We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

912 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 906: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked Sugar Bay Resort online and stayed there 1/11/17-1/15/17, I paid $399 per night. The property was in disrepair with one pool closed/under construction. Broken glass on doors, bad customer service and staff are not trusted enough to take cash for drinks. I spoke to the manager on duty (Chris) who moved me and my quest to a "better"...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stevetravelsoften
Oneonta, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I honeymooned at Sugar Bay in 1992 when it first opened. It was amazing then and even more so now, (like my wife). It sits on the west end of the island with beautiful views of St. John and the BVI. Make sure you book an Ocean View room, you will not regret it. The main entrance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dshearer2017
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear dshearer2017, Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a detailed review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your continued patronage of our resort and thank you for selecting us again for your family vacation. Your review has been shared with our executive leadership team and we appreciate you mentioning Ramon, Michelle,...

Peabody, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

While sugar bay resort is not a 5 star place, we certainly had an awesome time while we were staying there! We have traveled all over the caribbean and feel like it is give and take for each and every place we go... the staff here was so friendly and accommodating and you could see every day they were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLobel
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JLobel, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments regarding staff service, food & beverage, as well as location. We are delighted to hear tat you had a wonderful time with us and were able to take advantage of our All-Inclusive offerings. It's...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I needed to "run away from home" and escape from being an adult for a few days and I found myself here. The staff was delightful, the food pretty good, and the drinks...DELISH!!! I enjoyed it SO much, I've been back two more times! It's convenient to Sapphire Bay Resort, where you can catch a sail boat/snorkeling excursion for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nicole S, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable 3rd return visit to our resort! We have passed along your positive comments regarding our team members, food & beverage, and facilities. Yes, the ocean views from...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Sugar Bay Resort to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Our partial ocean view room was amazing as it was very large with a nice sitting area and very large bathroom. As well it had a nice balcony with a great view and chairs. The pool area and lunch restaurants are down about 100...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Steve I, Thank you for your taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments regarding the views, pool area, restaurants and location. We have shared your feedback with our executive leadership team and are delighted to hear that you had a great vacation with us. Thank...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the very beginning just landing in the airport I was surprise of the place, people very polite and nice. I was there December 2016 and the service was flawless people were friendly and sooo helpful. I was at that resort many years ago, now I am surprise of the Japanese Restaurant Shima witch has an excellent food also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luchita01
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ms.Richter, Thank you for taking the time to write and post his review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved your vacation time with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding staff service, our Japanese Restaurant SHIMA, and our food . Your positive feedback has been shared with our team. Thank you for selecting us for...

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Escaped from the windy city but from our understanding there are heavy winds from January to April causing certain activities to be placed on hold (snuba/parasailing/kayaking/paddle boarding). Celebrating our honeymoon and did some looking around but this all-inclusive definitely took us for its' great accommodations(all drinks/meals and late night menu from 10PM-12AM; wifi works great in the lobby buy non-existent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joem_892013
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear joem_892013, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful Honeymoon with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding out food & beverage area. Your comments regarding food taste and qualiy have been shared with the highest levels of...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived and had a fabulous 5 days then we had cock roaches in our room, we swapped 3 rooms all having the same problem and then saw rats in the poolside barbarcue area. When we told the lady cooking she was more concerned that they may be in her bag but then went on cooking. We informed Environmental Health...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lettsbegin
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lettsbegin, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review to TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We apologize for all of the inconveniences that you experienced with us and your feedback has been shared with the highest levels of management as we do not take...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The resort is absolutely the best in St Thomas Virgin Islands. During a business trip which was extended to a personal trip we decided to always stay at Sugar Bay Resort and Spa. The spa is incredible. Mark did wonders on my tension. The staff (Tina, Cora, Shirley, Swayne, Lois, Maurice, Phyllis, front desk, etc) are highly professional and courteous!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaishatu
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lettsbegin, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful business trip with us and are glad that you also got to have some personal time here as well. We appreciate you recognizing Mark from the spa, Tina,...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having visited several Caribbean all inclusive resorts over the last few years, both my wife and I were unimpressed with most of Sugar Bay, especially as we had opted for the "All Inclusive" option when booking. I'll start with the highlights: We had an ocean front room that had the most impressive view of any resort we've ever stayed in....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crallred
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear crallred, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding our team member service, recreational facilities and offerings, as well as food & beverage. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and we have shared your feedback with the highest levels of executive...

1,449 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1066)
Viewed
View from Room (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (184)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (161)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (419)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (362)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Beach Pool (23)
Viewed
Garden Plus Room (29)
Viewed
Interior Pool (26)
Viewed
Oceanview Room (34)
Viewed
Oceanview Suite (40)
Viewed
Premium Oceanview Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
3.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
6.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
909 reviews
5.1 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,147 reviews
0.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802-1350, St. Thomas (Formerly Dreams Sugar Bay)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Price Range: ₹ 26,763 - ₹ 34,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
230 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (230)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Stevetravelsoften, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View only. Spend the extra few dollars, it is worth it.”
  • View looking east from Gazebo
  • View from balcony
 of 5 bubbles dshearer2017, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room had a full ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Luchita01, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front are the only rooms to have”
 of 5 bubbles crallred, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 340 to 350, 240 to 250 rooms are right on the cliff over looking the water - like a post card”
 of 5 bubbles 481tamarap, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay