We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Iguana Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 407: English reviews
New York
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We wanted a place to spend our first and last nights in Charlotte Amalie convenient to STT airport as bookends to a sailing charter and stay on St. John. The Green Iguana Hotel was perfect! Gwen & John, the resident managers do a great job of looking after the place and all of the guests needs. They were both a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen M
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Just 3.5 miles from St Thomas airport (STT), we are convenient for overnight stays coming into and leaving the Virgin Islands. The Marine Terminal is just down the street and the ferry to St. John Island just down the Historic 99 Steps make it convenient for you to get to anywhere in the Caribbean! Steps Streets like the 99 Steps...

Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We stayed at the Green Iguana for 1 night before beginning a cruise. I had read reviews online and I thought it might work for 1 night. I still can't believe the 'service' that the resident managers Gwen and John provide! The hotel is right next to Blackbeard's Castle up on the hill overlooking Charlotte Amalie. You can walk down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julieW6016UW
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are still envious of you and the small cruise ship you were on! That would be a great vacation for us! Thank you so much for your kind review. John and I love being the managers AND caretakers of The Green Iguana Hotel! We do our best to keep the rooms clean and the gardens free of nesting spots...

Reviewed 16 March 2016

What a fun, funky little hotel in a terrific location for walking downtown. We stayed here one night on our return trip from BVI because we didn't want to risk missing our flight the next morning. Wanted something reasonably priced, without a two-night minimum, and close enough to town that we could walk for dinner, etc. - the Green Iguana...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank robinlamp
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

I think you are the only one to refer to us as "funky" but I like it! When you are on the first morning flight out, you have to be on St. Thomas to make it through the airport in time. We understand this and do offer single night stays, although we hope on your next visit you will add...

Texas
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Gwen and John manage and maintain this property and are the best folks you'll ever meet. The location provides a beautiful view of the Bay, Frenchtown and Hassel Island. Just a few minutes drive away is the Green Room located on the bay. John and Gwen turned us on to this place, FANTASTIC seafood with great service and atmosphere!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis P
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

The Green HOUSE in Charlotte Amalie is actually only 7 minutes to walk for those who are not renting a vehicle. I remember our first night on St. Thomas when it was recommended we "start" at The Green House. It has been a favorite of ours for 15 years! No matter what you have the taste for dinner-wise, we can...

Allenhurst, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 March 2016

My Boyfriend and I were on our way home from St. Croix where we had a quick layover on St. Thomas. The staff from our first flight misplaced one of our luggage tags which held us up at the airport just long enough to miss our connecting flight home. With no other option available, Cape Air found us a vacant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

What can I say other than Thank You! You were so distraught when you arrived, however you did relax and put your worries behind you for a little while! Aren't the local food trucks awesome? They have "Food Truck Night" occasionally in Town, you get to sample local dishes like Salt Fish Pate' and Rotti, not to mention some of...

Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We needed a one night stay before leaving for a charter vacation. This was a nice stay; walking distance to downtown, clean rooms. John and Gwen (managers) were friendly and responsive. The rates are very reasonable. I noticed that they had beach towels, chairs, water toys and sunscreen for guests to use.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene607
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

When your flight arrives after the last ferry departs, we enjoy providing travelers a homey place to relax! We do have beach things available for Guests to borrow! Chairs, Coolers, Floaties, towels, we even have snorkel gear you can check out in the office. We have a "free-cycle" table as well, supplied by Guests who have left over sunscreen, and...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We selected this hotel sight unseen and we were pleasantly surprised - the rooms were very nice, spacious and some had small kitchens. The hotel managers were very helpful, friendly, accommodating and approachable- a little bit like a bed and breakfast without the breakfast! They arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport and were willing to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wtstanf
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Green Iguana Hotel! My husband John describes the Hotel as we live in this really big 10 bedroom house/villa and you get your own private bed and bath! It is a quiet little property, easy to get to from air or sea. I have to admit, the relationship with the taxi...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 28 February 2016

For our short stay we did not need lots of amenities, just a nice place to stay overnight. Green Iguana fit the bill.Hosts were very gracious, and its a short easy walk downhill to hill town, a short cab ride back if you tired from exploring town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joe S
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

When you are transitioning from home to your vacation destination, you sometimes need a stop over night somewhere! We are happy to fill that bill for you! We trust that you slept well and were ready to continue your Caribbean Adventure refreshed! We hope to see you again next winter!

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Stayed for the first time this February for 1 night before hopping the ferry to Tortola BVI and stayed 2 nights on the return trip. Very simple rooms but clean rooms and the hosts were great and very easy going. The birds in the garden were beautiful! Would stay here again. It is away from the busy part of town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francesca f
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Did you see the turtles and iguanas too? They love to stop in for a drink of water we leave for them in the gardens. The little bananaquits often wait by the office door for John to open up in the morning and bring them sugar! And the hummingbirds! They aren't shy like North American hummingbirds I've seen and fed!...

Caledon, Canada
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We stayed at the hotel for one night layover until we moved on to the BVI. The management was friendly and always responded to email enquiries and supplied information as requested. The hotel is not modern but rooms are adequate, include a/c, satellite tv, coffee maker, mini fridge, coffee, etc. The issue we had was simpl due to noise. Quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnDWong
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry your stay wasn't all you wished for. I don't remember what the celebration was while you where here, but it is usually pretty quiet, especially at night. We are constantly working to upgrade the rooms to make your stay comfortable. The roosters are island birds and we can't do anything about them, however!! Thank you for...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.9 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
682 reviews
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
555 reviews
4.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
418 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 8,139 - ₹ 12,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the H block rooms they were up higher, super view!!!!”
864lisaf, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ours had a great view - it's a small place and Gwen will tell you all you need to know when booking.”
LizzyP12345, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views are the lofts but if you want a balcony go with H1 and H2!”
Q7981QGpamb, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room list for availability, size, location within the hotel's A and H buildings to book yours in advance.”
WilliamL809, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved room H1; beautiful outdoor terrace with lounge chairs. Perfect for sundowners. Big kingsize bed and cream,/white color palette.”
R9959YXvickym, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5