We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel on the Cay

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel on the Cay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel on the Cay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 460: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I spent three nights at the hotel. It's nice and quite, with good view to the Christiansed. The beach on the cay is fantastic and I enjoyed snorkeling around the hotel. There are turtles, rays, lion fishes and other tropical fishes around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tingting L
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear Tingting L, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your latest experience at Hotel on the Cay. It is a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable. I agree that our property offers a great location and the best views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Secluded & quiet. On a island, free boat ride across. Conveniently close to Christiansted town where some the best restaurants on island is located. Apart from the restaurants there's bars and a new casino located in walking distance on the boardwalk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonio E
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Hello Antonio E, Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here the first week of Nov. for an interview my daughter had. This place is a hard one to rate because I thought the room was like a two star comfort inn but had a very nice view and also a nice little kitchen area to the side. It had a microwave, refrigerator, and toaster oven with cabinets...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Juliasmith918
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear Juliasmith918, I am delighted to read that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one with so many positive things mentioned about the hotel & team in general. On behalf of all of us at Hotel on the Cay I'd like to thank you for your great feedback, we are glad we made your stay a memorable one!

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 8 November 2016

If you looking for peace and quite then this is the place for you. We stayed in rooms 213 and 214 a little outdated but good rooms nice view. Clean and neat. Even though this was the down season staffing was great l. My only complaint was it was too quiet. It would been nice to hear some island music...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gaby H
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear Gaby H, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your latest experience at Hotel on the Cay. It is a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable. I agree that our property offers a great location and the best views. Kindly note that the food and bar service provided...

Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Hotel on the Cay is an older hotel. The room we stayed in on 3rd floor needs a number of updates. But with that being said, it was clean and the A/C worked well. It had everything we needed. Having to take a ferry from the Christiansted boardwalk to the hotel and back every time you went out was a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rasnick
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Hello Rasnick, Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we have the opportunity to see you again soon!

Saint Petersburg
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Don't expect a luxury experience. Expect peace, quiet and tranquility with a great little Caribbean beach with a to-die-for nighttime view of Christiansted and the harbor. Rooms are basic, and a bit dated, but the housekeeping staff go well out of their way to keep things on the up and up. Staff are happy and accommodating and the price is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kevin9999
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear kevin9999, Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay with us on St. Croix and are grateful for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our gorgeous property, our excellent staff and amazing views from your guest room. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced by the...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful site, access to the only beach in Christiansted, free boat taxi, Tiki bar, inexpensive rentals and a breezey fresh water pool deck. Did I mention natural flora and fauna. Hotel on the Cay is a value-based stay use it wisely. Ticks and tweaks can make you're vacation judgemental. "Un-lax, it's island Time".

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ogcheff
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear ogcheff, We are so glad that you decided to spend your Caribbean vacation with us at our beautiful hotel on St. Croix. We could not be happier to hear that we earned your trust in us, thanks to our excellent staff service, the gorgeous, sweeping water views and our perfect location in Christiansted. We hope that we have the...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

I didn't like the fact that i was paying a extra fee after i got there. THEY IS THE ONLY ONE THAT DOES THAT CHAP. Not worth the money at all. Over prices drinks.The worst part is you can't a refund after you get there. It's just a shame. Hotel is a dump

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert D
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear Robert D, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review about your recent stay at Hotel on the Cay. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay. However you were advised at time of making your reservation that a energy fee applies to your reservation prior to placing...

Dushore, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Nice place to get away from everything very quite and relaxing absolutely love this place and the people charlee and George do a great job there are thing that could be add to this place it's a diamond in the ruff but I love it to just relax

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberlee L
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear Kimberlee L, I am so pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Hotel on the Cay. We love hearing that our valued staff provided personalized attention making your trip a memorable experience. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

This is a tough one to gage. The service here was great, the staff was always welcoming and always willing to help, problem is there were a lot if times we needed help. We came for a week checking in on Saturday, Tuesday morning we woke up to water on the tile floors (it was coming out of the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer K
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Dear Summer K, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel on the Cay. Our guest’s comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service. We hope that we have the opportunity to see you again.

553 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (427)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (72)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Partial Ocean View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.6 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.9 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
206 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,085 reviews
2.2 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,295 reviews
13.8 km away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Price Range: ₹ 8,517 - ₹ 15,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel on the Cay staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel on the Cay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 922meganj, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for an upper floor for a view. East side windy, west side hot and most sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles TuscanWino, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared for lots of stairs and no night life!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 158gabyh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“overlooking the harbor is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles kevin9999, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“To many ants and stairs”
 of 5 bubbles robertdU6677BA, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5