We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Iguana Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights while on St. Thomas during our 10-day honeymoon. We couldn't have picked a better place on St. Thomas to stay!! The rooms were spotless, very comfortable, and the view was amazing from our deck. When we got there, John and Gwen immediately made us feel at home by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BiruG
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We like to think of Guest Room H2 as the best we have to offer! It was the first room John and I stayed in on our first visit to St. Thomas in 2001! We are happy you enjoyed the room and the balcony as much as we did! (Although ALL rooms have the same great view, just from different...

Buena Vista, CO
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a great stay on our stop over in St. Thomas. John welcomed us at our late night arrival and made sure our large family had everything we needed. The location provided easy walking access to downtown, which was perfect for us, but not close to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astroknot
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We love family celebrations and were happy to have had room for yours! The walk to town is a beautiful stroll through the Historic District of Charlotte Amalie and there are many great restaurants within that walk, not to mention the duty-free shops and numerous activities! Since there are so many beaches to choose from, many of our guests enjoy...

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It all started with an idea: To celebrate my friend's B'Day in a different way. It ended up being the BEST Vacation I've ever had, from the minute we decided on the place (US Virgin Islands) and choose "The Green Iguana" as where to stay, to our last night in the Islands... As soon as we arrived, it was clear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMAS1976
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are amazed that two people who work at an all inclusive resort enjoyed this little boutique hotel so much! You had so much fun! We love celebrations of all types, birthdays included! We are happy to have been at your service and hope you will celebrate many occations with us in the future!

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I found this hotel at the St. Thomas airport hotel info kiosk. I was mainly looking for a clean, quiet and air conditioned place at a reasonable price. The Green Iguana fit the bill. The place was not sexy or luxurious... but it was nice, quiet, well equipped, very comfortable, and well located (10 minutes' walk down hill to town...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank readandshare
Management response:

We are so thrilled you found us! Remember you can DRIVE up to the Hotel as well as walk! We have plenty of FREE Off Street Parking just outside our entry door! However the 99 Steps must be climbed, at least once! We really enjoyed your stay with us! We have learned so much about travel from you! What amazing...

Florida
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked room H-2 for two nights. We loved that we could walk down 99 steps to eat and shop without going broke taking taxis! It was a bit on the noisy side in the mornings because of roosters and dogs (as other reviewers mentioned), not the fault of Gwen and John of course, who are wonderful hosts; very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMPMINFLA
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us! We enjoyed having you stay with us! I make it no secret that H2 is my favorite room, mainly due to the great balcony! The view is AMAZING! As guests (before we became Resident Managers") we ALWAYS stayed in H2 for our yearly trips to STT. We are looking forward to your return visit!

Laurel, Maryland
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We went off the beaten path (our group stayed at Windward) because we wanted to see a little bit more of the island. Wow! We definitely got a more beautiful and twice as much fun experience. Gwen and John were really nice and the place was exactly what we needed to begin our vacation. If we make it back with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda U
Management response:

Thanks for the wonderful comments Amanda! We are happy to hear your Caribbean Adventure, and your time on St. Thomas, was memorable, in the best way possible! Next time you venture off to Virgin Gorda or one of the other BVI's, you must take a few extra days to enjoy St. Thomas!

Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were so pleased we found this local hotel at the top of the 99 steps. Our extended family of 10 felt quite at home with the welcome provided by Gwen and John. The area was quiet and the parking was great. Thanks for making our short stay on St. Thomas memorable. Gwen made us so comfortable we were not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen A
Management response:

Karen your entire family is so nice! We are happy you found us too! Booking a one night stay on St. Thomas for a large party such as yours can be exasperating! We try our very best to accommodate parties of all sizes! The Historic 99 Steps is a nice walk even if you have a rental car! Parking right...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We loved the Green Iguana! We were married at Magen's Bay and stayed at the Green Iguana a few days before and after going to St John. The grounds were lovely and the hotel is very quiet with a beautiful view. For our wedding, Gwen recommended someone to do my hair and she recommended a great photographer who took several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia M
Management response:

P&P.....we were excited to help in every way possible for your Wedding-Moon! Ms. Dawson does a wonderful job decorating the beach for a ceremony! You both were so excited to become married! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of it! Now, can we be a part of your anniversary celebrations too? Best wishes for a long and...

Alexandria, VA
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Green Iguana is a great place to stay!! From the friendly welcome and local info that Gwen & John provide, to the great view from Blackbeard's Hill; Green Iguana is excellent. The bed was comfy and the AC worked great. It was also nice to have in-room coffee and a microwave. We also appreciated that the hotel can provide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug H
Management response:

John and I were happy your stay was so comfortable! Being "up" on Blackbeard's Hill is a nice buffer from the hustle and bustle of Town (Charlotte Amalie)! But it IS fun to go to Town to people watch, isn't it?! We are looking forward to your next visit! Safe Travels!

Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Gwen & John were very friendly and helpful in booking the hotel and getting us from the jungles of St. John at Maho Bay back to civilization! We loved the view, the A/C and the clean and fresh feeling of the room. The place is beautifully landscaped. The flowers in the room were a nice touch. We were close enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori W
Management response:

We are happy you were able to unwind before heading back to the real civilization of the States! The flowers were from our gardens! We love to put them in the rooms and share will our Guests! We are so happy you had a 'nice find' on your Caribbean Adventure!

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.9 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
676 reviews
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
549 reviews
4.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
414 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 10,935 - ₹ 12,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the H block rooms they were up higher, super view!!!!”
864lisaf, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ours had a great view - it's a small place and Gwen will tell you all you need to know when booking.”
LizzyP12345, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views are the lofts but if you want a balcony go with H1 and H2!”
Q7981QGpamb, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room list for availability, size, location within the hotel's A and H buildings to book yours in advance.”
WilliamL809, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved room H1; beautiful outdoor terrace with lounge chairs. Perfect for sundowners. Big kingsize bed and cream,/white color palette.”
R9959YXvickym, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5