We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sport Baru

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sport Baru
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sport Baru
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2016

What a great way to spend a day away from the hustle and bustle (and heat) of Cartagena. We traveled to Sport Baru in their own comfortable 'go fast' boat with a professional crew in less than 45 minutes. We were welcomed with a cool drink and briefed on the facilities offered. A beautiful two hour excursion to the nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onboardpip
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing to others your experience and also for such great comment, we are more than glad that we were able to provide a satisfactory experience. All the best, Giacomo Thiele General Manager Hotel Sport Barú

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016

I really liked this place, but what we didn't consider was the price of the boat trip, We were told that the price was 60.000 per person, but no one told us that we needed to pay the return way too. Not fair price in the end considering that transportation is a must and the hotel is not direct with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kamtoro
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Mr. kamtoro Thank you for visiting us and for your feedback, we apologize if there was some misinformation regarding the transportation costs, we want you to be confident that the prices you were charged were a fair rate, transportation is one of our highest operational costs due to the distance of the island by boat. As for hiring a...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We stayed at Sport Baru for one night. While the facilities were less than ideal, we certainly made the most of our time. First,we were misled on the pricing of the boat trip. We were told it was 60,000 COP each for a roundtrip boat trip, but when we looked at our bill it was 120,000 COP each (so 60,000...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cartagenagirl
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank your for bringing this information since your opinion is very important to us, we honestly regret that you didn`t have a satisfactory experience according to your comments, providing our customers with a pleasant stay is what we always strive for besides this being part of our core business. We apologize if something thit not fit your expectations...

Venice, California, United States
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Two mid 20 year old girls literally trapped on an island and taken advantage of. We arrived at the dock in Cartegena waiting for private boat which broke down- they threw us in a cab that took over two hours to get to the hotel and the driver was lost.. we stopped four times and they still demanded we pay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexandra Y
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Alexandra Yelling, Thank you for visiting our hotel, we truly regret that your experience wasn`t satisfactory to an end, what we care the most is that those who visit us have a pleasant time and no otherwise. Thank you also for informing us about your details, this allowed us to speak to operations management about it. Regarding transportation...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Hotel Sport Baru is a rustic little place perfect for people who just want to disconnect as described in the other reviews. We took a day trip here from Cartagena on the hotel's boat, and all of that went smoothly. Unfortunately, we were under the impression that the hotel was closer to Playa Blanca (our fault), so our group of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie S
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Ms. katie, Thank you for visiting us, exactly as you said we are around 12 miles away from Playa Blanca. We appreciate that you took the time to describe in detail our services, we are definetly oriented towards providing guests a relaxation environment. We will be greatful if you help us with the information of the third party that...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed at Hotel Sport Baru for 3 nights. We had a nice relaxing time there, beachfront is nice, food was good and the staff is helpful. They have a nice dining/communal area as well. WIFI was spotty and mostly unavailable in the room. We went to Playa Blanca and Playa Azul which we both beautiful and recommended. This place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adagal13
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for visiting us and for leaving a positive review, the way you describe our concept is pretty much what we look for to provide others. Thanks also for describing the different aspects as the route to arrive to the hotel, however I would like to clarify to others that accesing to Sport Baru by bus is...

Westchester County, New York
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Our family stopped at this hotel/restaurant for lunch and it was so relaxing. We traveled with kids and it was clean, service was amazing - thanks to Alejandro. Food/drinks ---outstanding!!! We stopped here on our first trip to Baru islands. We liked it so much we returned during our next trip. We had the ceviche which was fresh, whole fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimplyMaria
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you so much for your delightful review, we are very glad to hear that you and your children had an enjoyable experience, that is our final goal. Alejandro will be very happy to hear from your thumbs up regarding his performance, we hope that you visit us again in the future and give us the pleasure to...

Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend to Stay over night and avoid the day tour. Don't expect a TV in the room. The hotel is to get away and relax. Beautiful! The food is good and reasonably priced. Enjoy the complimentary ride to Playa Azul and kayak to the island across the way, cholon. It's about a 15min kayak ride, enjoy a meal there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you and it is very rewarding to read that you had a GREAT experience. We are also greatful to read your explanations to other visitors, this is very important to us, thanks again for visiting us and we hope to have you again in the near...

Henderson, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We stayed at the sport baru for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Upon arrival we loved it immediately. The rooms where clean, and spacious, we had the room on the farthest end with the largest balcony looking right out to the sea, breathtaking! The food was very good, when the head chef was cooking it was amazing!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurel b
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Laurel, What a pleasure having you at our hotel and now to read your review, thank you for describing all in such positive way, I showed this comment to our team and they were very happy to read it, specially Maria Fernanada whom was recently promoted to service manager, your opinion reinforces the decision we made. Thanks again for...

New Jersey
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Beachy, rustic, bungalow type hotel. No TV and spotty wifi but spectacular breezes and attentive staff. Kayaks for free. Makes you feel like you really "got away from it all." I would recommend packing for the beach before your ride over from Cartagena. The boat arrives to the hotel at 10:30am and you leave for the nice beach at 11am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weiskyle
Gerenciasb, Director General at Hotel Sport Baru, responded to this review

Dear Weiskyle, Thank you for your comments, we find true compensation when reading reviews like yours, since satisfying customers is our ultimate goal. We are glad that you enjoyed our activities and told other travellers about it, they will enjoy it as well. All the best, Giacomo Thiele General Manager

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (171)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
0.0 km away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
33.0 km away
Hotel Playa Scondida
Hotel Playa Scondida
#4 of 4 in Isla Baru
63 reviews
10.1 km away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#16 of 146 in Cartagena
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 146 in Cartagena
1,726 reviews
21.6 km away
Decameron Baru
Decameron Baru
#1 of 4 in Isla Baru
2,793 reviews
21.7 km away
Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sport Baru Hotel is a resort located in the beautiful island of Baru in the bay of "Cholon" 45 minutes by boat from Cartagena and 10 minutes away from the Rosario islands. Baru is one of the most exotic of all the tourist destinations in Colombia due to its stunning Caribbean setting which thanks to our hotel is one phone call away from you.One of the advantages at SPORT BARU HOTEL is the comfort and personalized service we provide due to being a ' petit' size hotel, we enjoy fulfilling our guest's expectations at an individual and personal level, you can book into one of our 16 cozy rooms or just going on day-tour, where you can enjoy the privacy of a private beach, have a relaxing massage, or practicing your favorite nautical sport; we arrange plans that include all transportation and meals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sport Baru

Address: Ensenada del Cholon Km. 26, Isla Baru 130017, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Price Range: ₹ 8,897 - ₹ 22,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sport Baru 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sport Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sport Baru staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sport Baru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make you sure you have some contact with them before you go.”
 of 5 bubbles Falasafa, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the rooms in house 1 are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles sandramY2827ZO, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms vary in location and view based on price.”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles adagal13, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ours was great never even heard the people above us, all rooms faced the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 157laurelb, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have sea view, some have bigger terraces.”
 of 5 bubbles 93Timea, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay