We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sun Palace

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sun Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sun Palace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,000: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I am writing to compliment you on the excellent service we received from all of your staff who were exceptionally courteous, friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself was very well-run, we did not avail ourselves of many of the facilities as all we wanted to do was sit by the sea and relax with our books. From meeting Daniel or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

A fresh breeze! Dealing with credits, food, rooms and such one forgets the main reason that we have guests. Until someone like you makes their point. Sitting on the beach enjoying sun, sea and a good book. It feels so dumb to have forgotten the principle of our existence as a resort....that is, until a friendly reminder such as you...

Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great resort overall. Friendly,clean,good service great beach and pretty good food. We would Return. I cannot tell folks how important it is to tip the staff; a dollar here in there goes a long way. Its extremely frustrating being in the service industry, watching guests not tip for all the things the staff does: moving chairs on the beach, bringing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin F
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

Whew! Without a doubt you are in the service industry. Two major answers: The tipping issue is one of the more frequent ones. In my role as the Manager, knowing fully well that your tips are indeed included and surely get to our staff's hands I have to be very discreet about my personal thoughts. Lets just say that every...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay here for the most part. The sheets on the bed were very annoying. Why can't palace resorts get fitted sheets for the beds? It was very unpleasant, not to mention unsanitary, to constantly have the bottom sheet come loose exposing the mattress. The excuse for having flat sheets on the bottom might be so they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelash1
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

You know, in all my years in the trade I haven't seen fitted sheets on a hotel bed, at least in Mexico. The reason being that sheets are laundered toghether and more importantly, ironed toghether in a humongous contraption called a "mangle" which demands very high temperatures to correctly process the number of sheets we require in the time needed....

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I spent a lot of time reading endless amounts of reviews for hotels and a close eye on all recent reviews on the Sun Palace before and after booking and it still utterly impressed us once we were there. The staff work so so hard here, everywhere you look there are staff working to keep the place looking spotless and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank markmedown
Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just back from this resort.We stayed on eight floor, this floor has smaller balconies and have no privacy, just a hint. We stayed for seven days and travelled with another couple who had same feelings as us in saying this resort is only average. This resort has no Buffett for evening dinner so you either have a choice of dining...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pinkipaula
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your point of view. The 7th and 8th floors are the Ocean View rooms which have smaller balconies surrounded by glass. I recommend these accomodations for guests who prefer astonishing views. If you are more concerned with the size of the balcony, go for a Junior Suite, Concierge or Balcony Concierge. Prices will vary, though. During...

Marshfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week (March 3-10) at Sun Palace and it was everything that we could have hoped for. All staff that we encountered were friendly and very helpful. Martin was very knowledgeable and helped us plan our activities. The staff by the pool and bar were fun and full of energy. Thank you to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank schmidty_10
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

I believe we exchanged e mails. I am very convinced writing to me before you come makes for a much better experience. My e mail is: pwinkler@palaceresorts.com and I am always happy to hear from my guests, past, present and future. You are very kind to have remembered so many of the names of my kids. They do work hard...

Scunthorpe
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Currently sat in my suite at sun palace. I have never experienced customer service as it is here! Mr winkler you should be so proud of all your staff, from the cleaning personnel to chefs and reception staff all r fabulous. I must admit before we travelled I was concerned about some negative reviews, however how anyone can complain about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wendy M
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

I am inordinately proud of the service we provide. And most thankfull to you for recognizing it. Yes, we've had a spell of negative reviews. I am still reeling because this means that somwhere along those days we failed to consider a number of situations that were not to our guests' liking. I hope this is now beyond us. It...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 days/4 nights at the Sun Palace Resort. The resort was clean and the staff was very friendly, however, I was not overly impressed with any one thing. The food was okay, nothing special to speak of. The wait staff was very nice and prompt bringing out our food, for the most part. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

Beach Palace is another great resort of this chain. It is more geared towards the younger crowd and has more entertainment. Also is closer to the night club zone. Each resort has their own personality. We aim to please you in several things. If we didn't in any, then our job was not met. The vendors in the beach are...

Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We just returned from our 2nd trip to the Sun Palace. We cannot say enough about the superb treatment we get there. First to Consuela, she is by the far the hardest working person I've ever seen. Josef Ivan on the beach, Daniel who got us chairs and umbrella's every day. Raul who was at the beach when Daniel was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank WallyworldFD
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

A most gracious review and certainly very welcome. Let me stop a minute to sing the praises for our Chef, Edgar Poot and his team. While Edgar has been some 10 years with Palace Resorts we've had the fortune of working toghether two times now, maybe a total of 5 years. When we first started, he was rather shy with...

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our first trip to an all-inclusive in Mexico and we're afraid to go anywhere else as we think the bar has been set pretty high by this awesome resort. We were looking to be pampered and just have a very relaxing stay and it was all of that. The restaurants were all good in their own way and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bob F
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review

It is very good to be given an opportunity and make the most out of it. Judging by your words we didn't fail to cover your expectations and that is of great importance. It is we who thank you for allowing us to prodigate our services and for being so kind in your final score. We will hope to see...

7,609 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6916)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1414)
Viewed
Dining (825)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1077)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (786)
Viewed
View from Room (496)
Viewed
Bathroom (84)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (26)
Viewed
2:21
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (2177)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (667)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Cold Pool (5)
Viewed
Concierge Level (59)
Viewed
Grand Level (56)
Viewed
Junior Suite Ocean View (29)
Viewed
Main Pool (22)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Presidential Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (131)
Viewed
Second Pool (20)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Ocean View (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.6 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5,435 reviews
5.3 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
8.1 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
5,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 182 in Cancun
8,189 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#11 of 182 in Cancun
8,139 reviews
5.4 km away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Price Range: ₹ 28,800 - ₹ 48,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Palace staff and other travellers.
649 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (649)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 834 has a view of the lagoon and ocean. 2 balconies. You get late afternoon sun.”
 of 5 bubbles 506tls, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach view rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles grandmaC1231, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floor with sea view are fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles Tontoenniskillen, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and face out to the lagoon if you want evening sun on your balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 760sarahm, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you want a large balcony or intend on lying in the sun book a concierge level room!”
 of 5 bubbles mr653, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay