El Colonial (Free Open Bar)

El Colonial (Free Open Bar)

Traveller (441)
so many excellent memories
Room & Suite (29)
El Colonial
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 59 hotels in San Juan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Adults Only + Free Open Bar + Stairs Only (No Elevator) We do not have an elevator and all our rooms start on the second floor of the property. If stairs are a problem then please consider staying elsewhere. We do have staff that will assist you with bringing up your bags but you would still have to go up the stairs to reach your room. Transportation The Best way to arrive to our property is via Uber. OSJ is a completely walkable city designed more than 400 years ago. Meaning, cars were not part of it’s design and the best way to get to know the city is by foot. Parking We do not offer parking. If you are driving, we suggest you park in any of these parking lots within OSJ: Dona Fela La Puntilla Covadonga These are the most reasonably priced options in OSJ. All within walking distance of our property. You may just copy and paste the names and insert in Google Maps or any other App of your preference. We do suggest you stop by the property to drop off bags and then find parking :) Please mind, you will not be using the car while in OSJ. It will be convenient to have if you are planning day trips outside of the San Juan area. Check-in Check-in is scheduled for 4PM. We love having guests check-in early and can not guarantee an early check-in. We do suggest you stop by property to process your paperwork. We will gladly hold your bags for you while you lounge around property, explore the city and/or grab a bite to eat. We will make sure to text you as soon as your room is ready so you may check-in. Check-out Check-out is scheduled for 11AM. We can only guarantee a late check-out during the last day of your stay as they are based on availability. We suggest you text us during the morning of your departure. We can not guarantee a late check-out but we promise to do our best to accommodate you in the best way possible. Rooms The vast majority of our rooms have windows facing the “callejon” and/or San Francisco Street. If windows facing the exterior are of utmost importance, please book a Balcony Queen room. The Queen standard room does have windows that face the interior courtyards and do not have a view. Important information! Please confirm your estimated time of arrival to property. As we mentioned earlier, we love having guests check-in early and although we can not guarantee an early check-in, having your time of arrival will assist us in prioritizing our workflow in order to have you in your room as soon as possible. It would to both our benefit if you could also confirm your estimated time of departure. As we mentioned, we work by stairs and we have plenty of them. We want to assist you every step of the way and knowing at what time you expect to leave will allow us to have a staff member available to assist you in bringing down your bags. Complimentary 24/7 open bar for registered hotel guests only.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Complimentary welcome drink
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

312 Calle de San Francisco, San Juan 00901 Puerto Rico
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport
12.4 km
See all flights
F.L. Ribas Dominicci Airport
385Reviews6Q+A82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 362
  • 13
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jill D wrote a review Aug 2023
Denver, Colorado10 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was one of the most wonderful places and experiences we've ever had the pleasure to stay. A warm greeting and yummy drinks welcomed us, and an excellent rundown of what to expect during our stay. The entirety of our trip we were treated to a lovely boutique experience; the rooftop tubs and the property’s location were some of my favorite elements, but truthfully it’s hard to rank all of the amenities- everything was superb.

I’d really love to mention the amazing folks we met throughout our stay. There was so much warmth and kindness, the hospitality we experienced was first class and truly top notch. Lugo, the young gentleman keeping the back of house running like clockwork - thank you 🙏 Luis, Chris, Gerardo, Daya, Shadie, Adriel, Claudio, and Angel- ¡Muchas gracias por todo! You all are so wonderful, and we are so grateful. You’ve given us an amazing memory we will cherish forever.

We count the days until we can return 💕¡Muchas gracias!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wannabefolkie wrote a review Mar 2022
Seattle, Washington1,078 contribution213 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When our taxi pulled up, Miguel was there and promptly brought our bags into the hotel. He had us sit at the bar to check in while the floors were being mopped. Edgardo made us acerola and run mixed drinks. What a great way to start our vacation!

Miguel gave us a rundown of the hotel and “rules.” Edgardo took our luggage to our room. It was a nice casual check in experience. Both evenings of our two night stay, Giancarlo (I believe that is his name) was at the front desk and was very helpful with dining suggestions and directions.

The rooftop patio is nice and offers a nice view. We went up around 10pm and had the place to ourselves.

Our room was spacious. We only opened up to the Juliet balcony once. It’s cute. The shower water didn’t get very hot so it made for quick showers. That’s about my only complaint.

They give fair warning about not having elevators, being a 23yo+ hotel, and not staining the towels with makeup. Apparently that’s a big thing because the other places we stayed at had similar fees for makeup stained towels. Use the wipes they provide and ask for more if necessary. You can also use tissue first or bring your own face towels.

The location is great, close to the plaza and walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and popular attractions.

Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own face towel if you wear makeup. Visit the rooftop. Tip the staff for their awesome...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Dear wannabefolkie, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in regards you your experience while staying with us. The El Colonial Family is dedicated to ensuring you enjoy every moment of your stay with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to positively impact your experience while staying with us. Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial and for sharing your experience with the world. We hope to have you back soon and often! #kelepitelcolonial Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonial #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wally T wrote a review Nov 2021
Windsor, California11 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very old building that has been remodeled. They did a great job remodeling the building. The service was fantastic. They people that work here are extremely helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, my wife and I were assigned on the third floor in the front of the hotel. This meant we could hear all the street noise and lots of noise from the steakhouse restaurant next door as they have tables in the adjoining alley. We originally booked this hotel through booking.com.

The staff provided a phone number you can call and text them for service on all day and night. This was very helpful. We asked if we could change rooms and then quickly asked if we could cancel our remaining nights we reserved at this hotel so we could move back to a beach front hotel with less noise. They quickly accommodated us and helped us get a refund. This was so awesome and we were very grateful. If we were in party mode, this would have been a great hotel to stay up late in the middle of all the action, but we were tired from running around and exploring all day so we were tired and wanting to get some rest.

They provide you with free cocktails and the Ac in the room works really well and it is quiet!

If you like being in the middle of the action, this is the hotel for you. The beds we fairly comfortable.

The plumbing is old so if you have been to older Latin countries, you know what that means. Minor inconvenience, but not a big deal.

This hotel is walking distance to everything in Old San Juan!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Walking distance to everything! A bit noisy as it is located in the middle of Old San...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 6 Nov 2021
Dear Wally T, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit t OJS. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. As you well mentioned, it seems that we were not the right fit for you. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in regards to the service that was provided during your short stay with us and we hope that you have found the property that suits your specific needs. El Colonial is not your average cookie cutter hotel, and by this I do not mean that we are specifically noisy, but we are located in the center of a city and some noise can be heard. We are always willing to assist guests with their specific needs (i.e a room that is far from the action) but on occasions the city gets the best of us. Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial. We want you to enjoy every moment of your visit to Puerto Rico and again, we were just not the right fit for you. Regardless, it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity of hosting you for a brief moment and we hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation! #keepitcolonial Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth J wrote a review Nov 2022
Madison, Virginia63 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start with the positive. The employees were very personable and helpful. The location was good if you want to be in that area. Now for the rest... the rooms are tiny and dark, very dark and the lighting is terrible. There are no windows to the outside so no natural light and the electric lighting is terrible... did I mention that?. The bathroom is so small and ill configured that you can not sit on the toilet facing forward and the toilet paper is behind you on the left (nearly unreachable.. grab it before you need it). There is no privacy as the sound travels between halls and rooms. The bed sheet was all nubby and pilled. The floors are old, broken up tile and dirty. The shower was tiny and trying to get the water regulated was impossible. The mini fridge leaked onto the tile so your feet got wet. There are no closets. There is only a clothing rod with 5 hangers. There was no seating other than one seat at a small desk. There were 2 luggage racks for you to place your bags on and one was broken. There is no place to unpack anything so it all stays in your suitcase on a broken luggage rack. The light/fan combo in the bathroom is crazy loud so you don't want to turn the light on because you will wake everyone with the noisy fan. Besides the lack of lighting the rooms are painted a dark color so there is no reflective light. It's depressing, inconvenient, and in disrepair. There are free drinks in the lobby and again, the staff was nice and helpful. We booked two nights which were priced at over $300 /night. We booked via our Chase Sapphire Reserve which uses Expedia for bookings. We left after one night and the the staff told us they would offer us an exception for the cost of the one night but Expedia is not offering us the full refund on the 2nd night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Dear Elizabeth J, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. We are left both surprised and confused after reading your review. It seems that you booked a property that was not apt for your expectations. We completely get it. We are not your usual hotel. We have a 200+ year old building that well maintained but not everyone's cup of tea and it seams like you are looking for more of a chain hotel experience (which is great but certainly not what we offer). For other, potential guests reading this please mind that the vast majority of our guests enjoy the El Colonial Experience (cleanliness in particular). We also make it a point to communicate efficiently and effectively so when guests need anything (like an extra hanger) they are able to simply text us and our team is always willing and able to assist in a prompt and timely fashion. If you are looking for a property with great location, cleanliness and exquisite service then we are a good fit for you. Also, booking direct with us through our website and/or phone is always the best option. Better rates and more flexible policies (third party vendors like Expedia may complicate things). Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial. We hope you would allow us the privilege of hosting you again and providing you with the experience most of our guests have to know. #keepitelcolonial Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
esimms5555 wrote a review Dec 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia51 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, I had a great experience at El Colonial and would happily stay again. Before I explain further, I want to discuss something that might surprise visitors unused to lodging in historical buildings. When the hotel tactfully instructs you to dispose of all paper products in the trash can, they’re really asking you not to flush your toilet paper. The ancient pipes running under Old San Juan simply can’t handle it. If you flush toilet paper your toilet will clog, which won’t be pleasant for anyone. Instead, dispose of your toilet paper in the trash can beside the toilet. This is something most of from the States aren’t used to doing, so I thought it worth mentioning.
If you like historical architecture, you’ll love El Colonial. It has character you won't find in modern establishments, such as the original wood shutters opening to a balcony overlooking the street. I think the hotel’s design makes it especially well-suited for couples seeking a romantic getaway. The rooftop deck is nicely appointed and open 24 hours, and the hotel is centrally located so everything in San Juan is within an easy walk. El Colonial also has a 24-hour lobby bar offering a variety of alcohol and non-alcoholic drinks. Best of all is the hotel’s great staff, who go out of their way to make you feel very welcome. Three with whom I interacted most during my brief stay were Luis, Miguel, and Gerard, and they are integral to making El Colonial such a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Dear esimms5555 , Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. The El Colonial Family is dedicated to making sure you enjoy every moment of your stay with us and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying here almost as much as we enjoyed hosting you. Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial and for sharing your experience with the world. We hope to have you back soon and often. #keepitelcolonial Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren W wrote a review Jul 2022
Clearfield, Utah5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I cannot say enough good things about the El colonial hotel! We have stayed at hotels all over the world and this is by far my most favorite experience.

The location is perfect. It is located in Central downtown old San Juan next to all of the good bars and restaurants. The staff provided excellent recommendations for activities, bars, and restaurants. The hotel also provides free alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks to all hotel guest 24/7. I was also so impressed by the cold lemongrass towelettes provided when walking into the hotel which is a lifesaver in the hot Puerto Rican sun/humidity. All of the staff members are so incredibly kind and helpful.

This property does not have an elevator and is located in downtown old San Juan near nightlife. It is also adults only. So if you are unable to walk up flights of stairs, have little ones, or an extremely light sleeper this is not the hotel for you but it was absolutely perfect for us! Thank you to everyone El colonial for such a memorable stay, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Lauren W, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. At El Colonial we believe in creating unique and wonderful experiences for our guests enjoy. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in regards to your experience with us and we hope to have you back soon and often. Again, thank you for choosing EL Colonial and for sharing your experience with the world! #keepitelcolonial Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura G wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service at this hotel! I was traveling by myself, and it was the perfect location to see all of Old San Juan in a day. All of the hosts were very friendly and helpful, they carried my bag to and from the hotel room. The bar at the front is included in the price and made for a perfect opportunity to unwind at the end of a long day of exploring. The room was small and simple, but perfect for one person- facing the indoor courtyard was quiet and great for sleeping. As a young female traveling by myself, I felt secure and taken care of at this hotel. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Dear Laura G, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. At El Colonial, we believe in creating unique and wonderful experiences for your guests to enjoy. Service and security is a big part of that. We are extremely delighted to read that you felt secure as a single traveler and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again soon and often. Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial and for sharing your experience with the world. #keepticolonial Warm Regards , Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Veronica wrote a review Jan 2022
8 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
El Colonial Hotel was wonderful. One thing that stands out is the friendliness of the hotel staff. Everyone is so nice and very accommodating.They gave us good suggestions for San Juan and even around the island. It was a great surprise that drinks were free during our stay. They gave us water upon our arrival and since we were celebrating our 2nd anniversary, they also gave us champagne. Beer and wine were also at no cost. It was a great little perk. The rooftop was really nice too...with great views. They do have a hotel rule about staining the towels. I was way too nervous to use their towels, because if it got dirty, for any reason, a free would be charged. Other than that, everything was good! Thanks for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Dear Veronica, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in reference to our staff members, overall service, and our facilities. Please note (for clarity in reference to your experience and other potential guests reading this) that we only charge for towels/linen that are Stained with Makeup (exclusively). We do provide complimentary makeup remover towelettes for our guests as we are not looking to create a revenue stream with this. We only want to avoid having to throw out towels due to unremovable make up stains. I'm sure you can understand given that no one uses towels to remove makeup at home. Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial and we hope to have you back soon and often and have your next stay with us be a 5 out of 5! Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bj095 wrote a review Apr 2022
19 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
El colonial is a beautiful and modern feeling hotel. it really does make you feel exclusive when you’re staying here. the hotel is passcode protected so only the hotel guests are allowed in and out.

the location of the hotel is fantastic! it’s right in the middle of OSJ and walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and bars.

the hotel staff provides impeccable service! Miguel, Adriel, Hector, Roberto, and Rene are all absolutely amazing, the entire hotel staff is amazing to be honest! the service that they provide is insanely perfect, they make sure that all of their guests are happy and enjoying their stay to the fullest. the drinks they made were amazing every time and they were always so helpful in providing areas or places to visit! the concierge tab on their Instagram is a nice addition too. housekeeping was also very nice and prompt with their services as well!

the rooftop is amazing and provides outstanding views of OSJ and you can see a bit of the condado area and cruise ports as well. there’s enough seating for multiple parties to enjoy the space and there’s extra bathtubs up top for the rooms that don’t have one.

the rooms are spacious, and the balconies are so cute! the AC blasts to the fullest and can cool the room down in 10 minutes. the beds were SUPER comfy, and the cubby rack on the hanger bar was a nice addition (for more storage area) as well. overall this was a great stay at this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You have to rotate the shower knob slowly in a 180 turn to find the HOT setting. The HOT side can...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear Bj095, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. The El Colonial Family is dedicated to making sure you enjoy every moment of your stay with us and we are left humbled after reading your review. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and we hope to have you back soon and often. Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial and for sharing your experience with the world! #keepitelcolonial Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fi wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love the fact that the bar is free and open for us 24/7. During our stay, we had an incident where the 2nd floor (where we were in) had a slight flood because of some broken pipe right above our floor, I told them about it and they immediately gave us an amazing room and serviced the whole floor. I only have videos of the place and unfortunately I can only upload photos here but overall, Great service. Worth the stay.
As weird as this may sound, wish the 3 bathtubs up on the roof was a hot tub instead. Haha
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Franklin Rivera, Owner at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Responded 11 Sept 2021
Dear Fi, Thank you for allowing El Colonial to form part of your recent visit to OSJ. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you. El Colonial is a modern, experience driven operation located in a 200+ year old building. We strive to take great care of our property with weekly maintenance to our facilities to ensure unbridled experiences for our guests but, sometimes (as you may know) our 500+ year old city gets the best of us. Nonetheless, our responsibility relies on your wellbeing and we greatly appreciate you having informed us of the issue in order to provide a quick and efficient solution. The Colonial Family is dedicated to ensuring you enjoy every moment of your stay with us and we loved having the opportunity to host you. Again, thank you for choosing El Colonial. We hope to have you back soon and often! #keepitcolonial Warm Regards, Franklin Rivera General Manager El Colonial a San Juan 901 Property #elcolonialhotel #sanjuan901
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna K asked a question Apr 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia10 contributions
Is there any option for late check-out?
Answer from DougD69
Charlotte, North Carolina2 contributions1 helpful vote
I think they would make arrangements based on their availability, as it is a small hotel.
Hezzo asked a question Jan 2023
Fair Oaks, California9 contributions1 helpful vote
Is the hotel still requiring guests and staff to wear masks in public areas?
Answer from esimms5555
Washington DC, District of Columbia51 contributions51 helpful votes
I was at El Colonial in early December '22 and they weren't requiring masks in the hotel.
Road17766856744 asked a question Oct 2022
Smoking on balconies
Answer from Franklin R
1 contribution
Smoking is only allowed outside. Be that outside the hotel and/or on the rooftop. No smoking can take place on balcony as smoke may come in to room
luvtotravel175 asked a question Apr 2022
Greer, Arizona1 contribution
How far are you from the Pan American Pier?
Answer from Franklin R
1 contribution
We are within a 10 minute Uber ride from the Pan American Pier
MCQueens99 asked a question Feb 2022
Astoria, New York2 contributions2 helpful votes
How much is parking per day?
Answer from Franklin R
1 contribution
We do not offer parking. A lot within walking distance is available and offers a special rate of $14 per day for hotel guests. We suggest stopping by the hotel to drop off bags first. We have a QR code with driving directions to the parking garage.
Jere B wrote a tip Yesterday
Rock Springs, United States35 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no elevators, but the staff will be happy to help. The free open bar is also a nice added touch."
Read full review
Richard W wrote a tip 10 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"great location and ask them for special recommendations for restaurants, etc."
Read full review
Lois wrote a tip Apr 2024
Carrollton, Texas1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not rent a car, the parking situation is dire. There is no elevator, so be prepared to do one flight of stairs minimum."
Read full review
Biz H wrote a tip Mar 2024
Laurel, Mississippi32 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the private terrace! But also, know that there are tons of small, private seeming common spaces for sitting and enjoying time. "
Read full review
Declan wrote a tip Mar 2024
Boston, Massachusetts13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you're comfortable with climbing stairs if you get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor (no elevator). "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Juan area.
PRICE RANGE
₹13,514 - ₹40,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoSan Juan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL COLONIAL (FREE OPEN BAR) (San Juan) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about El Colonial (Free Open Bar)
Which popular attractions are close to El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Nearby attractions include Old San Juan (0.4 km), 7ven Seas Jewelry (0.3 km), and Castillo de San Cristobal (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Tako San Juan, Sofia's Italian Steakhouse, and Chocobar Cortés (Viejo San Juan).
Are pets allowed at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to El Colonial (Free Open Bar)?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old San Juan (0.4 km), San Juan National Historic Site (1.2 km), and Castillo San Felipe del Morro (1.2 km).
Does El Colonial (Free Open Bar) have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All San Juan HotelsSan Juan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San Juan
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire