We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Booking.comUS$ 303*
View Deal
GreenLeadersGold level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 310*
US$ 303*
US$ 310*
US$ 303*
US$ 310*
US$ 303*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,111: English reviews
DeLand, Florida
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We have just returned from 4 days at this resort. It is a Marriot resort and maybe our expectations were too high. Marriot's generally separate the different brands that they own by the quality of the services they provide. The Marriot nameplate is amongst the highest. This hotel is not the same standard as the mainland US. The beach here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ron, Thank you for the recent stay at Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star. It pleases me to read you found the beach beautiful and inviting. We are currently doing a refresh of all our rooms ahead of the season. I hope you consider another stay this year. If so, it would be my pleasure to assign a team member...

Hobbs, New Mexico
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We had booked our visit through Expedia for 2 rooms for 4 people. I called the hotel to confirm our reservations at the time of booking them 6 months before the trip and they said they had our reservations. When we arrived in Aug., they only had 1 room booked for us. Since I had my papers from Expedia with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Briana R
JeanPaulNel, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Briana, Thank you for your favorable review. I am pleased you enjoyed your room upgrade to Morning Star Resort and the snorkeling opportunity at our beach. We hope it is time for a return trip. Regarding transportation, there are several options for guests to St. Thomas. I suggest calling the resort direct and ask to speak to the ‘pre-arrival’...

Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Dropped some serious coin to take the vacation of our dreams. Arrived at the hotel and it appeared to be a 5 star hotel. When we got in our room it was nice and the view was beautiful. While in the moment we tried to upgrade to a loft and were shown one with a beautiful ocean view, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Dominic I
JeanPaulNel, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dominic, First, on behalf of my team I would like to congratulate you on your engagement. We wish you and your fiancée the best. Thank you for your candid review about our hotel. We are extremely concerned about ensuring that we are providing the best quality of service and towards that end we like to interact with those guests...

Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 October 2014

I just returned from a weeks stay at the The Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Hotel. I stayed at the Morning Star right on the beach. The hotel front desk staff who are natives of the Island are as good as they come. Ms. Khalilah James who was very professional but yet warm and friendly was the first person...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elaine B
JeanPaulNel, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you for mentioning the many team members that contributed to your satisfaction at Frenchman’s Reef. Khalilah, Marigold, Yvette and Skeeter will be recognized for exemplary service. I am pleased these individuals set the tone for your stay. With regards to the service issues outlined for consideration, please accept my apologies alongside the one received from Leah. These...

Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 October 2014

My husband & I just returned from a weeks stay at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. September is considered there "off season" and we were happy it was. It was not too crowed and the hotel & staff were very accommodating. We were disappointed with our first room as it was on the very first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daunielle M
JeanPaulNel, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Daunielle, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Marriott Frenchman’s Reef. I am pleased to know that you were taken good care of by the teams at the Adventure Center, hotel and restaurants. I will certainly share your comments with the entire staff, including those you specifically named. We hope you again have the opportunity...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for a short honeymoon before my husband needed to return to school. We were a little caught off guard when they charged $100 per day up front for room charges and were a bit concerned since we are on a small budget but it ended up working well and was actually very nice to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
JeanPaulNel, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, I appreciate you taking the time to help us understand how our front desk procedures ended up working well for your stay. Thank you for expressing satisfaction with the service you received, appreciation for the convenience of charging meals to your room and the comfort you felt while staying with us. Best wishes for many wonderful vacations together!...

St. Croix
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Our stay should really be rated a 5, however, there were 2 things that could have been fixed. The property is lovely with lots to offer, the views are top notch and having a beautiful beach plus 4 pool options are wonderful! We did receive a complimentary upgrade for my parents 50 wedding anniversary however, we had to wait TWO...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TNK94
JeanPaulNel, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tnkboyle, Thank you very much for your review stating your satisfaction with many points of your stay including the beach, pools, and cuisine. It is always refreshing to hear the ways we succeed in helping guests “travel brilliantly”. Also please let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during the check-in process. You can be assured we will be...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 1 October 2014

This place is horrible . 1) I stayed 3 nights , was given a final bill after I got home I was charged for a 4th night . NO ONE will return my call or money . 2) staff is rude and not accommodating . They tell you about nothing in the area and try to hold you hostage on...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tina W
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Please contact Juan Silva at the Front Desk of the Frenchman’s Reef. I am truly sorry for the delay in correcting any billing errors. Also, please accept our apologies for our inability to exceed your expectations with regards to the A/C in your room. We will let the management of Havana Bleu also know you were dissatisfied with your meal...

Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

A very elegant and nice Hotel. Elegant environment, excellent structure and beautiful views. This Hotel is well taken care, has elegant restaurants and beautiful rooms. My wife and I stayed there and had a wonderful vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix R R
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting St. Thomas and to our hotel in particular. We are thrilled to read you found the resort to be well taken care of, the views beautiful and the overall environment elegant. Please come back again soon!

Watson, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 29 September 2014

A friend and I came for a girls get away and had a blast! The only complaints I have about the resort is the price of food, which is to be expected, but there wasn't much variety, and the mold in the room. We stayed in the main hotel. I can understand some mold because the air is constantly so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Vanessa B
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and leaving this excellent review! Your comments about the location, grounds, amenities and cuisine are sincerely welcomed. Also, thanks for pointing out the improvements we can make in housekeeping. We look forward to your next trip here!

2,829 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2466)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (595)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (509)
Viewed
Room/Suite (213)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
View from Room (216)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (808)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
982 reviews
6.9 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,390 reviews
6.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
665 reviews
2.9 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 16,807 - ₹ 36,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
251 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (251)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps MorningStar, with an ocean view”
SKAY18, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beach resort is quieter, especially at night.”
368debc, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1655 and 1651 were good rooms - big and comfortable; First floor was a little dirty and our room smelled like sewage (so we moved)”
christinepG4955UZ, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Full sea views are exquisite!!”
544tld, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Morningstar ground level has no stairs if you have strollers. Quiet in the evening. Garden view was very quiet”
JennE1101, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 303* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 303
VisitUSVIUS$ 303
TripAdvisorUS$ 303
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates