We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

San Juan International Hostel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
San Juan International Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of San Juan International Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hostel is perfect! Francisco is so nice and clearly cares a lot about the comfort of his guests. he provides clean towels (both bath and beach), pancake mix, shampoo, sunscreen, and even aloe for sunburns! we even locked our keys in our room and he wasn't there but came right away to help us out. very relaxed environment and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shae F
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The place was fun to stay at. Not too big and not too lively but very, very accommodating. A perfect and cheap spot to stay for travelers new to San Juan. Close to Santurce which is fun! Francisco was very accommodating and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell B
Miami Springs, Florida
Reviewed 2 October 2016

first, it feels like being home, a regular house, not like a hotel....I like that, and it has everything you need, strong internet, close to city buses, a walk to walmart, a walk to the movies, a walk to the beaches, the neighborhood is quiet, I even sleep on the balcony and let the breeze blow, and you cannot beat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevenscott888
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Although the communication from the hostel was great and they accommodated my late night arrival very painlessly with no additional charge, I booked a private room and the room did not have a lock!!!! Not only that, but the hotel room doors are those metal screen doors for houses... So it's like a tiny latch handle and a metal screen......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katelyn G
Puerto R, Manager at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

All our private rooms with private / locked doors

Reviewed 26 April 2016

Fransisco is a real gentleman and super friendly and helpful. The hostel is old with a lot of history, its clean and cosy! The location could be better, its walking distance to la placita, about 10 minutes I would say and 20-30 min walk to the beach. Its close to the bus stop which takes you to both beach old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frida S
Paisley, Reino Unido
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

I see a lot of bad reviews from people who didn't even get to stay here because they cancelled their reservation. Believe me, you are lucky! I stayed there for one horrible night in the girl's dorm close to the balcony. First of all, the location is awful, but oh well, you're only there for a couple of nights, you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vallano
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

Yes; we are as serious as a Heart Attack about our rules and regulations. Among other: quite time; no illegal drugs; no visitors; payment to be completed in accordance to our rules. (So far no, one steal on premises reported; among other due to our strict set of rules). To evaluate potential customers behavior (writing; calls, other), as part of...

Loveland, Colorado
Reviewed 1 April 2016

This place is literally in the ghetto. When I got there with my sister, my taxi driver waited for us to make sure we would get in to the place. When we got there it was night time and 4 other people were waiting outside the doors to get in, but no one came when the doorbell was rung. After...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KFox7
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

Although this type of response is accepted by the Trip Advisor webpage, we at SJIHostel do not consider valid or appropriate that people that did not stay with us review our services and facilities. We do know that recently two people made a reservation but refuse to make the corresponding payment in their due time without communicating any special circumstances...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Took our deposit for the room and when we arrived they said "no bed for you" and slammed the door in our faces. 5 people out of a place to stay. Not to mention a rude old lady who wouldn't help us in any way. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. Don't trust these people with your money...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ZachGirgenti
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

As one of our house rules, "payment is to be completed before 7 pm on arrival date". This is to prevent no-shows and also to serve guests that may be requesting for a last-minute accommodation. An electronic invoice is sent upon booking completed as part of the reservation confirmation process and also as a tool to facilitate payment on line...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Absolutely the worst experience I've ever had dealing with a room. Turned away 3 reservations with no explanation after paying a deposit a month in advance.. "We have no room for you" is what they "yelled" at us through the locked gate and shut the door. So I lost my deposit and the door was shut in my face. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chad H
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

As one of our house rules, "payment is to be completed before 7 pm on arrival date". This is to prevent no-shows and also to serve guests that may be requesting for a last-minute accommodation. An electronic invoice is sent upon booking completed as part of the reservation confirmation process and also as a tool to facilitate payment on line...

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

First off, I made a reservation over a month ago for 3 beds to stay there and I even paid a small deposit. The WEBSITE CLEARLY STATES IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 7PM YOU MUST PAY CASH. My friends and I arrived there at 9pm and rang the door bell multiple times. Never got an answer. There were even 2 other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dria T
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

As one of our house rules, "payment is to be completed before 7 pm on arrival date". This is to prevent no-shows and also to serve guests that may be requesting for a last-minute accommodation. An electronic invoice is sent upon booking completed as part of the reservation confirmation process and also as a tool to facilitate payment on line...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.9 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#29 of 46 in San Juan
253 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 46 in San Juan
801 reviews
1.7 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.9 km away
Posada San Francisco Old San Juan
1.2 km away
Casa Santurce
Casa Santurce
#4 of 23 in San Juan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to San Juan International Hostel! We are a friendly, safe, and clean hostel located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. San Juan International Hostel prides itself on offering the most affordable accommodation on the entire island! Stay one night or many, and you will instantly feel like a local. Nowhere else in San Juan can you escape the crowds and tourist traps while still being able to experience everything the city has to offer! ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Juan International Hostel

Address: 1452 Calle America, San Juan 00909-2651, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: ₹ 1,356 - ₹ 2,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Juan International Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and HRS so you can book your San Juan International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Juan International Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from San Juan International Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The second floor is more social”
360Kamil, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get the standard room”
ashishbhatia_ab, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I had the A/C room and would advise it.”
905sharil, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are bad! No aircon, dirty windows, toilets!!”
917chuah, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Personally, I would choose one of the rooms with AC. However, there are high powered fans in all of the rooms work great.”
miriahk2015, 21 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates