We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. An advise of a friend. Really regret we didn't do more research on it. It's moisty, smelly and old. The owner and employees are not very helpfull. A cols shower in the morning, not enough toiletpaper. Everything feels wet, the bed, the towels, toiletpaper.. In the morning you towel is still wet after drying all night......

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CarlijnOost
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We are extremely unhappy and disappointed to read your comments.Thank you for alerting us on this.The staff who was responsible for making up your room has since been fired.She was a trainee staff who was doing very slip shod work.She could not explain the wet toilet paper etc.We apologize for your unpleasant stay and hopefully we get a chance to...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful colonial structures and courtyard but rooms are very musty, unclean and smelly. Paid RM300++ for a room/night with only 2 pillows , damp and smelly bed, poor TV service and water temperature. Bad breakfast! we taught they would at least have decent breakfast for the price we paid but instead all they had was a packet of bread and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Tri-travels
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We apologize that you had an unpleasant stay at our place.We will try to make it up to you if you give us another chance.Once again we are extremely sorry.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The view of Bala chalet very beautiful especially at night..inside the room very tidy..but the customer service no good. Got small garden can walk around and every corner got its own attractive decoration.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LimJoey1996
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments.We are very sorry that the staff were not very friendly towards you.We have alerted our staff regarding this and they have promised to rectify their mistakes.Please do come again and we will make up for the unpleasant feeling.

Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 April 2014

An awesome place for a little sweet escape from you busy lifestyle. Its like a total recharge. Lovely place for nature lover as the building itself is covered with green plants. Luxurious classic interior that made u feels like coming home to granny for thanksgiving. Having your morning tea in the garden with its fantastic landscape is bonus. As for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SajidahShopian
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your lovely comments.We truly appreciate your thoughts in making our place like a home away from home.We try to maintain this feeling.As you can understand this is a old colonial building,the beauty and character is in this.As such some rooms are better and nice than others hence the difference in price.It is a cottage from pre-war...

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I'm a frequent customer of Bala's Chalet but my previous stay was not so enjoyable. Everything was great as usual but the room we stayed in (JT2) was terrible. No, it's not the condition of the room. The room was nice and clean. Size was good too. It's the noise. Do not take this room (JT2) if there's people staying...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peeenuts
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your useful tip about JT2.We have forwarded your comments to the management for action who have promised to look into the matter.Usually we only give the cottage to one large family.I think on the day mentioned we were overbooked so we had to give out rooms individually.We are sorry about the mistake done.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here twice and loved it both times. Yes the hot shower some times doesn't work (not ALL the time) Yes the beds felt slightly damp at times (you're on top a hill) Yes there can be bugs (again, you're on top a hill) Yes some staff were more pleasant and helpful than others (Mr Bala himself was charming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RizwaNeem
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments.We truly appreciate it.We however would like to point out that whilst we appreciate your useful comments as a guideline to improve our establishment,some comments especially the one about bed bugs is not true.We most certainly do not have bed bug problems.There maybe mosquitoes as we are situated in a fully forested area but no...

Portage, Michigan
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First, I will say I was a teacher for many years, so the fact that this was a school was attractive to me. Few places I stay have a history and besides having a cottage feel with lovely gardens, this does. It was very quiet with beautiful views off the front areas. I loved the tea garden and just walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingtrue
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you so much for your lovely comments.You have captured the very essence of our establishment.This is what we are all about but nevertheless we still take every endeavour to improve our facilities and we will take into account your comments about the bathrrom water and make the necessary modifications.Thank you.

Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Bala's and would definitely recommend it! It is perfect for a relaxed stay oft of town, as it is not in, but before Tanah Rata (bewegen T.R.& Brinchang). It is easily reachable from the main road, either 20minutes walk from Tanah Rata, or you ask the bus driver nicely to drop you there. Bala...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annika L
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ms Annika,Thank you for your valuable comments which we would surely adhere to.We are extremely sorry about the sheets upon questioning the housekeeping staff concerned assured us it was not dirt but machine stains from the laundry.But we have told them not to use these sheets even though it is not dirty.Once again we apologize.Thank you once again for...

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We phoned up on the morning of the chinese new year weekend, and were lucky enough to get a room; I suspect the last. Arrived and they whisked our bags to a lovely room, with a fantastic view and, and it was very quiet. Everything old fashioned and the cooler temperature feels different to an air conned room - but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cat-Nature-lover
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your wonderful comments.We would surely take into consideration your feedback and hope we can offer you better and quieter rooms the next time you are here.Once again Thank you Planters Country Hotel(Bala's Holiday Chalet)

uk
Reviewed 14 January 2014

we stayed at the chalets in October 2013. We were visiting family in Malaysia. Booked through a website. On our arrival after much "checking" we were checked in....two double rooms. The rooms looked fine, the gardens etc., were really good, ( a little of old England). We had a strawberry tea.....enjoyable. We ate dinner at the chalets, fine, we all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wessy
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guests,Thank you for your valuable comments.December is the wettest month in Cameron Highlands.We assure you the sheets were not damp but the feeling of dampness comes from the continuous rainy season.We have since bought a new dehumidifying machine which on demonstration proved effective.We have started using these machines and it is customers feedback that give us the knowledge on...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (122)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
1.8 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
507 reviews
2.4 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
759 reviews
6.8 km away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
2.6 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
1.3 km away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lot 55 | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia (Formerly Bala's Holiday Chalet)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Price Range: ₹ 3,076 - ₹ 5,694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bala`s Holiday Chalet Hotel Cameron Highlands
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the suite...it's tucked away from everyone else”
  • This is a suite with an attic above
 of 5 bubbles LionelY_13, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room in the main building more chance of hot water”
 of 5 bubbles davidwplaird, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chestnut for views & your private balcony. However if the dining hall starts the fireplace, close all your windows or taste soot.”
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
 of 5 bubbles andrewy609, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you have special needs, write to them so they can make arrangements to cater to your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the garden Executive suite and Family Room are the best room as it's overlooking the garden and very large.”
 of 5 bubbles marynasuke, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5