We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Frenchmans

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 335: English reviews
Reading, PA
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay at Frenchmans. This time we stayed in Lime, a two bedroom villa. IMO - best villa at the resort. Each of the two bedrooms have their own balconey, and there is a third balconey off the living area. The kitchen contains everything you would need to dine in, which is a solid consideration given the...

Review collected in partnership with HP Windows 10
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ranger's Mom
Tobago
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful low key resort with private beach where you can snorkel and kayak. The restaurant provides daily breakfast and dinner on reservation but no lunch which is inconvenient on days you spend at the resort. However it is a delightful place with a friendly and professional staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scvinci
aptos
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, daughter and son in law rented the Avacado villa last week. It was the last villa up the hill on the property. I highly recommend it for privacy ! It was perfect. The restaurant on the property is awesome as well. I would highly recommend a stay at Frenchman's ! A gorgeous property on Tortola - you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10sgalAptos
Brighton, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an amazing hotel! The staff is incredible - they have great recommendations of things to do on Tortola and will book/reserve your excursions for you. The complimentary breakfast and coffee was delicious! During the downtime in our trip, we really enjoyed using the kayaks and sitting on our deck soaking in the views.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful days at Frenchmans BVI resort before heading out on a week long sailing trip. Our visit was so relaxing and the staff was exceptional. After traveling 15 hours, our taxi driver called the resort and they kept the kitchen open just for us - we were so tired and hungry so this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodger M
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Last time I was here, I came with my best friend, this time I brought my husband, his siblings and parents! We had an amazing time, and they immediately understood why I loved this place once there! The staff was incredibly courteous and polite, and it is worth noting patient too, since they made many calls to the front desk...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I would love to give this place a better review. While the staff was adequately friendly, I simply cannot give above 2 stars. Pros: Quiet atmosphere, nice views, the living room and kitchen were supplied efficiently to lounge and make breakfast Cons: The first night, the room smelt like urine and mildew/mold (which I later found out was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nolan4523
FrenchmansBVI, Assistant Manager at Frenchmans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Frenchmans. We understand that your concerns about our bedroom air conditioners were reported to our Front Desk while you were in residence and we did bring in a qualified engineer to check through these appliances to make sure that they were not faulty in any way or causing any...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I'd give Fisherman's 3.5 stars. The pros: The location is absolutely gorgeous and well-maintained, very quiet and remote, villas spacious and spotless, staff is extremely gracious and as accommodating as they can be, under the circumstances that some basic amenities are missing, which they don't have the power to provide. For instance, the website implies that there are food options...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Newnan, Georgia
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This resort has the most beautiful views of any place we have ever stayed. If we return to Tortola in the future we will stay here again. We have traveled all over the Caribbean and decided on this trip, as we returned to BVI for the second time, that The BVI is our favorite destination of all. Frenchmans has everything...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janrdh
FrenchmansBVI, Assistant Manager at Frenchmans, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of Frenchmans and our staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we very much hope to welcome you back soon!

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I took my wife here for a birthday vacation for about 5 days. I wish we could have stayed another week! It's perfect for a totally relaxing vacation, VI style. You get the impression that this particular part of the earth has been a quaint resort for a very long time, but the amenities and buildings are all very modern....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingCetra

684 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (456)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (39)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Two Bedroom (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.1 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
354 reviews
2.0 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.5 km away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 25 in Tortola
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
891 reviews
20.2 km away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
10.8 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Price Range: ₹ 32,876 - ₹ 53,953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchmans staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Rogers, United States
4 months ago
Greensboro, North Carolina
6 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchmans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lime for two bedroom villa”
 of 5 bubbles Ranger's Mom, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best villa for privacy - up a hill so be prepared to walk a bit”
 of 5 bubbles 10sgalAptos, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A/C only in the bedrooms. ”
 of 5 bubbles 218elizabethh, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Guava, a one bedroom, for most of our trip but moved to sugar apple, a two bedroom, for the last night. Even though both are amazing, the Sugar Apple had the best view and ocean breezes of the two.”
 of 5 bubbles janrdh, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a great, similar view.”
 of 5 bubbles travelingCetra, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay