We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This nine-room gem of a hotel sits atop a hill overlooking the city of Charlotte Amalie, and room H-2 provided my view of this very walkable city. Gwen and John were great hosts pointing me in the directions of wonderful places to eat. I liked this so much, I stopped by on my way out of the Virgin Islands to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimi B
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us and thank you for stopping in on your way off island as well! You are welcome anytime! H2 is my favorite room too! I love the view from the balcony and the bright cheerfulness of the room! Please do come back soon Jimi! We look forward to seeing you!

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here for business in January 2013. I had four rooms for me and my co-workers (all in A building) for two weeks. John and Gwen went out of their way to make us feel welcome and accommodated all of our special requests. I travel extensively for work and this is one of the best experiences I've ever had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scrappy56
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We love the posts about the Island's History your collegues share on our Facebook page! AND our free wi-fi makes it easy for business travelers to keep in touch with the home office any where in the world! We enjoyed stories about your finds on the island and are very much looking forward to your return to St. Thomas! Thank...

North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We really enjoyed our great week in room A-2 at the Green Iguana. Gwen and John were the best host and could answer ever question and suggest the best restaurants in town. The 99 steps (150) were a fun trip to town. We plan on returning soon, save our room!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadine B
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

John and Bernie! What great Guests you were! We were happy our mutual friend Dennis suggested you two have your winter getaway to St. Thomas! Your room will be waiting for your return! Aren't the restaurants in town wonderful? And there are even more only a 10 minute drive (taxi) from The Green Iguana Hotel! We know you two had...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Green Iguana is fabulous. We stayed there for one night on our way from the upper 48 to Tortola. Gwen and John are so relaxed and friendly, they just contribute to the perfect atmosphere! The inn itself has lots of foliage, and of course, iguanas. We stayed in H2, which has an big balcony with an awesome view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chemamy
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Many of our Guest reserve a single night stay while passing through St. Thomas to various other islands, USVI and BVI! The view of the harbor from the end of the street (the top of the 99) is fanstatic! You can see the cruise ships from Havensight dock to Crown Bay Marina, and on a clear day, you can see...

Brookline, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Due to the threat of yet another blizzard to hit New England, we left for St. Thomas early & were lucky to find a room for one night at the Green Iguana (before heading out to our planned destination) . Gwen & John couldn't have been more welcoming. Our room was lovely, perched high above Charlotte Amalie and only steps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marilyn r
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Being from Ohio, we know how important it is to escape the snowstorms when you can! We were happy to have had a room available for your last minute change in plans! Thank you for enjoying the gardens! We love the fact we can garden all year! Now if we can find the names of all the plants! Please consider...

Minot, ND
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our island-hopping trip included two nights on St. Thomas at the Green Iguana. The room was awesome, and we were acutally surprised at how nice it was for the price! We stayed in room A6 - and it is all the web site promised. We enjoyed the small inn / local experience that was offered by the Green Iguana. John...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verla R
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Charlotte Amalie is a GREAT location to Island Hop from and to! Since we are close walk to most of the ferry routes, you do save on taxi fares! If you have heavy luggage, a short taxi ride will get you to the docks in 5 minutes! And I love that you can watch all the ferry activity in the...

Putney, Vermont
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Everything just worked here. Relaxed and attentive managers, Gwen and John, were perfect hosts. We were allowed to leave our luggage both before we could get in to our room the morning of arrival, and after check out, since our ferry wasn't till late in the day. I was especially impressed on the phone when making the reservation, that Gwen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VTLisaB
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We try very hard to accommodate early and late arrivals, with at least a baggage hold so you can enjoy Charlotte Amalie and the Historical aspects of St. Thomas! Thank you for trying Ideal Restaurant for Roti! John tried them on your recommendation! The Roti is very very good! And it's just a short walk from The Green Iguana Hotel!!!...

Ohio
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Well I must say this wouldn't be my first pick for a roomto as I would prefer an Embassy Suites or other 3+ star hotel but I really loved this place. Really not much more to add than what other reviews have mentioned but we stayed in H1 and the room itself was cute. Everything was fairly worn but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roshaykay
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

I agree A building has a better view, however all the views from every room are just beautiful! Please know the housekeeping issue you mentioned has been noted and the housekeeping staff has been asked to keep a better eye out when sanitizing a room for our Guests! Your next visit will be spotless, we guarantee it! We have also...

New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Green Iguana is right next to Blackbeards Castle at the top of the 99 steps, a chichi neighborhood but without the chichi feel. Very nice rooms, with kitchenette if you'd like, clean, simple, well furnished, with balconies and views. Hosts John and Gwen are outstanding. Lots of helpful details - a basket of sunscreen to take to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flygirlnh
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

John and I look forward to the sunsets every evening! Even when there is an "island shower" sometimes a bit of the sun shines through! A2 has a spectacular view of everything going on in the harbor, from Fort Christian to Crown Bay and beyond! Thank you for finding us! We will meet again soon!

Manheim, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were a party of 4 and booked 2 rooms. Our rooms were clean and cozy with a balcony that afforded us beautiful views of the harbor. the hotel managers,Gwen and John, were friendly and very helpful. This is a small hotel with 9 rooms. We stayed for a week and had great service. Don't let the fact that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmt17545
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

The Guest Rooms with full kitchens are very popular for our Guests who spend their Caribbean adventure with us! While all our rooms have a great view of the harbour, your room has one of the best! And the balconies are great for relaxing in the evening and star gazing! We know how important certain ammenities are, such as morning...

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.9 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
675 reviews
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
549 reviews
4.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
414 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 10,989 - ₹ 13,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the H block rooms they were up higher, super view!!!!”
864lisaf, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ours had a great view - it's a small place and Gwen will tell you all you need to know when booking.”
LizzyP12345, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views are the lofts but if you want a balcony go with H1 and H2!”
Q7981QGpamb, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room list for availability, size, location within the hotel's A and H buildings to book yours in advance.”
WilliamL809, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved room H1; beautiful outdoor terrace with lounge chairs. Perfect for sundowners. Big kingsize bed and cream,/white color palette.”
R9959YXvickym, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5