

Dear lvd80 Thank you very much for having chosen Grand Sunset Princess for your vacations at the Mayan Riviera. I apologize for the first impression you had of us, but I assure you that we do all our best in order to satisfy all valuable guests. Regarding your comment about the bugs , we would like to inform you that...

9,589 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1917)
Viewed
View from Room (325)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1087)
Viewed
Dining (554)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (182)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (68)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (20)
Viewed
Other (2928)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (302)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite Deluxe Pool (40)
Viewed
Laguna Villa Suite (44)
Viewed
Platinum Pool (4)
Viewed
Platinum Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
12.4 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,551 reviews
22.7 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
8,254 reviews
4.8 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,450 reviews
36.9 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
29.5 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort

Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 11,494 - ₹ 27,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 674
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and BookIt.com so you can book your Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Sunset Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Sunset Princess Hotel
Grand Sunset Princess Review
Grand Sunset Princess Mexico
Grand Sunset Princess Resort
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort staff and other travellers.
1,153 questions
Ask a question
Harrow, Canada
Gidgimortal Ajax, Ontario, Canada Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

I would go platinum or, as Shane suggested, Laguna Villas.

The sliding doors on the swim out rooms only lock from the inside, so if you wanted to leave the general area, you would have to either leave your room unlocked, or go through the room and exit by traditional means. That was the deciding factor for us when booking our honeymoon. Then we discovered that room service is only included in platinum room categories or higher, and that was the clincher for us.

There aren't a ton of benefits to going platinum, but there were a few that made the vacation more enjoyable, in my opinion. Loved the Jacuzzi on the balcony - loved not having to line up for towels. We enjoyed the roped off section on the beach with butler service. And, as previously mentioned, room service was important for us night owls.

Laguna Villas is adults only, so there's that!

Just my preference.

2 months ago
Josh B Farley, Iowa Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
3
Votes
Not as helpful

Take a cab. It's $5 usd per person, the shuttle is the same, the difference is with a cab you go and come back when you want to, not waiting on a shuttle to pick you up

over a year ago
Brooklyn, New York
over a year ago
traveller146600 Keswick Ontario Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
3
Votes
Not as helpful

Ashtrays in the lobbies and along the walkways

You can smoke on the beach but always watch where you toss the butts

I smoked on my balcony and just used a beer can

over a year ago
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Pilar O playa del carmen Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

PDC its in 5 min. from the hotel in a bus.

The Chill Out rest is an extra charge restaurant which is not included in any category.

1 month ago Google Translation
KathyP21012014 Petawawa, Canada Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

hi so we were in a juniour deluxe suite which included all al a cartes. our two favourites were Miso for the Tempanyaki and the French restaurant. we were closer to the beach than the main building but we were happy with that. about a ten minutes from the main bldg. nice pathway to walk or there is a shuttle. Definitely pay and have dinner at the chill on the beach when you get there. Then you get to use their private beach area and het free drinks and wifi for the rest of the week.

1 month ago

See all questions (1153)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were happy with our junior suite”
amybU9251AT, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one in the middle of the resort lots of walking”
V1196DWdanielg, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Loved our upgraded room. Marble floors, big covered porch, nice sitting area, walk in shower, Jacuzzi tub and mini fridge re-stocked daily. The room was made up fresh every day and looked amazing. Definitely a relaxing atmosphere.”
michaeloO1609FC, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms clean and stocked up everyday”
kevinkD4973AL, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in a standard room, but I think the upgrade would have been worth it!”
Canadian0192, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Bookit.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates