We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portonovo Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Dauphin, Canada
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is close to attractions and the "scene" in PV. It's nothing fancy, and the pool is small, but it's a clean, quiet place to lay your head down. Beware of possible room changes. We requested a double bed and were given two singles. As compensation, they moved us to a queen for the other 6 nights of our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John T
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Although the bedding is not guaranteed until the time of arrival, we are glad to read that we did well by accommodating you in a better room. Thank you so much for staying with us! Come back soon to this your home away from home!

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

The room is nice we paid $40 Canadian... (Expedia) Super clean, no bugs... But the room (114) smells like and old dirty mop.. We also need to keep bathroom door closed as it smells like sewage... But at $40 ?!?! It's pretty good price. You get used to the smell after a few tequilas and we are not here to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Po- C
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We apologize on the inconvenience that the smell caused you; we work diligently to solve this issue. We are glad to read that you had an overall good experience and that you enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for your kind comments to our staff, we were very happy to have you stay with us. Thank...

Champaign, Illinois
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on recommendation from a list of options for a destination wedding. The staff was friendly, but that was about the best part of the hotel. When we checked into our room there was pubic hairs in the toilet and hairs in the shower. Our room was like a prison cell, small and very dark. The lighting was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FatdogThyme
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are sorry to read your stay was not what you expected. We appreciate your feedback and we thank you for staying with us!

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I booked the Superior room through expedia.com When I arrived I got a superior twin room, two twin size beds in a room smaller than some american bathrooms. As soon as I opened the door, I went straight to the phone and called the operator who said that was the only room they had available. I did get the superior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert752k2
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We are glad to read you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel. We apologize for all inconveniences caused during your stay. For us, it was a pleasure to have you over. Thank you for staying!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 28 December 2015

My wife and I made the mistake of waiting until the last minute to book our hotel during the December/Xmas break busy season and were forced to pick some random places that were not as highly rated in the B&B/affordable category. The Portonovo is by no means a bad place to stay-I just probably wouldn't stay here again if other,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank longhorn2006
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate your feedback, specially to read you enjoyed the food and location. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

All of the staff were very friendly and ready to help. For our room, the AC didn't work, they attempted to fix it, they couldn't and exchanged the room at no cost. The second room was nice (with working AC), but it was right on the front of the hotel, making it very loud due to road noise. Overall, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AFowler08
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are happy to read you had a good, pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the nice details we had with you; but most of all, thank yo for staying with us. We hope to have you back soon enough at this you home, away from home!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first two nights in PV. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I felt especially welcomed by Fernando, our singing porter. The free breakfast buffet was very generous and included sweet breads, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, chilaques salsas, beans, meat etc. Along with orange juice and coffee. The rooftop pool is cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thaisamused
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are happy to read that your stay was overall pleasant. We loved having you over! Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us, but mostly, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you soon!

Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewed 17 December 2015

I was there for pleasure for a weekend, and the hospitality recieved by everyone was amazing!! Hotel is located in the best part of town, ideal for walking everywhere, the malecon (boardwalk) is 2 blocks away and most importantly, the beach is only a few steps away!!! Breakfast is very good, and it has all kinds of options for different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulina R
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate all your kind comments on our hospitality, location and added values. We work hard every day to make our guests happy and to make them feel at home . We are very happy to read our goal was fulfilled with you. Thank you!

Nanaimo, BC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

After the Tropicana Hotel was renovated, and raised their prices accordingly we needed to find a new place to stay that was within our budget. Initially we booked into the Portonovo for a few nights not knowing what to expect. What a treat! Although the hotel is not on the beach, it is a wonderful find, close to the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue_lovely
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We feel honored to know that we are your new preferred hotel in Puerto Vallarta! Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to read that our goal of a pleasant stay for a fair price was fulfilled with you. We can't wait to have have you back for another week! And another, and another, and...

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Located just a block up from the beach and about 3 blocks from the start of the malecon. We had a twin bed room with balcony. Room was very small but larger rooms are available. Small rooftop pool. Rates are very good and include a full breakfast. Great service by Jaime, Jesus and Fernando and also Luis in the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick and Mer... C
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind evaluation to our staff. We are happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us; it was our pleasure to have you over. Please come back next year, and the next and always to this your home away from home!

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#55 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
308 reviews
0.4 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,116 reviews
1.8 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#70 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
252 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#38 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
439 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#62 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 2,655 - ₹ 4,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Joliet, Illinois
over a year ago
Detroit, Michigan
21 days ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Portonovo Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“keep windows closed and A/C on to greatly lower street noise”
 of 5 bubbles GaryP440, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you may want to ask for room upgrade, if you booked on line, sometimes these are not the best rooms”
 of 5 bubbles davidjU2118MW, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Yes, ask for a room on the back lane.”
 of 5 bubbles goodtaste_10, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor at the back”
 of 5 bubbles grver, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get the blankets at reception”
 of 5 bubbles jocelynej16, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay