We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Field Road, Clarkston G76 8RX Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Travelocity
$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$131
Priceline$130
Orbitz.com$131
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (446)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (63)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 23/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 23/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Busby Hotel is a rarity in Glasgow these days. Privately owned and with exacting standards in service and attention to detail, this hotel, perched on the banks of the River Cart, will provide an ideal base to relax and enjoy old-fashioned hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Patio
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1697Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,198
  • 276
  • 120
  • 68
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
chloe c wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We can not recommend the busby hotel enough for a venue to have your wedding day. All staff go above and beyond to ensure everything you want for your special day comes true. They really are amazing!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear T9749NL Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your special day with us and found the team looked after you both so well. Team Busby wish you both a lifetime of health and happiness and hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
damien wrote a review Sep 2022
Pickering, Canada113 contributions159 helpful votes
We were shocked how small our twin room was. We got the quiet room that we asked for. The wardrobe was very small and there were no drawers for your clothes. We were there for 2 nights. The food was excellent. We had a great waiter both nights called Sully. The breakfast had a table of cold food and one of hot in Turines. Watch when you take a shower. The floor is one piece of white plastic and very slippy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Top floor end room very quiet. Elavator only goes to 2nd floor then you have a flight of stairs...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear damien Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I will share your feedback regarding the rooms with our board as all feedback is welcomed and encouraged. I am delighted that Sully looked after you both so well and I will share your comments with him as he will be thrilled. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Garry R wrote a review Sep 2022
9 contributions24 helpful votes
On arrival was a nice clean looking hotel, went to reception and was greeted by Ruth who was very nice and very helpful. Checked in and headed to our room. On approach to our room noticed the floors were very squeaky. Room was very nice & well presented however again flooring was very squeaky. There was not much space in the room for a travel cot which we needed and only place to put it was next to the window. However when i came back to the room at midnight found the heating on and radiator at window on full which was next to the cot. After a night sleep in the bed wouldnt say it wasnt what i was expecting for the price u paid for the rooms and the sheets are that crisp is like lying on newspaper! Shower was amazing and towels were of good quality. Breakfast was average, not much choice of hot food and but was very tasty, staff were brilliant and very helpful. We were here for a family wedding and was a beautiful setting in the wedding venue but make sure you remortgage your house to buy a drink!!! Guessing the hotel owners are forgetting they are in a countryside setting and not upmarket city centre location. £9 a gin and tonic, i then asked for a cheaper alternative and was given a Gordon’s gin and lemonade which just tasted of lemonade at a cost of £6!! Im not a big drinker and after spending over £100 in a night on just gin & lemonade felt completely sober!! I also ordered a bottle of prosecco to our room on the first night for my wife and friend. The bottle only had what make it was and not the taste quality on it so decided to google it and found what the taste quality was and the cost of a bottle from a online shop. On check out i was presented with the bill for the prosecco and could have fallen over it was over 4x the price i could buy it online for. I questioned it and was told it was the set price and should have been told that when ordering. Which i wasnt. On a all staff amazing willing to help everyway possible and very friendly and happy, hotel looks good and love the setting but the rest needs addressed. Had an amazing day for a good friends wedding but wont be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Garry R Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and had an amazing time for your friends wedding. I will share your feedback with the board regarding the pricing of our products as all feedback is welcome. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
s90sem wrote a review Sep 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom49 contributions48 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, easy check in, friendly staff. Food was lovely. Our room (executive suite) was really nice, bed was comfortable and it was spotless. Only downsides was the surprise £20 they asked for upon check out (when booking I asked for a family room and was told for family rooms it is an executive suite with a pull down bed which was fine with us) I was not made aware of any additional charges and I even made a point of asking and was assured there wasn’t, but at check out the woman said I owed an additional £20. When I explained what I was told she replied saying “well you did book a while ago”. Totally not the point and in the end she dropped the extra charge!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear s90sem Thank you very for taking the time to leave a review. Please accept our apologies that you were not informed beforehand for the £20 charge for the extra guest staying in the room, this should have been communicated with you at the time of booking. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel for the wedding and found the team to be so friendly. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iain_Hmfc wrote a review Sep 2022
Barrhead, United Kingdom3 contributions14 helpful votes
Picking a wedding venue, I'd imagine, can be stressful. We had 6 months and time was ticking. There was one reply in the flood of replies that stood out for 2 reasons - 1) we received a reply at almost 10pm at night 2) my name was spelled correctly. I'd like to start my review with The Busbys wedding coordinator Megan. From the moment she answered an email at 10pm at night, and got the spelling of my name correct in her responses, both me and my wife knew we wanted to book with The Busby, the little details count to us. From the get go Megan was interested in our story, accommodating, polite and friendly and so easy to work with, we felt at ease. She used her experience to guide us through everything, keeping in touch in plenty time, and was interested in our day, our colours and our plans. We had several meetings with Megan that made us feel relaxed, but she made us feel excited about our big day. Megan's pleasant, relaxed approach to helping plan our day, to keep us focused and her efficiency is amazing, and she is an unbelievable asset to the Busby and its chain of hotels. Food at The Busby is simply stunning. Full of flavour , fresh produce and is served in plentiful portions. We opted not to have choices for food and served guests soup and haggis bon bons for starters, steak pie mains and sticky toffee pudding and ice cream . Chefs were aware of our dietary requirements and adjustments were made. We had already had a birthday meal at The Busby , again food was stunning and we will return. The bar area is lovely with a great assortment of drinks. It's a contemporary area recently refurbished I believe and it has a great ambience for welcoming day guests. I've mentioned Megan but in fairness my wife and I want to thank all staff we came in contact with at The Busby. From Natalie who was our master of ceremony on the day, to the bar staff who we felt were a part of our guest list. Everyone smiled naturally and othing was forced or too much trouble. Massive shout out to staff member Jack who was up and dancing and having a great time! Our stay in the Honeymoon suite was wonderful! The hottub and swing area is romantic and I live the massive bathroom and tub! The Hotel is super clean, quiet and a touch of class at an affordable price. Our guests loved the experience and stay. We want to thank Team Busby for their hospitality, kindness and warm welcome. If anyone reads this and is wondering about booking their big day at this hotel......make an appointment with Megan. Honestly you will never regret it, we are blown away by everything they did to make our day a success. We will be back for our 1st year anniversary in 2023!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Iain_Hmfc Thank you very much for leaving a 5 star review. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your special day with us and found the whole team especially Megan enhanced your experience of the day. I will share your feedback with the whole team as I know they will be thrilled. Team Busby wish you both a lifetime of health and happiness and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John A wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I was brought up in Busby so thought it would be a good place to return to for a significant birthday celebration. Brilliant decision- I'd forgotten how friendly people are in the west. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a great success. Thank you to everyone. (Maybe the Wi-Fi in the bedrooms could be improved)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear X9903HZjohna Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and found the team to be so friendly. I will share your feedback re the wifi to our IT manager for him to look at. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Busby in the not too distant future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
our wedding was totally amazing honestly there is no words to describe this hotel the staff were amazing from start to finish just perfect thats all i can describe it best place to get married we were stress free the whole day
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear C7330QUstevenr Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your special day so much and found the team looked after you both so well, taking care of all the stresses. team Busby wish you both a lifetime of health and happiness and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne M wrote a review Aug 2022
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom6 contributions
Excellent stay at The Busby while visiting family. Warm, friendly welcome at Reception very much appreciated. Tasty supper. All staff, without exception, attentive and friendly. Had a great night’s sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2022
Dear anneml7301JX Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and found all the team to be so friendly. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leigh B wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Warm and welcoming staff, high quality + clean room. Great water pressure, mattress on the firm side. Best breakfast! Stunning dining room + the fresh pastries and cooked breakfast were sublime. A short distance to the concert on 3.1 miles so a easy 10 min drive. Location, staff, food . Nothing was lacking in this gem of a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Dear Leigh B Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback with the team who will be thrilled. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Hampden. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pgray wrote a review Aug 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom2 contributions
Excellent one night stay, was booked to attend a concert in Glasgow that was cancelled at short notice, hotel was happy to change the dates so we could the stay for another planned trip. Hotel was busy but the staff were excellent from the moment we arrived. Food was lovely, service excellent, the room was clean, modern and very comfortable. We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Busby Hotel, General Manager at Busby Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Dear pgray631 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be so excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
busby hotel glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEast RenfrewshireClarkston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Busby Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Busby Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gifted (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Busby Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Busby Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Busby Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Busby Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Cart, The Cartvale, and Cafe Roma.
Is Busby Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Clarkston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Busby Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Busby Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Busby Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House for an Art Lover (7.9 km), Pollok House (6.2 km), and 1-10 Moray Place (6.3 km).
Is Busby Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.