We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,166: English reviews
Pembroke
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Stayed at Sonesta Great Bay from January 12-19, 2015. We have travelled to many destinations and this was one of our most favourite spots, especially for the breathtaking views and turquoise waters. We celebrated our 20th anniversary while here and we shopped in Philipsburg for an anniversary band....awesome prices for diamonds!!! Shopping in Philipsburg and watching all the cruise ships...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Scherry S
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Scherry S, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We're pleased to see you our resort has become one of your favorite spots! Thank you for highlighting our beautiful views, location, staff members, and entertainment. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Whitby, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We went back to Great Bay in January 2015 after just being there in April 2014. I would have to say our experience at the Great Bay in April was more pleasant then this time around. There are many positives about Great Bay but we noticed more negatives this time. To start on a positive note, we would like to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Heather K
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Heather K, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're so happy that you continue to come back to our resort and that you had another great vacation with us! We appreciate your comments and have passed on your messages to the staff members you mentioned and we have also gone over your valuable...

Hooksett, New Hampshire
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We were greeted with cool towels & champagne upon our arrival to the open air Lobby which was quite nice. Sat. upon checking into our room which was not what I had requested for an ocean view (this was on the beach level) we requested a higher floor! We couldn't get into another room until Sun. But, it was worth...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JEANNIE3232
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JEANNIE3232, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're so happy that you had choose to come to us as your first all-inclusive vacation and that you had a great time. Thank you for highlighting our check-in with cool towels and champagne, the ocean views from your room, amazing food and polite staff. We...

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2015

If you like to go to St. Maarten to all inclusive resort Sonesta Great Bay is an excellent choice. Located on the breathtaking Great Bay with turquoise water and gorgeous long beach within walking distance to Philipsburg and short drive to the airport. Walk in to the lobby and you feel welcome!!! While waiting to check in we were greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Izabela B
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Izabela B, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We're very happy to see you had a great time with us. Thank you for highlighting our breathtaking views, location, cleanliness of our resort and rooms, good food and drinks. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Better than average for an all-inclusive. Rooms are beautiful (although the air conditioning could have been not so damn cold!), property is lovely, food is better than average for an all inclusive, beach and water are great. Too bad downtown Philipsburg essentially closes once the cruise ships leave town, but nightlife is only a $20 cab ride to Maho. And...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank medic8587
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear medic8587, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're happy you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms, lovely property, location, good food and beach areas. We hope to see you back again soon! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Tonight is our last night at Sonesta great bay. We left the room this morning at 8:30 for breakfast and a day at the beach. Upon our arrival back we found the door to our room open, with the safety latch throne to keep it open. ( maids do that ). Called the desk at 6:00 pm , were told...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Donnab17671023
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Donnab17671023, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We're disappointed to see you did not have a better experience with us. We have passed on your comments to our Management Team to look over and we assure you that we will take the appropriate measures regarding your valuable feedback. We do hope you will...

Minden, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We just spent a week here and had a fabulous time. It only has 3 restaurants, but we knew that when we booked it. It is a smaller resort. The food was amazing. The drinks were great. The rooms was clean, comfortable ( but you don't spend much time in it). We loved the pool areas and the beach. Having...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank teed43
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear teed43, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're very happy that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the amazing food, great drinks, clean rooms and our pool and beach areas. We hope you will be back in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Mississauga
Reviewed 19 January 2015

This was our first trip to St, Maarten and we had booked an ocean view room on the upper floor with a king size bed. You can imagine our disappointment when our allocated room was on the lower level facing a cement wall and some beach umbrellas (see photos). After fighting with the staff at the reception desk for over...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KmanMississauga
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KmanMississauga, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're very pleased to see you had a great time with us. Thank you for highlighting our beach, food, and location. We appreciate your valuable feedback and have gone over it with our Management team and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great...

Shefford, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We arrived only two weeks after the hotel opened again to customer after being hit by Gonzalo. Congrats to all the staff, we did not feel or see any problems. The beach went down quickly but after an hurricane what else to expect.. Entertainment was great, I loved the areobics in the pool, bingo games and dancing.... A special thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matériel N
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Materiel N, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We're so happy you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our resort. Thank you for highlighting our staff, entertainment, pool aerobics, and location. We hope to see you back again soon! Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 January 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Sonesta Great Bay from December 27, 2014- January 2, 2015. We had a great time in St. Maarten, but don’t expect the same type of all- inclusive experience that you would receive in Mexico or Dominican Republic. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting an island where we felt safe to travel around and see everything,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Laurence B

3,164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2640)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (610)
Viewed
Dining (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (400)
Viewed
View from Room (246)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (249)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (909)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Grande Island View Room (36)
Viewed
Grande Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (21)
Viewed
Miramar Wing Pool (17)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Butler Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
9.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,661 reviews
1.3 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
689 reviews
7.1 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
7.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: ₹ 20,508 - ₹ 47,986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, West Indies, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and other travellers.
395 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (395)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for appartement sector,with sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 104jacquesg, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“prefer to be on the 4th or higher floor for a better breeze”
 of 5 bubbles Bill195005, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful views from oceanfront rooms”
 of 5 bubbles johnbB6848JM, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Oceanview is a must! It's beautiful!!!”
 of 5 bubbles susanbU7347IO, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for an ocean view, fun to watch the cruise ships come and go.”
 of 5 bubbles B5720RProbertw, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay