We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,051: English reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Day1. Uneventful flight in. The airport is under reconstruction, so don't come in with an attitude complaining about the dust and only having one baggage carousel. Unless you make other arrangements, be prepared to be crammed into a passenger van with 11 other people and your luggage. Taxi driver "Big Steve" will drive you to your destination, do not expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ppadgett
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us the story of your check-in experience. I am delighted to hear we were able to accommodate your room preferences, giving you the feeling you were being heard and welcomed. We will share your review and give a nod of recognition to O’Rhys, Kendall and Taisha for working towards exceeding your expectations. We hope the rest...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had such a great stay this past week! The resort was amazing and the staff were a great help. Corey from Recreation Department went above and beyond to truly make our stay a memorable one. If you want to venture out there and see how beautiful St. Thomas is just ask Corey what to do and where to go, he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jdavis11587
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are lucky to have gentleman like Corey as part of our team. When we hire new talent, we always seek the quality of caring. He is a great example of this. Thank you very much for leaving this review and you can be sure he will get a nod from the leadership team.

Sparks, Nevada
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and nice beach and pools. Only draw back for me. The room smell like urine. Ask for a different room and it would be 75 dollars more a night after already paying over 200 a night. So we just got use to the smell. That being said the hotel was very nice. We didn't stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamonv
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. We appreciate you pointing out the beauty and cleanliness of the hotel and your enjoyment of the pools/beach. Sounds like your stay was very satisfying! That being said, we are hoping to be in direct contact with you in order to make immediate housekeeping corrections to the room you stayed in. If you would...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I went here for one week in early August. He is Marriott Platiinum and stays in Marriott's all the time. And we always have a wonderful stay with great service consistently across the board. But this hotel was not the case at all. While we did encounter one or two friendly people, 90% of the time the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BeachesandBrunello
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are disheartened to read your review. I'd like to apologize on behalf of our staff for any inconveniences you encountered while with us. It is disappointing that your experience did not reflect our usual warm, responsive service. It is constructive feedback, such as yours, that really help us get a clear perspective of the areas we need to improve....

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My son and I loved this hotel and we will definitely be back next year. The check-in was fast and smooth. A young man named Shaun (spelling?) at the front desk was very kind to find a great room for us at the Morning Star. Our room was very clean, updated, and well taken care of. Loved hearing the ocean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Selena43
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

We’re delighted to hear you and your son have been inspired to return here! Thank you for this review and mentioning the kindness of Shawn; he will be recognized by our leadership team.

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived after 5pm, no room was available for us and the lobby was an absolute zoo. Overall, the hotel had a family/group/older couples vibe, not ideal for us on our honeymoon. The food was great though and the spa was super clean. Our spa day was definitely the highlight of the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatieC0926
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to hear that Frenchman’s Reef was not your cup of tea. Although we want to be the perfect resort for all guests, we understand that is not always possible. Summer is a great time to visit though it is also a family season. It was nice to read you did enjoy the...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently returned from our honeymoon at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef. The property is spectacular with breathtaking views and all the luxury amenities you could want in a beach getaway. There are tons of pools and restaurants to enjoy. We stayed on the 6th floor of the Frenchman's Reef and our room was beautiful, clean and updated. The views from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oriolesfan1
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed recommendations of your favorite amenities, activities and cuisine here at Frenchman’s Reef! The steak and lobster buffet on the patio of Coco Joe’s is a guest favorite! We’re also very pleased you found your room to be beautiful, clean and updated, a perfect choice for your honeymoon. For guests planning travel with interest in the...

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Well check in is at 4pm we arrived 4:20 our room wasn't ready they gave us a beeper and told us they would page us when ready checked back in at 5:30 it still wasn't ready. Ok 7 pm we checked back in oh the room was ready just they never paged us!!!! Anthony gave us his insincere apologies and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hellakool
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear your check-in was delayed. Please feel free to come down to the Front Desk and ask for Juan Silva (our Front Office Manager) today so we can touch base and assist you. Your satisfaction is our top priority!

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying here, the first time we had an awesome vacation. This time it took over two hours to check in even though we arrived after 5. They gave us a pager then forgot about us even though I checked back a couple of times. They did upgrade us to ocean view. The next morning we...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank James E
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your experience and hope you are feeling better now. Thank you for letting us know the source of your discontent. Our leadership team would welcome the opportunity to be in direct contact with you to determine the details of your stay and investigate any problems that need correcting on our end. We can...

Newburgh, New York
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Probably the best highlight of our trip. Amazing to look at the ocean floor through the glass bottom kayaks. The tour guide Chris and his crew did a wonderful job. The hotel itself was good, checking in took way too long as they don't have many people working the front desk even though the check in line keeps getting bigger....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sam P
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out the fun you had while on the Night Kayaking Tour. We’re happy to hear that, despite the hiccup at check-in, you had a great time with us and felt the service was top notch. We hope to welcome you back soon!

2,790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2427)
Viewed
View from Room (216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (593)
Viewed
Dining (82)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (505)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (212)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (777)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
959 reviews
0.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
636 reviews
2.5 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,173 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 16,350 - ₹ 43,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
238 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (238)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the separate bay side building are nice and quiet with patios overlooking the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles RichR71, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“"Island View" room still offered a great view of the city and bay/harbor”
 of 5 bubbles 586darrina, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A water view is the best but you'll pay for it.”
 of 5 bubbles ABC123Ct, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Morning Side rooms are right on the beach - would highly recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles Gordo, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view absolutely, especially with view out over the pool or toward the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles Ylojktfan, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5