We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,028 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,513: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We booked our trip with sunwing, great flight arrived October.1/2015. Arrived at some stage at 2pm. Upon arrival we received a glass od bubbly and a cold towel...excellent we were shown to our room 719 oceanview...spectacular. Beautiful room with a bar (1bottle of rum,gin,and vodka) what more can you ask for..... The hotel has 3 pools 1hot tub 2restaurant The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank louise_russo03
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear louise_russo03, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're pleased to see you had your best vacation ever right here with us. Thank you for highlighting our champagne check-in, rooms, amenities, food, views and staff. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend this hotel anyone. A group of us stayed at this resort for a wedding for two men, the blatant discrimination was obscene. I found it hard to believe people like this (especially from an employee named Rolf) still exist in this world. When we voiced our distaste for this treatment of our friends we were told we...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Ashley T
LiveMaho, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ashley T We have put your feedback into consideration and we do appreciate your personal take on our Resort. Such feedback helps with improvements which we are always striving for. the individual you mentioned is no longer on our team. Warm regards from sunny St. Maarten, - Martha mmarsden@sonestastmaarten.com Guest Engagement Coordinator

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 October 2015

The staff are this locations greatest strength. The food was mostly tasty and the drinks flowed. The place is not however clean--from the beach to the rooms-- it is not clean in a manner that is acceptable. In addition the mosquitoes inside the building over ran some of the public spaces like the bathrooms because you got it the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vernice G
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Vernice G, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're pleased to see you enjoyed our location, food and drinks but are disappointed to see you did not have an overall better time with us. We have gone over your comments with our Management Team and do hope you will stay at one of our three Sonesta St....

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2015

My husband and I had an opportunity and stay at the resort last week in September. Clearing customs at the airport is very quick and easy. There are no lines. You will be greeted by a host asking you name of the resort you are going to and will be directed to the bus. Bus ride is roughly 20 minutes....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MALGOSIA1968
LiveMaho, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased you chose to stay at our all-inclusive beach resort in St. Maarten. We enjoy hearing all about your stay and we certainly do appreciate this personalized feedback. Sunny regards from SXM, Martha Guest Engagement Coordinator

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2015

My husband and I stayed at Great Bay January 2015 and had an amazing time. Our room had an ocean view where we could watch the cruise ships coming and going from Philipsburg, they were spacious and clean. Food was always good and lots of choice. Beach was beautiful and we walked down to Philipsburg daily. The drinks at beach...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank tyontario
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tyontario, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so glad that you and your husband had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed your ocean view room, beach are, location and all-inclusive package. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 October 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed at the sonesta great bay beach resort for 5 nights and had a great time. The concierge was extremely nice always accommodating and suggested great excursion ideas. Our routine consisted of breakfast in the morning followed by laying on the beach then grabbing lunch and drinks by the bar. The infinity pool with the swim...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Zach W
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Zach W, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're pleased to see that you and your girlfriend had a nice 5 night stay with us and hope to see you both again in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Overall a pretty nice resort. The food was very good, the beach and the pools are very nice. Loved the view from the main restaurant. Most of the staff was great. Cleopatra, you are awesome! Florita is also a real asset to the hotel. However, a couple of staff Michael the bartender in the bar near the main restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter D
LiveMaho, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased you chose to stay at our all-inclusive beach resort in St. Maarten. We enjoy hearing all about your stay and we certainly do appreciate this personalized feedback. Sunny regards from SXM, Martha Guest Engagement Coordinator

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We totally enjoyed our stay. The whole staff was friendly and were very helpful. We had the Oceanview on the 4th floor and our room was nice. I would suggest the 4th floor and up with Oceanview - it's worth it. I wish I could remember all the names, but Pauline, Wendy, Innocent, Alexandre, Shantelle, were so nice. The Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Susan K
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Susan K, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so pleased to see you had a memorable and great vacation spent with us. Thank you for highlighting our friendly staff, ocean view room, all-inclusive package and overall resort. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

I would have given this hotel another star had the service been better. The staff was great and hard working but the hotel was so understaffed that everything went extremely slow. Most of the staff was very nice, especially in the restaurants and the maid service. However, the bartender in the pool bar, Nigel, was extremely rude and slow. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelerfun1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Travelerfun1, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad you had an overall good time with us and appreciate your valuable feedback and do hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

We had an amazing time got to meet great people the staff were amazing and so friendly and will come back!! Spent a week there and next time going for 2 weeks!! The food was great!!We loved Ruby he made my time memorable and Nigel was a great bar tender and all the other staff are great also but they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathy C
LiveMaho, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino and Spa. Also thank you for this great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. Hope you do get the chance to visit us again! Kind Regards, Martha

3,370 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2846)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (653)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (422)
Viewed
View from Room (293)
Viewed
Dining (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (274)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (963)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Grande Island View Room (36)
Viewed
Grande Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (21)
Viewed
Miramar Wing Pool (17)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Butler Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
9.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,744 reviews
7.9 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
10.1 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: ₹ 18,072 - ₹ 33,618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and other travellers.
540 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (540)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anything above the 2nd floor so you have a decent view”
marciabacon, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did not get the room we requested and got the feeling that this was because we booked with cheapcaribbean.com”
TLynnC_11, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the ocean side have a great view. The lower 2 floors are noisier and the back side of the hotel doesn't have a great view.”
V691LBmichellep, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go the extra with ocean front on floors 4 to 7”
L7236JEtomw, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the second floor or up.”
rlparks, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5