We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Had a wonderful stay, great location, with beautiful views. Fun walk down to the Festival downtown,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill R
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Wasn't Carnival FUN! So many activities just a short walk from The Green Iguana Hotel! This was the island's 60th Carnival Celebration! You will be able to reminisce this fall as MTV's Real World cast was in the Adult Parade!

Southern California
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Not as expensive as a resort, although things ARE expensive in the Virgin Islands, in general. We like getting away from the chain hotels and restaurants - if you are traveling somewhere different, why stay in or eat at a place that you might find in your home town??!! Room was nicely decorated and included a full kitchen. AC was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SoCalGal52
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for saying "we are not a resort!" We feel we have more to offer than the 'resorts' do! We are close to town, and to beaches all over the island. John and I enjoy finding "the Mom and Pops" when travel and strive to be just that. The Island Charm of The Green Iguana Hotel is what drew...

Pensacola
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here bookending a week's stay on Virgin Gorda. We really enjoyed the effort that Gwen and John put into making us feel comfortable. We walked back and forth to all the stores on Main Street and the attractions on the waterfront with little difficulty. We did find that the cabbies were not eager to take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank woodmac
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to your return visit! We apologize that the luvered blinds were not room darkening enough for you to be able to sleep in before your travels. Request Guest Room H1 when you return. There is a curtain on the balcony to help block the sunlight! Thank you for staying with us!

Loveland, Colorado
Reviewed 1 May 2012

In our initial contact with the Green Iguana, Gwen asked repeated if there was anything else that she could do to help us. We had read about a bicycling opportunity on Water Island; Gwen immediately sent St. Thomas taxi rates, ferry schedules and information about the biking tour. Upon our arrival she brought out additional information that she had gleened...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim L
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We learn from our guests! Making contact with Water Island Adventures for you was our pleasure! We are so glad you enjoyed your bicycle adventure!

Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Unfortunately we only enjoyed one night at the Green Iguana which was on our way back home from a sailing trip in the British Virgin Islands. The room was quaint and very clean. Loved the balcony off our room which was delightful as we were able to watch a green iguana perched in a fig tree bask in the sunlight....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SueSails2
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Igor (the iguana), John and I enjoyed your stay as well! We don't mind one nighters such as yourself! Since we are close to the ferry that takes you to St. John, Tortola and the other Caribbean Islands, we are happy you chose us! We hope to see you again for your next Caribbean Adventure!

Houston
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Gwen and John were the perfect Hosts. Nothing was ever a problem. I was in USVI on business, working in the day, and enjoyed the homely atmosphere come evening time. The office was a hive of activity, and I thoughly enjoyed the chatting with both guests and Hosts John and Gwen. This is the best place I have stayed in....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith504
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We wish that your business brings you to St. Thomas much more often! You came as a guest and left as a friend!

NH
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hi Gwen & John! We loved our one night stay and would stay again! We felt very welcomed and at home. We were able to easily walk downtown and walk next door to take the tour of Blackbeard's Castle! We loved being able to come down and just chit chat a bit, ask questions about restaurants etc. Greenhouse and Glady's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elainejeanNh
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you and to chat with you! You had a room with a great balcony! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!

Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We ended a sailing vacation in the BVI by staying here prior to our flight home. We found the room very clean, bright, and quiet. John and Gwen were very helpful in directing us to the local sites. The hotel is located in a convenient area for restaurants, shopping and site seeing. The rate was reasonable and we hope to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen F
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

The best thing about Trip Advisor is Guest do get to make candid reviews. Since the Hotel hired new resident managers in January of 2012, please consider coming back for another stay. We hope you will notice a difference in the rooms and the amenities!

Florida
Reviewed 23 April 2012

When there are rooms available, I prefer to stay here as it is quiet and the internet works well. John and Gwen are a delight. Being I am there for business, I generally do not spend much time during the day on the property, but upon returning, John and Gwen are always there with a friendly smile. As has been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seawaterdiver
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the work you do on St. Thomas! We welcome business travelers! We are centrally located, making it easy to do business on the Island!

Portland
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here on our first night in the islands. Booked it on a whim and were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean, hotel quiet, and the hosts were great. It was much more affordable than many other places in Charlotte Amalie and had everything we were looking for plus being up on the hill gave us a fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emily w
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, John and I are reflecting on our 4 years here and saw your review just now! We haven't changed, much, in our 4 years as manager/caretakers. We have refreshed every Guest room in the hotel and have reclaimed much of the beautiful gardens, a work in progress! We hope you will return soon and see all we have accomplished!...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
514 reviews
3.6 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
318 reviews
0.6 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
676 reviews
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 10,582 - ₹ 16,985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can choose your room on the website”
 of 5 bubbles seagirl2014, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a balcony. But other rooms have wonderful views too.”
  • View from balcony of Room H2.
 of 5 bubbles stephenmL6220GF, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the beds were great! Don't know what kind of mattress, but had a great sleep!”
  • sun rise from our balcony
  • from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles francescaf356, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call Gwen direct- she'll get you set with a custom fit room!!”
  • The lovely walk to our room..
 of 5 bubbles carrieb767, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call and talk to Gwen and she will make things perfect for you!”
 of 5 bubbles dondada365, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay