We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Westin St. John Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin St. John Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westin St. John Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,601: English reviews
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were day visitors as we were staying elsewhere on the island in the US Virgin Islands with family. The USVI is the American Caribbean so not well known to UK people. We checked with the pool waitressif it was Ok to be there and were immediately made welcome. With a credit card deposited we were able to order drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for sharing your perspective with us. We were delighted to hear that although you and your family only spent a day at The Westin St. John, that it was a day to remember! From our delicious food and great pool to our instinctive staff and beautiful beach, we were thrilled to hear you enjoyed...

andover ma
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our first trip to St. John, which was a beautiful beach island,a small town center, no big chain stores, great small restaurants, low key and friendly, safe. We had a hotel room at the Westin, short walk to their great pool and small, man made beach. Beds were comfortable as promised. Only complaint was that outdoor floodlight shone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelcouple97
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and for posting it to Trip Advisor! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of The Westin St. John, and that your recent stay was a successful one. While we were glad to hear that your room was clean and your Heavenly bed was comfortable, we were disappointed to learn...

East Lyme, CT
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Westin on St. John is not what one would expect from a Westin. The first time we went, we stayed in a hotel room that was ok. We own a week in the hillside villas and that's where we stayed on our trip there last week. I was disappointed. We pay over $3k a year in maintenance fees for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veronica C
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 April 2012

While St. John is a must see paradise, the Westin is a disappointment. Our ocean view room looked out over a parking lot/basketball court. Annoyed by the sound of young ones running and yelling outside our room we asked for the starwoods preferred guest upgrade. Though we were denied the first day, Jeff was able to find us a room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jon G
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to voice your experience during your recent stay at The Westin St. John Resort & Villas. Your experience at The Westin St. John should have been a transition between the stress of travel to an environment where you can relax and refresh yourself to be at your best. Clearly this did not...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We got off to a little 'rocky' start. First, everyone should realize the only way to St John is by boat, and we arranged to get picked up by the Westin ferry. We were the only passengers, and when one of the engines on the ferry went, in quite choppy seas, it was a little longer and bumpier ride than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and for sharing it with all of us here on Trip Advisor! We were very disappointed to hear of your rocky start and that your experience on our ferry transfer was not comfortable or ideal. We were also disappointed to hear of the service you received at the Front Desk. We truly value you as a...

Boston
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Westin grounds are beautiful, peaceful, well kept and private, however, I cannot say the same thing about the rooms at The Westin. Rooms: The rooms are very dated and in major need of an upgrade. Our room was a beachfront room. I'll give the hotel some credit for the room location, it literally was 2 steps from the beach....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJFigs
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay and I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. While it sounds as though you found certain aspects renewing, like our gorgeous property, our private beach, and our on-site Watersports company, it appears we did not exceed your expectations in all areas. Your thoughts are very...

LBI
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Let me start by saying that my family LOVES St. John. We also love the Westin, however, we just got back from our trip on the 14th and were a little disappointed at the Westin's management. The Westin is supposed to be a smoke-free property except for the smoking area that they have designated over by the deli, club, sales...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie S
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for posting your review regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. We were thrilled to hear that you love returning to both our island and our property! We strive to provide you with a personal and renewing service and I am so glad that you find this to be true this year after year. However,...

Midland
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My daughter, Claire, husband and I stayed at the resort for 6 nights, 5 days. We took the 1 day chartered catamaran trip and had a FABULOUS time. Kimberly was AWESOME not only as one of the knowledgeable crew, but went ABOVE AND BEYOND making our daughter comfortable snorkeling for the first time! She sensed her apprehension, took complete control...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

We loved hearing about your wonderful experience with Cruz Bay Watersports so thank you for sharing it with us on Trip Advisor! Cruz Bay Watersports is truly an asset to the success of The Westin St. John and we were so proud to read that Kimberly went above and beyond to show you and your family a great time. I...

Reviewed 13 April 2012

The new Bay Vista condos is the way to go!! We had a two level two bedroom spacious condo which slept 10 easily with full view of beautiful Cruz Bay. Anything you want to do is here. We rented a 29 foot Fountain speed boat with or without a captain, rented snorkel equipment right at the dock. St John has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George G
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your perspective regarding your recent stay with us at The Westin St. John. It was a delight to read about your family’s experience with us and how much you truly enjoyed our beautiful resort. Both the Bay Vista Villas and Zozo’s are amazing! My favorite part of your review was that your kids chose us over...

Houston Texas
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I'm sorry to say this is the First Westin were sitting in our 1 bedroom suite I had to remind myself I was not sitting in a Days Inn or Compfort Inn. If you go the Villas are the updated cool ones, however I believe they are all timeshares. I am not a fan of "Island Time" when it is...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mark H
Cyndal R, Administrative Assistant to The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and suggestions regarding future renovations and also the Customer Service you received during your stay with us. We are currently evaluating future renovations and your feedback is greatly appreciated in order to help make that...

1,523 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (250)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (445)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Poolside room (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.2 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
424 reviews
7.0 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.2 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
603 reviews
6.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
862 reviews
1.6 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort, makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Price Range: ₹ 29,993 - ₹ 96,785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“tip: you can rent directly from owners and possibly get more space for your $$$. check local villa rental listings.”
 of 5 bubbles Soulardstl, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and not at all crowded. Very relaxing and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles stovall1305, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I loved the Coral Vista Villas because they were close to everything I needed. I was on the ground floor and was pleased with it.”
 of 5 bubbles GinOaklandCA, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If I stayed here again I would not want to be on the ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles yanzkc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They do not honor requests for a particular type of room or one with a view!”
  • the villa pool was dirty & only had 2 ft of water in it
  • lots of furniture had stains & rips
  • deep hammock-like dents on both sides of mattress
  • torn stitching & ugly stain on side of mattress
  • the worst
 of 5 bubbles ElleN350, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay