We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Canario Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Canario Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canario Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Grand Prairie, Texas
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We had booked for 4 days, stayed only 1 day, no parking, no phone, toilet didnt flush, wi-fi internet not working, 1 toilet paper 1/2 ways, tiny ants, booked with 2 beds got 1, horrible customer service.. We asked for refund, they immediately said no, that it stated no refunds on cancellations they could care less all the failures all...

Thank Mary D
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with your room. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We sincerely hope you have had a wonderful experience in our beautiful island.

Reviewed 15 April 2016

Located in the middle of downtown Puerto Rico. Parking is one building away in the Marriott Hotel Parking lot and not free, an additional $22.00. During the week, the traffic is horrible. Hotel desk people are very nice. Beach is a short walk behind the hotel. No breakfast, however there is a community kitchen for use. I was grateful to...

Thank fl02u
Miguel H, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are always looking to make improvements to satisfy your needs. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Not fancy - but oh so comfy. It was very clean. Staff was helpful and courteous. The AC in the room was perfectly ice cold after our humid afternoon walking old San Juan. There are several restaurants and shops within walking distance. There is a small beach nearby, but the access is not ideal if you are carrying beach supplies.

Thank theresa c
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that awesome review! We are always looking to better our service with our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you coma and stay with us next time you visit our island.

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 March 2016

It is a nice place to stay. Nothing fancy. It is on a busy avenue with food and drinks nearby. Very close to the beach. The room we were in was pretty small and a bit more expensive for what we got than I had hoped, but it was a clean, safe place to stay.

Thank Brian B
nathashabonet, Digital Marketing & Social Media at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian B! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Let me start off by saying the staff are liars and will do anything for a penny! There is absolutely no customer service and we will never stay or tell anyone to stay there!!! We went without electricity from 930 in the morning till 1045 at night and for some strange reason when we demanded to be put In another...

2Thank Kristen H
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Dated, basic and over priced, it is hard to find any redeeming feature to mention about this hotel. The staff were inhospitable. The bed was small and spongy. Worst of all there was a generator next door that made a constant noise akin to a two-stroke petrol motor mower rendering sleep impossible. The nitwit at reception informed me that it...

1Thank aussiepiper
nathashabonet, Digital Marketing & Social Media at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! We're so sorry that you think that there's no "redeeming feature to mention about this hotel". We are located in one of the most tourist areas of San Juan and the island. You're steps away from amazing restaurants, shops, bars, beaches and great nightlife. And for a good price in comparison with other hotels in the area. We're so...

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Horrible. Extreme noisy. There is a kind of air conditioner or generator beside the hotel working extreme loud all the time. Impossible to sleep. At the front desk they said they would turn it of, but just lies. Internet doesn't work. TV doesn't work. Air conditioner is old and loud. I asked for a check out at 2pm as compensation...

1Thank Fpischel
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I did not expect much but There was nothing worked. TV and internet did not work. There was no intercom phone so if you need anything you have to walk to the front desk only. No hair dryer, no iron, no coffee or drinking water, awful breakfast. Literally just bed, shower and toilet. I'd rather paid a little more for...

1Thank Nunu L
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I enjoyed my stay in Feb 2014 (not March 2015), to the point of going back this year. Yes, it's an old hotel, a bit spanish looking, but then again I went there becauseI didn't want to go to the modern Casino-type fancy hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and nice. The room was big, we had two beds (I...

Thank dane g
nathashabonet, Digital Marketing & Social Media at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dane! Thanks for writing us a review about your stay. We're looking forward to have you again this year in our small boutique hotel. Yes, indeed, we provide beach towels to all of our guests. We understand how uncomfortable is to have beach towels in luggages. Like you said, we're not a fancy high-end hotel. We're like your home...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 February 2016

This place far exceeded our expectations. Small resort - compared to the massive buildings around - 3 story resort, with beautiful outdoor patios, kitchen available off the patio with refrigerator, microwave, etc. and rooftop patio for enjoying sunrise/sunset. Off Ashford Ave., a block away from Condado gay beach and access to a lot of restaurants, bars, convenient stores AND a...

1Thank Gustavo G
nathashabonet, Digital Marketing & Social Media at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gustavo! Wow! We're so happy that you loved your stay in El Canario Boutique Hotel. Definitely, it's a great location with a lot of restaurants, good beaches, shops and bars. We're going to pass your suggestion to management to see what they can do. It's an amazing idea! We'll be lucky to have you back one day in our...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (49)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (2)
View from Room (2)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 46 in San Juan
296 reviews
0.4 km away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 46 in San Juan
866 reviews
0.6 km away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#31 of 46 in San Juan
269 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
1.0 km away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Canario Boutique Hotel

Address: 1317 Cond Ashford Plz, San Juan 00911-1102, Puerto Rico (Formerly Canario Inn)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: ₹ 6,471 - ₹ 12,941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canario Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Canario Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario Hotel San Juan
El Canario Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canario Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Palm Desert, California
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Canario Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel's website provides pictures of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles johnfO1796QB, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Any room is nice, quieter away from the street. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles ModdyinVermont, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, clean and easily accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles L5509SEgustavog, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are very simple and I believe they are simila. As the Avenue is a main one , better not stay in the front rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 830irenep, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No elevators so, keep that in mind!”
 of 5 bubbles jetset02116, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay