We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 254: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Difficult to book over phone with head office. Impossible to get message across even by spelling the name Merthyr Tydfil. Eventually called to hotel but could only book for one night at a time with reception. Most frustrating following a long journey! Room was clean and comfortable. Difficult to figure out the workings of the shower without instructions. Only 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Educoshaun
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to learn of the trouble you experienced during your booking journey. Please be aware you can make bookings via our website as opposed to calling. However, we're pleased you enjoyed clean, comfortable accommodation. Your comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for taking the time for reviewing our hotel.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

brilliant location everything walking distance, On a leisure village comprising leaisure centre with swimming pool. Sub way ,Mcdonalds. Frankie and Bennys . Harvester , Nandos ,Oriental garden Chinese ,Marstons Dragon Fly pub ,Bowling and leasure complex with lazer quest. 5 mins walk town centre

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colin1111
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was filthy. Crumbs and hairs on the headboard light shelf. Dirty ring marks on the shelf next to the bed. Dust encrusted toilet roll holder. Dust and dirt against every skirting board on the carpets. Generally disgustingly dirty. Stank of that cheesy bleach smell you get when you keep using the same cleaning cloth.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMadoc
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Merthyr Tydfil Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience, however we are pleased to see you have contacted us directly on our Social Media pages and your stay is currently being investigated directly with the hotel team. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was OK but at 1am run Ed by 2rooms off drunk teenagers setting alarms off, and letting large groups of friends in, and and to top it off a very young night Porter totally unable to deal with situation, end result totally unacceptable rowdy guests allowed to stay and make more notice till after 3am, non guests removed,,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Great experience at this hotel, stayed here for 3 nights, staff were great, from checking us in to the cleaners to the girl who checked us out. nothing was too much trouble, room was huge, we had a great room on 2nd floor at the front of the hotel. No food at this hotel (apart from a breakfast box which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found the staff to be helpful and friendly during your stay.Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we do hope you will...

Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Slept on a put me up bed in a family room and I'm still looking for my spine! The beds were so uncomfortable I think it's a form of torture to make a child's sleep on a bed like this. We were in room two on the ground floor, the room itself seemed too small for a family room. So...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S5Maddock
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Very basic room , clean . Lacking furniture i.e armchair, to sit in, you have to sit on bed. no draws for small clothing , no bedside table & no wardrobe just hangers on a small rail. Ok for one night Friendly & helpful staff

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiesF8318CI
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We're sincerely sorry to learn that you were not positively impressed with the set-up of your accommodation. However, we're pleased you encountered friendly, helpful staff members. We will most certainly pass a copy of your feedback onto the relevant teams and thank you again for taking the time to leave us your experience.

London
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in November 2016 as I had an early business meeting in Merthyr - this seemed the best of a poor selection of hotels in the town. It was a case of 'needs must' and I can't really say it exceeded expectations... The receptionist - when they arrived - promised to put me in a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jebndelorus
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low however we understand your frustrations. Your...

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Parking was a nightmare with a warning from staff you will get £100 fine if you park in the wrong bay or in a white line and the car par had local cars booming out music until 2am ish we all paid different rates for rooms?

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrCustomer216
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and we will notify the hotel of your comments.Thank you once again and we do hope you...

Reviewed 23 November 2016

I normally stay here when working in the area, however a mate and myself decided to stay here for bike park wales, on autopilot mode I booked a double room, when we got to the hotel, the guy said double room for 2 nights, and I went red, and explained id booked it by mistake, he offered to move us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkGa1971

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
298 reviews
1.3 km away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
109 reviews
5.0 km away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
119 reviews
10.8 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
684 reviews
26.0 km away
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Address: Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil 1.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Merthyr Tydfil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor at front”
 of 5 bubbles L2859WBpeters, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if with a bike (although there is a lift)”
 of 5 bubbles MarkGa1971, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at the back. When we were there the leisure park was not too busy, so not sure what rooms would be like at front.”
 of 5 bubbles 685margb, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles weloveholidays007, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are suitable - only 2 floors.”
 of 5 bubbles dizziebabe, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay