We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portonovo Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 May 2015

I booked this hotel due to the review on trip advisor. The hotel had no standard amenities; no safe, no clock, no dresser, no ice machine, or ice of any kind. We had to buy ice and then keep it in the one and only waste basket that was in the room. The bar was physically present, but was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dmpruc
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, on TripAdvisor we don't list any of the amenities you mention we don't have, but we apologize if there was anything on the website that might've confused you. The only amenity that we did have listed -and that is temporarily out of service- is the bar, but we have removed tit from the amenities and services list. We...

Vermont
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We were just here two weeks ago. Had two rooms with two queen beds in each. Rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms. Bottled water in rooms each day was nice. Hotel staff very pleasant. Small rooftop pool and sitting area. Daily breakfast buffet had good number of choices both hot and cold. One block from beach. VERY short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catwmn2xVT
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such nice and kind review! We very much appreciate you appreciating the concept of the hotel. We are more than happy to know how much you enjoyed staying with us. Please know that it was our very pleasure to have you over and that we can't wait to have you and your son back!

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 28 March 2015

clean and comfortable. it's a newer hotel so no musty smell. great little pool and resturaunt on the roof. breakfast is free and basic. but edible. in the heart of the market. close to the malecon. will return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank i_am_Bender
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, it'll be our very pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for the very nice grade you gave us. Come back soon! :)

Nanaimo, BC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We stayed at the Portonovo Plaza for seven days in February. The first 3 days in one room, then stored some luggage (for free) while we made a trip to Yelapa... and finally back to the Portonovo Plaza for another four days. The rooms were small but quiet, the bed in each room was comfortable and we always had hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue_lovely
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to read your review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay, our location, cleanliness and that we treated you nicely. Thank you for your evaluating us so well, we appreciate your kind recommendation and we value very much you pointing out all the good things about our little great hotel. It was an...

Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Last thanksgiving weekend I experienced along with my friends a not only shining example of great hospitality but professional service at the Portonovo Plaza Hotel in Puerto Vallarta. Overly qualified as for to the price we paid for to be honest. I would certainly highly recommend it to anyone I ever know is visiting this gorgeous beach in Mexico. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 688Armin
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you so much for your kind review. We were thrilled to read it, and to know we made your stay so pleasant. We enjoyed having you and your friends over and we sure hope to have you back in the near future. Thank you again!

southern VA, USA
Reviewed 26 January 2015

These are small rooms, but nicely done, very modern. Shower and beds are great. No view, but you're just a couple blocks off the beach. Good staff, English spoken, lots of food choices and shopping nearby, and close to the boardwalk. The price is definitely right and you can't go wrong here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis l
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you so much for your kind review! We know you had a pleasant stay for it was our pleasure having you over. Please come back soon "a su casa fuera de casa" (to your home away from home). It'll be our very pleasure to accommodate you again and always!

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2015

The good: Price: paid about $50/night in January. Can't beat that. Location: close to everything, including grocery (Ley), buses, water, lots of shops, restaurants. Clean: no critters, maid kept room spotless TV: Good size TV, lots of channels including those in English Nice extras: I like the pool at the top floor - small although a nice view. Has AC....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polarbear003
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we are very happy to know that your stay was overall pleasant. We thank you for bringing up the things we are missing/lacking, we have submitted them to management so we can improve. Thank you for staying with us!

southern VA, USA
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Just a block or so off the beach, and just a couple blocks north of the Malecon. Modern, sleek, and nicely appointed. Rooms are on the small side, beds are comfortable, on the firm side. No extra bedding, just a sheet. Good bathroom amenities, hairdryer. Wi-Fi/ cell signal a little weak. All staff was excellent, was here for a week....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dennis l
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for staying with us, and thank you so much for your kind review! We were very happy to read it and know we are the best option in the neighborhood. We hope to have you back again, and again!

Reviewed 10 January 2015

My girlfriend and I traveled to Puerto Vallarta during one of the busiest season - dec 22 -27. And we ended up booking our hotel somewhat last minute. Portonovo plaza hotel stood out to use with the right price point and glowing reviews. For the most part, I agree. This hotel is perfect for the price. It's location is ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mrhowardshin
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for staying with us! We apologize for the confusion at the moment of booking. When it comes to internet wholesalers, we have to take the precaution of establishing a "room assignment" policy due to the size of our property and to the available inventory of a certain type of bed. Normally, when booking through an internet...

Prince George, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

Three of us stayed over Christmas and New Years though the beds were a little too firm, the room was clean and modern. The staff were amazing always friendly and helpful. The roof top pool was perfect small but clean and quiet. I have stayed in PV many times and this is by far the cleanest hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piccolopup
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we are happy to read that you and your friends liked our little sparkling hotel. It was the pleasure of our staff to help you and assist you. Please feel always welcome and come back soon!

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
317 reviews
0.4 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,257 reviews
0.0 km away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#69 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,291 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#33 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
447 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#67 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 2,688 - ₹ 4,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the backside.”
 of 5 bubbles bigred, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a balcony if you stay here. The Superior room is an inner room and the difference is about $8 a night and worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 937janisd, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“keep windows closed and A/C on to greatly lower street noise”
 of 5 bubbles GaryP440, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you may want to ask for room upgrade, if you booked on line, sometimes these are not the best rooms”
 of 5 bubbles davidjU2118MW, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Yes, ask for a room on the back lane.”
 of 5 bubbles goodtaste_10, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5