We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alegria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alegria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alegria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 March 2015

This property really doesn't have much going for it considering the abundance of other choices in the area. The lobby is unremarkable and gives a budget feeling - maybe it's the late 90's vintage coffee machine in the corner with the overflowing trashcan that wasn't emptied for days. Check-in was slow, really slow. Your room won't be ready early, maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Michael M
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Please allow me to apologize for not responding to your review following you stay in March of 2015. I only recently joined the company and came across your review so I wanted to make sure that you did receive a reply. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and also filling out our...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Hotel was under construction, Which was not listed on Expedia. Local kids swimming in pool. Front desk refused to move our room or even book us a charter to Anguilla. This was a enormous vacation buzz kill. Rooms are average!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vincent P
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. We can assure you that all you concerns are being addressed and taken care of. We are currently carrying out several upgrades to the property because we want to offer a great product and amazing service to our guest however no construction is taking place...

Toronto
Reviewed 18 March 2015

This property is a former time share and has none of the amenities you would expect from a hotel. Would give it maybe 2 stars. Construction next door and looks like it has not been worked on for some time. Next to a seedy casino. Staff were not helpful or overly friendly. Room was in poor repair, although it was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jafstoronto
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for placing this review. We regret the inconveniences experience during your stay and offer our sincere apology. We assure you that ongoing efforts are being made to enhance our product and offer our guest an amazing experience. Yes, as you mentioned next door there is a building that was built and not completed. But is not...

Fort Myers Florida
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Property is pretty shabby. Elevator doesn't work. When it did, we got stuck between floors! Furnishings are very worn and uncomfortable. Pool area is nice, and the best feature. Understand the pool bar is independantly owned so it works. Hotel Staff seems a bit indifferent to guests and requests for things like hot water go unheard. Overall a bad choice.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NAaaaaVandyqueen
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed during your stay with us. We assure you that guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we will continue to enhance our services to our guest. All of your comments and concerns have been addressed with our team. We hope you would give us another...

Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewed 11 March 2015

We have been coming here for 17 years, stayed at the 'old' Caravanserai, and now at the new for several years. From last year to this year, improvements have gone up 100%. Had a small leak in bath faucet, went to the beach, came back and faucet was replaced!!!! Ozzie still remembers us, Minerva as well, great housecleaning with Andrea....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ary1969
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have noticed all the upgrades we have been making to our property. it is our intention to improve in every area, in order to provide our guests with great service. We are happy that you have already booked your...

Maple, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We arrived to discover that the lock off rooms we ordered were on separate floors. We ere given a room that was not well-maintained considering the property is relatively new. Many maintenance items had to be dealt with. In the end it was not a terrible experience and I do think the staff are trying hard. The wifi is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Airsucker
alegriasxm1, Public Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Alegria and for your evaluation of your stay here. We are happy to report that we have made many enhancement since your last stay with us, such as the remodeling of all rooms, which includes new new furniture and artwork. Another enhancement that was made is the installation of gym for our fitness conscious...

Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel is right near the airport. Sharing the same space as the Dunes casino, Momo's, Chinese restaurant, and Sunset bar and grill where you can watch the planes take off and land from the beach. Great location, clean rooms, great views and nice pools. The beds are comfortable and clean but the bathrooms need maintenance I.e. leaky toilets, leaky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Advisor0821
alegriasxm1, Public Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to report that all the issues you have outlined in your comments has since been taken care of. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us. Kind regards,

Antigua and Barbuda
Reviewed 1 March 2015

this is the worst place I've ever stayed . Added to the fact that the rooms displayed in their ad is no way near what they actually are, they lie too about having free internet. I arrived on the island about 9 pm and checked in soon after. On the day of my departure I was surprised when a maid...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kelvin c c
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our hotel is well known to St. Maarten's transit passengers as we are located 5 minutes from the airport. Our check-out time is at 12 noon, however a late checkout can be requested at the front desk.(subject to $ fee) We do offer free WiFi throughout the hotel...

Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewed 1 March 2015

No matter what anyone says this place has improved. Cosmetically it has new signs and a new coat of paint. New lounge chairs by the pool. New furniture in the rooms including new mattress. Water pressure is absolutely fine so far. We also have dish tv. Reception is great and we have many channels. Place is very clean. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smy62
Alegriasxm, Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments about our property, we are very excited that you have noticed the positive changes. We will keep improving everyday, as our goal is to provide excellent service to our guest. We look forward to having you back and staying at Alegria. thank you for your business. Regards, Management Alegria

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We did a lot of research before we booked, and it seemed like this would be a good spot. It wasn't cheap, but the location was central for what we wanted, and pics of the pool area looked nice. The lobby looked nice. When we checked in, they had checked in someone else under our name. They still booked us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lalaleitha
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Leitha, Sorry for not getting back to you until now, I recently joined the company and came across your unanswered posting so I wanted you make sure to still respond. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Expedia following your stay at our hotel in February of 2015, we really appreciate your feedback as reviews...

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.3 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
14.0 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
395 reviews
4.4 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
4.4 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alegria is waiting for you to discover its world of happiness! Our compound overlooks the ocean at Maho Bay, adjacent to Maho Beach, the world-famous, white-sand beach where you almost can touch the airliners landing at Princess Juliana International Airport. Located on St. Maarten's southern coast, our resort includes two pools, a swim-up bar, spa services, fitness center and Wi-Fi. We offer a variety of room accommodations including premium rooms, which overlooks the ocean, with a king size bed, one-bedroom suites, a pair of two-bedroom penthouse suites with over 2,000 square feet and standard king and double rooms. Nearby you will discover restaurants and casinos, 18-hole championship golf course, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. It's all here. And Alegria is just a short taxi ride from the island's capital, Philipsburg, and numerous beaches. Check-in time is at 4 pm. Checkout time is until 12 pm. A $200 deposit will be taken at check-in in the form of credit card authorization or cash deposit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alegria

Address: 2 Beacon Hill Road, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Price Range: ₹ 10,538 - ₹ 19,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alegria staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Alegria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I preferred the ocean view room to enjoy the ocean views while not watching planes.”
 of 5 bubbles SoloRoamer, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are no bad views, ocean everywhere, upper floors can use elevators!”
 of 5 bubbles janiegregg02, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view if that is important. I would have loved to see the ocean or airport.”
 of 5 bubbles basketcase71, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely a higher floor for view and for less musty odor”
 of 5 bubbles sw33tpea, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beach view”
 of 5 bubbles kimadele26, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5