La Terraza de San Juan

La Terraza de San Juan

Traveller (727)
Panorama of the Deluxe Balcony Suite Bay View at the La Terraza de San Juan
360
Panoramas (13)
Our room: The large room had a 15-foot ceiling, a king-sized bed and a beautiful dark wood armoi
Room & Suite (442)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#9 of 61 hotels in San Juan
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Couples massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Latvian

Location

262 Calle Del Sol, San Juan 00901 Puerto Rico
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport
12.6 km
See all flights
F.L. Ribas Dominicci Airport
884Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 619
  • 159
  • 44
  • 27
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David L wrote a review Dec 2020
Miami Beach, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the nicer boutique hotels on Casa Del Sol of Old San Juan. Our interaction was only limited to 2-3 staff members (one of which was not very kind) but the other two were very helpful.

We booked the reservation that has 2 bedrooms and it was very spacious and comfortable. Most important the room was clean. The first night of our stay we experience bad weather with thunderstorms. When we returned to our room there was a puddle in the hallway floor leading to the kitchen area that appeared to be from the roof leaking. Our AC unit in one of the bedrooms stopped worked during the same time.

I went ahead and let the hotel staff know and they promptly told us they would work on the issue. This was not an inconvenience in the moment for us because we were going out for the evening but had high hopes the repairs would be completed upon our return.

We spent the evening in Old San Juan, and when we returned we noticed the AC unit was not active at all this time. I reached out to the hotel staff and they let me know that the storms had knocked one of the AC units located on the buildings roof and the repair would not be able to get done. The staff quickly let us know they would be relocating us to a different room and that was great news.

Our original room had a few window glass missing as we could hear outside noise. I noticed they used some sort of AC metal tape and aluminum to temporarily cover the openings. A few of the windows have locks which made us feel safe but I was not in love with listening to the outside noise, although not much of a bother.

The new room the placed in was clean, had working AC units, and still comfortable. We enjoyed the remainder of our stay with no issues.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
arianed1006 wrote a review Aug 2023
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay at La Terraza a lot. We were stranded for an extra two days due to ongoing ATC Airport issues in the US and since our original hotel was booked out we found this place on the „Hotels Tonight“ app for a really reasonable rate. The place like many other places in Old San Juan is a traditional Spanish style building, rooms with heigh ceilings, big windows and shutters. At check-in we were even upgraded to a suite room on the third floor, which was very spacious, and we were very happy about that. Contrary to other reviews we had no AC issues and the shower did get hot, it just took a little bit to run at first. We did not try WiFi or TV, we didn’t need it, we were on vacation/exploring mode only. For our stay the whole staff was always very friendly and accommodating, gave us good tips where to eat etc. Room cleaning service was also up to par. We loved loved loved the rooftop, the bar is not open, but that didn’t matter, we had our own drinks and enjoyed the sunset view overlooking San Juan. To us this was the best feature of the hotel. We also welcomed the option to have breakfast downstairs at a reasonable price (must add though that we are from NYC and are used to extremely high prices, someone else may deem the prices there expensive). The location is great, walking distance to all. We truly appreciated the accommodation on our unforeseen extra time in San Juan.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Desk, General Manager at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 7 Aug 2023
Thank you for the splendid review, we appreciate the positive feedback so much! Im glad we were able to make your stay a great one and I hope you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nightndawn wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For a change I decided to stay it out a bit out of the way, and in a quiet area. La Terraza was one of the places that came up in the research.

The street in all cobble-stone, and the hotel in in the middle of the street. Had to wait a bit as the person at the front desk had stepped out. My room was large and quaint and on the first floor (ground floor for nonAmericans) in the back.

The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was so-so. You have to wait for a minute or so for the hotwater to start coming. The rooms open into a common area with a sofa, a stationary workout bike, and a shelf with books left by visitors from the past.

The roof has a small soaking pool, and a japanese style beer, softdrinks and sake vending machine which takes CC and Apple Pay :) From the roof you can see into the port, get a beer and sit down for a drink.

In the morning, you can get coffee from the front desk where there is a old fashioned coffee maker. I would say it was delightful to get an espresso as well as Cafe au-lait.

There is also a bar to the side of the main entrance, which I never say to be in use. Entry after hours is through the side gate with a secret code combination lock.

The only slight hassle was insufficient outlets for charging. But, I carry a small power strip and used the side lamp outlet to charge my devices.

I would stay there if I were staying in Old San Juan.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mariyoan Guzman, Revenue Management at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 11 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review, We are glad that you took every detail of our beautiful enchanted Hotel to describe it in this remarkable review, you made it clear that you discovered our hidden gem. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Deborah.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnotherOntarioguy wrote a review Feb 2020
Ontario
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked through Expedia as did my friends. Price per night was advertised on Expedia as "Limited time offer: save 40%"
Arrived and was assigned a room on the first floor behind the luggage storage. No window to the outside, only a glass window on top of the door. It was useless in the day time and at night the light from the hall shone in. My friends ended up with better rooms, on higher floors, with windows. We all paid the same price.
Complained to the clerk and was told too bad, that they were sold out. Despite the discount claims by Expedia, better rooms booked directly with the hotel were approximately US$70 / night cheaper if booked directly with the hotel. Lesson learned. Will avoid Expedia next time.
I will say everything seemed clean and the old town location is handy for walking around.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If the clerk hands you keys to 2A, complain.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Capitana, Owner at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 26 Feb 2020
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with Expedia and that this is impacting your experience with us. I am happy that you liked our location and cleanliness. Hope that you choose us again in the future and reach out to us so that we can accommodate you in a room that best fits your needs. Hope you come back soon to out beautiful Old San Juan. Kindly, Mari
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eyrops wrote a review Aug 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
From start to finish, a terrible experience.

Upon arrival, we were ignored for 10 minutes while the receptionist made coffee for someone. When we finally were given our key, it was to a unit that was only accessible by walking through the hotel’s luggage storage. The unit’s bedroom had no windows. It had a sitting chair that was so worn that it hurt to sit on it— your butt went straight to the frame. Worse, the bed mattress was collapsed from overuse— there was a deep indentation in the shape of a human body. The sheets and quilt were thin and worn, the kind you would expect in a youth hostel, not a hotel costing $200+ per night.

When I asked for a change, they did accommodate. The new unit was better, but it was still very bad. Water steadily dripped from the ceiling in the bathroom, and one side of the bedsheets had little dots that looked like dried blood (bug bites?). The main door had shutters, meaning that noise traveled in constantly from the hallway.

All around, this might be the worst hotel I’ve stayed at during the last 10 years— and I travel every few weeks when there isn’t a pandemic. Strongly recommend you book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mariyoan Guzman, Revenue Management at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear guest, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I personally remember checking you in while covering our Front Desks agent break. As soon as I saw you come in through the door I asked you if you were checking in to let you know that I was going to be with you next after finishing with the current clients I was attending. They asked me for coffee which we offer at check in and as soon as I finished with their check in and coffee, I was diligently providing you with a free early check in and walked you to your room. I am sorry that you felt ignored but my intention was to be polite and recognized your presence since I saw you coming into the Hotel. The bedroom assigned is exactly what you booked and has a more than 5 windows. The bed area does not have a window but its open door concept makes the room very luminous. When you mentioned your disconformity with the room we did not hesitate to change you to another unit. Our bed sheets are high quality and we are more than happy to change them if you are not satisfied with them. Again, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope you did enjoy our beautiful rooftop views and enchanting location in the heart of Old San Juan. Kindly, Mari
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert S wrote a review Oct 2023
Stow, Ohio
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There is no AC in any part of the hotel except the rooms. No restaurant, the bar is closed due to being ‘slow season’, floors are tile and look beautiful but are dirty. I have ‘stuff’ on the bottom of my feet walking around the room. Room has 2 doubles or queens, 4 guests are allowed but only 1 hand towel, 2 bath towels and no wash clothes. And nothing to stand on coming out of the shower. AC cannot be controlled by the guest(s), to operate it you have to go down to the front desk to have the manager come up to the room with a remote control and adjust and set the temp. Why not just call down and ask the manager to come up and adjust the AC… because these are no phones in the room(s).

I booked three nights and had to prepay through Booking.com and will likely not get any refund when we check out in the morning after just one night.

We thought it would be nice to stay in Olde San Juan instead of our usual US resort style property, to be close to shops and dining but have learned our lesson to stick with what we know. Will be staying at the Hilton Embassy Suites Resort the remainder of the week.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Desk, General Manager at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 8 Dec 2023
As a boutique hotel we strive to provide a different kind of experience and we recognize it is not for everyone. In attempts to bring our hotel to competetive standards some compromises are made. We are sorry you did not complete your stay but we hope that you enjoyed your stay in puerto rico anyway.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bruced891 wrote a review Mar 2020
Carleton Place, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked a room at this hotel . We were staying there the day before our cruise was leaving. The cruise was cancelled. We contacted Expedia to cancel the room , we were told that the hotel wouldn't give us a refund . We will be going to San JUan to go on the cruise , we will never at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mariyoan Guzman, Revenue Management at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. During these difficult times we have had to take very difficult decisions with respect to guest stays and staff members. Everyone who booked directly with us was offered at least a credit for a future stay, while others were refunded.There are things that we could have probably done better or faster and I apologize if you feel we were not up to the circumstances on your specific request. I hope that you can come to Puerto Rico soon and give us the opportunity to host the experience of a lifetime in our iconic boutique hotel. Kindly, Mari
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E K wrote a review Feb 2020
Lima, Peru
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Believe it or not, we didn't actually stay at La Terraza. But with two small kids and loads of bags, we found ourselves in an evening rainstorm with no keys for the place we were staying across the street. The staff at La Terraza were amazingly kind - welcoming us into their beautiful lobby bar and letting us drink hot chocolate and use the wifi until the stars aligned. I can only imagine how great it would be to stay here. The common areas were stylish and very clean, and staff are the friendliest ever. Next time we're in Viejo San Juan, we'll definitely book in here. Gracias La Terraza.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Capitana, Owner at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. We are happy to have been your Oasis for a while. Hope you come back to Old San Juan soon! Best regards, Mari
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David B wrote a review Mar 2022
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful, well-situated hotel. We had a lovely, spacious room.

But this place can't provide the basics. We had no hot water during our stay.
There weren't enough towels in the room and there were no glasses.
And the internet was terrible, almost unusable.
The guy at the front desk wasn't very welcoming and seemed rather uninformed about the amenities and the hotel's breakfast situation

On the first day when I told the front desk guy about the lack of hot water, he told me it would be fixed the next day. The next day came and still no hot water. The front desk clerk just shrugged when I asked about having no hot water. I guess it's a common thing at this hotel. I was told I would get a discount, but since I booked it through hotels.com, I am not expecting to see anything back from them.

They charge alot of money for such sub-standard basics. I would think that providing hot water would be a fundamental service for your hotel customers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Desk, General Manager at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Hot water at times trips the breakers and is supposed to be a quick and easy fix. We do apologize for our front desks lack of coordination and our hot water system has since been replaced so no further issues should ever occur. Thanks so much for choosing La Terraza for your lodging needs and we hope you got home safe and sound!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana F wrote a review Jan 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed here in 2016 I expected to have a similar experience. Unfortunately the neglect and apathy of front desk shows in every aspect. We could stand at desk for a long time without being acknowledged. Was charged for coffee for the first two days despite it being a complimentary item. Room was filthy upon check in. When I brought up room not being clean I was told “ it will be better tomorrow “. No room cleaning for two more days. I had to ask/plea for towels, toilet paper every day. At one point the front desk told my husband “ you don’t get towels in that unit”. We took out our garbage daily. All this despite charged a cleaning fee. Toilet did not work well and when it stopped working all together was told by staff it would be fixed the next day. Of course this was not acceptable and was then offered to be moved to a room with one single bed for four adults. The next day the water was turned off to the entire hotel for many hours without notice. Elevator to terrace was sketchy and has not been serviced since 2019 per the inspection notice. We opted to take stairs after seeing this.
Sad to see such a beautiful place run down with neglect. Despite the good location it really does not make up for the other stress of staying here. Rooftop terrace is okay but hard to relax with multiple daily tours that they allow to come up on the terrace. Very strange with Covid to have a group tour standing around your pool side chair.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Desk, General Manager at La Terraza de San Juan
Responded 8 Dec 2023
There is no excuse for our staff to be treating guests in such a manner. We do so apologize for the poor reception you received and our staff have been sternly reminded to be tending to guests with the utmost urgency. Thank you for staying with us and we hope your next stay will be what it should have been to begin with.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Reservations D
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
We do no make holds at the time of check-in.
Yara V asked a question Apr 2021
Puerto Rico7 contributions3 helpful votes
For those who have stayed: how is the cleanliness?
racmel asked a question Nov 2019
Puerto Rico
How old do you have to be to check in?
Answer from rhyank713
Cumming, Georgia6 contributions1 helpful vote
You must be 18 years old, per PR law.
Answer from Fernando Pacheco
Tampa, Florida3 contributions3 helpful votes
Agreed, depends on availability. We arrived at 10am and they had our room ready. So got keys, left our stuff in our room, and headed immediately to explore Old San Juan.
Answer from Gustavo H
Hi, Thank you for your not at all lame inquiry. We all love to relax and watch a movie after fun and adventure. Our tv´s are smart and have cable TV but are not connected to netflix. If you have a netflix account you can use it, however. Please do not hesitate to contact us with further questions. Best wishes, Mari
Paul M wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Staff said parking 4 blocks away it was 9"
Read full review
Myera R wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here. Has bed bugs!"
Read full review
Yevgeny Arkadov... P wrote a tip Feb 2024
15 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t plan on using the amenities. Beds and baths are nice. Staff is friendly but have their hands tied by management. I’d stay here again!"
Read full review
louisecritzroot wrote a tip Dec 2023
Weaverville, North Carolina3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Also, the rooftop terrace is very nice but the bar is closed. The main floor bar is also closed"
Read full review
Tom P wrote a tip Nov 2023
Grapevine, Texas2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel if you can, better optioms available for the price"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Juan area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,774 - ₹22,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoSan Juan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA TERRAZA DE SAN JUAN - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about La Terraza de San Juan
Which popular attractions are close to La Terraza de San Juan?
Nearby attractions include Old San Juan (0.3 km), 7ven Seas Jewelry (0.2 km), and Castillo de San Cristobal (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Terraza de San Juan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at La Terraza de San Juan?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Terraza de San Juan?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Terraza de San Juan?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Terraza de San Juan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charlie's Burgers , Don Tako San Juan, and Sofia's Italian Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Terraza de San Juan?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Terraza de San Juan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to La Terraza de San Juan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old San Juan (0.3 km), San Juan National Historic Site (1.0 km), and Castillo San Felipe del Morro (1.0 km).
Is La Terraza de San Juan accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All San Juan HotelsSan Juan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San JuanHotels near La Terraza de San Juan
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire