We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lauder TD2 6RA Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/11/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/11/22
Agoda.com
$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/11/22
eDreams$120
StayForLong
Vio.com$120
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (12)

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Lauder
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a family-run hotel nestled on the edge of the Lammermuir Hills in Lauderdale. We have have 10 individually styled bedrooms and a renowned restaurant serving the very best of local produce all day every day. At Carfraemill, we love to host weddings, parties, family gatherings and business events - we can accommodate small intimate affairs in a cosy private room, to larger events in our award-winning restaurant, country lodge style function room or fabulous marquee. We are truly family-friendly and baby-friendly: whether you bring your little ones to eat, celebrate or stay, we will make them feel extremely welcome so you can enjoy relaxed and happy times at Carfraemill.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
304Reviews1Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 176
  • 75
  • 24
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lorrainec9697 wrote a review 13 Nov
Lauder, United Kingdom20 contributions15 helpful votes
Haven’t been to hotel since it was taken over. Decided to go with family for Sunday lunch. Not busy at all and to be fair, not surprised as the food served up to us very of poor quality and not good value. Sunday roast, advertised as sirloin served pink, was not what was advertised. Literally all of the meal was frozen ingredients, from the frozen Yorkshire pudding, down to the vegetables and roast potatoes. The gravy seemed to be made with gravy granules and certainly wasn’t made with the juices from a roast joint. For £17.95 this is not what you expect to be served. Overpriced and lacking in quality. Prawn cocktail, 0 out if 10 for presentation and my daughters steak and ale pie, thrown onto a plate, lacked finesse. Overall , terrible experience, will not be returning .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura B wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Honestly, I've stayed in worse hotels but what made this stay disappointing was that it didn't match the description on the website. We booked the following package - Dinner, bed and breakfast for just £100 per person per night (based on 2 people sharing), with a bottle of Prosecco for you in your bedroom on arrival. On arrival the fairly new manager told us they would not honour the deal, they didn't do it anymore due to rising costs (it is still available on the website) but they would "do us a deal" which seemed to be no steaks, starter OR pudding - Hmmmm, a heads up before would of been good but it was after 7.30pm and we didn't have much choice but to accept. Not a great start. Our dinner was fine, burger a little overcooked and tough, Sourdough nan breads with the dhal tasted stale but on the whole, OK (and it isn't overpriced to be fair). So on to the room... So the promised flatscreen TV is the side of a box of chocolates, the bed was delightfully squishy but seemed rather small, the chocolates and promised sherry were AWOL, I attach a photo of the "views out into the surrounding Borders landscape", it's a flat tin roof complete with rotten window sill. Breakfast tasty enough and thanks for the laugh, when we asked for the first cold coffee to be replaced the comedy tut and sigh as you left the room were priceless, coming back to tell me it wasn't cold added to the hilarity. I see the hotel is under newish ownership and it isn't the Carfraemill of old sadly. We were left pretty flat by our anniversary break away and won't return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adele R wrote a review Jun 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom23 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Sadly this hotel does not match the good reviews which on closer inspection refer to the restaurant rather than the rooms. To be fair the restaurant, the staff and the food were excellent. What a shame about the room. The bed was broken, springs in the top corner had collapsed so I spent half the night trying not to fall out! Paper peeling off the walls, broken tiles on the bathroom floor and a pice of tape covering where, I assume, a hoook had once been on the back of the bathroom door and rotting window frames and a head board that was faded and grubby. The promised 50% refund has never materialised and when challenged I was told that I should not expect 5*. I expect better from the most basic B&B. very, very disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Shell M wrote a review Mar 2022
Lower Largo,29 contributions9 helpful votes
Stopped here on way home and glad we did. Fantastic lunch. Chicken Schnitzel and venison burger followed by crème brûlée and lemon tart. Every bit of the food was marvellous. The service was fantastic and the lady who served us was very friendly and helpful. Might have stopped in just in passing this time but would definitely come out our way to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rodger wrote a review Feb 2022
Kelso, United Kingdom1 contribution
Just dropped in for lunch on way from Edinburgh to Kelso. Ideal halfway point for a coffee, lunch or dinner. Had fantastic meal from extensive menu, which was beautifully cooked and prepared. Very warm welcome from friendly staff and dog friendly too! Cannot recommend too highly
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brodie C wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed for 1 night on Saturday 19th of February in room 3, we had a small dog with us too as we were informed it was a ‘dog friendly’ hotel apparently (see later in review). Firstly, the room was very basic and run down, in desperate need of a makeover and some maintenance. For £110 per night you’d expect a lot more in terms of luxury/standards. The bathroom was stinking of mould/dampness and as I said, needed some work done for sure. When we checked in, we were shown to our room by presumably the ‘manager’ (if you can call her that), it’s difficult to tell as no staff wear name badges. She wasn’t the happiest and was a women of few words, she informed us that the dog wasn’t allowed on the bed (which is fine, he doesn’t get on the bed anyway). Later on we ordered room service and ordered food only, the food was Wetherspoons standard at best and I wouldn’t recommend it at all. When ordering the food at the bar my partner was told that she could add it to the card that we booked the room with, which is standard in most hotels these days now that society is going cashless. In the morning after a very poor breakfast, we went to leave (thinking we were good to go), rudely the same woman that showed us to the room (tall blonde ‘manager’) asked rudely if we were going to pay our food bill from last night. We said that we thought we’d paid it as we were told by the barman last night that we could just bill it to the card we booked the stay with. She explained, this wasn’t the case so we had to pay Cash (thankfully we had some money in the car). She manager said “aww he’s a 17 year old boy” (the bar man last night), my question is 1, why is a 17 year old working behind a bar serving alcohol (he offered us a drink) and 2, why is she putting him down because of his age? As a manager in the leisure industry some of my best staff are young guys and girls. The ‘manager’ also said “that’s not my problem” (that the card couldn’t be billed) and she also accused my partner of being a liar saying “no they never said that last night”. Breakfast - undercooked streaked bacon, I have never seen streaky bacon used on an English breakfast, it’s usually back bacon. Sausages we clearly poor quality/cheap and the haggis was awful. Overall so greasy. Dog Friendly - well it isn’t, you’re made to feel different because you have a dog with you. No bowl or any provisions for the dog, yet an extra charge for taking one. Food - low quality cheap food, chips are horrible thick cut and the rest of the food just screamed Wetherspoons microwave. Shame, used to be good here, this was our 3rd or 4th time here as a couple and also staying as a family a few times. We’ll never be back, has it been taken over? PLEASE reconsider before booking, lots of lovely hotels close by in Gala etc.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
djbP3587GU wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The food in the restaurant/bar here is good quality pub food. The room we stayed in was a bit tired though. Clean enough but very old fashioned décor and furnishings. The en-suite bathroom was lovely and warm with the radiator on and the towels were soft and fluffy but there was nowhere to put your clothes when you were in the shower (other than a hook on the back of the door). Breakfast was great with lots of choices and the woman serving us was very friendly. Overall though, we felt this was overpriced for what it was and will not stay again though we would eat at the restaurant again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
c_mcgee362 wrote a review Oct 2021
Melrose, United Kingdom9 contributions28 helpful votes
Went to The Lodge today for the first time since the change in owners. Not great the 2 burgers on the order came raw in the middle and the fish batter was greasy and couldn’t be eaten. The Lodge was famous for their meringues for dessert, not any more sadly. Only upside was the company and the polite young lad who served us
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Fee66 wrote a review Oct 2021
Falkirk, United Kingdom76 contributions69 helpful votes
Had a lovely lunch. We both had the Cullen Skink which was delicious. Glad only ordered the small haddock and chips as more than enough. Would definitely return again when passing. Lady who served us was lovely. Could not fault anything and would recommend a visit. .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karen B wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked a Traditional Sunday Lunch and travelled over an hour - on arrival we were presented with a standard menu - on request for the Sunday lunch menu we were advised that it was not available despite being advised earlier that day that it was we were shocked to say the least. Because we were hungry we decided to order from the menu but sadly both the service and quality of food were very poor. We had previously had a fabulous meal at the hotel sadly we wont be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We didnt stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lodge at carfraemill hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersLauder
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARFRAEMILL (Lauder) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Carfraemill
What are some of the property amenities at Carfraemill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Carfraemill?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Carfraemill?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Carfraemill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Carfraemill offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Is Carfraemill accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.