We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Jimmy Cliff Boulevard, Montego Bay Jamaica
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$146
View deal
Booking.com
$163
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$120
View deal
Hotels.com$146
Travelocity$146
Priceline$164
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (113)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (88)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Altamont West Hotel
Updated 21/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 75 hotels in Montego Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Altamont West is a newly refurbished 31 room boutique hotel located on Montego Bay's "Hip Strip". Situated across the street from the Walter Fletcher white sand beach, and home to the much sought-after "Body Bliss" Spa, the hotel has a swimming pool and free wireless internet. Rates include a full Breakfast. All rooms have air-conditioning, 32" wall-mounted flat screen TV, iron and ironing board, electronic safe, and hair dryer. A conference room is also on property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
174Reviews18Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 68
  • 44
  • 9
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Boss Lady wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I will recommend this hotel to anyone their customer service was excellent the ground staffs was so friendly and helpful. The kitchen staffs was pleasant always had that morning smile. The front desk clerk Danick was exceptional helpful, friendly and pleasant. I forgot to inform my bank about my travel plans and as a result I had problem using my card when trying to extend my stay, surprisingly Danick went way an beyond in helping deal with my issue. Danick thank you, you are one of the main reason I will recommend this hotel. Ms Solomon
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lorna S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Person at front desk was pleasant check was quick, the room was big and clean, very comfortable despite the stairs leading up to check in and to the room, help was available for taking up suitcases up to room. Arrange for pickup at the airport was smooth a very pleasant driver . Although stay was one night things were comfortable. I would recommend , and I would stay there again. For free services provided I am not sure as used it for a stop over.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ocean view would be nice, but there is a patio which gives a fairly good view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Delphine N wrote a review Aug 2022
Lome, Togo257 contributions93 helpful votes
Perfect place for a short stay in Montego Bay because it's along a busy road where you can here the traffic all day and night long. Very kind people, good table, and the spa below is great. Choose the ocean view if you can, it's beautiful but that also the road side.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not far from Montego Bay Airport, nice place to stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
opal wrote a review Jul 2022
El Paso, Texas1 contribution
Check in staff friendly and personable. This is a cute small stop over hotel/motel. The beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom clean. Jamaican breakfast was included and was satisfying. Located in an area walking distance to margeritaville and the pelican grill and a five minute ride to the Montego Bay airport!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Can be noisy from traffic and guests.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mqc wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
It was a lovely stay! Daniek who works at the front desk is very accommodating and is truly amazing employee who deserves a promotion! I would definitely recommend. In fact, I already did! 😂 That pic is the view from my room.😍🌴
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kische L wrote a review May 2022
11 contributions
+1
Stayed in King-size Sea view room. Loved it! Beautiful bathroom with walk-in shower. Excellent service. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Large hotel terrace facing beach. Tasty breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed the two-night stay. No lift. Busy road but assistants at hand with traffic sign, to stop the traffic. 5 minute taxi ride to airport. 5 minute walk from two beaches: Harmony park and Doctor’s Cave.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donahue Jarrett, Marketing at Altamont West Hotel
Responded 16 May 2022
Hi Kischel - Thanks for the review. Fully appreciated. Even though its just two flights of easy stairs, one of the mid-term goals is to install an elevator. Weappreciate your feedback. Very helpful. Looking forward to having you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robbi D wrote a review Apr 2022
78 contributions5 helpful votes
After a late day flight that was cancelled 5 hours after it was supposed to take off, and with zero help from our airline, my partner found Altamont West on booking.com at 11pm when the airport was telling everyone they had to leave the premises. The MBJ person working with drivers gave us the thumbs up. Upon arrival, there was another couple from our flight already there, then shortly another couple, and a solo traveler. God Bless the poor security guard who had to call for a manager to come in to help us all out. We were patient and were in our room by midnight. It was clean, had hot water, and a working a/c. We were going back to the airport at 7:30am so that was really all we needed. Drawbacks: there is a club across the street and the rooms are not sound proofed. Got to listen to some karaoke that rapidly devolved as it got closer to 2am ;) And if you're expecting a resort level experience ala Secrets/Hilton/Sandals, this is not your place. It was really cool to see the pictures of celebrities that had stayed there back in the 50's when Jamaica was just starting to become a "destination."
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donahue Jarrett, Marketing at Altamont West Hotel
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Hi Robbi - Thanks for taking the time to write your honest review. Fully appreciated. Sorry about the off key Karaoke. Glad we were able to help you through this experience. Sorry also that you didn’t stay long enough to see why the majority of our guests are multiple repeat customers, and to experience the restaurant or the swimming pool Thanks again All the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacy wrote a review Apr 2022
Denver, Colorado125 contributions90 helpful votes
Jamaica's star rating must be much different then Americas. This claims its a 3 star - that's a joke. The room room didn't close, we barricaded the door closed with our luggage and used the chain on the door and also put the dresser there. The restaurant on site had cockroaches walking around. The staff said there was curried goat that was it other than french fries...we declined and went hungry. The walls are paper thin, cars and motorcycles were extremely loud except from approx.2-3am. Needless to say the beds were not comfortable. The shower made me feel dirty looking at it so I didn't take one. The TV didn't work either.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are no quiet or good rooms, check-in is on the 2nd floor, no elevator
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donahue Jarrett, Marketing at Altamont West Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Firstly, after a thorough review, none of our records have any evidence of you having stayed at Altamont West. Nor is the photo that is associated with your profile recognizable by any of the staff, and no one received any complaints about anything that you mentioned. All of our rooms have electronic locks which function perfectly. Our doors have absolutely no problem closing properly. You claim to have barricaded the door and "used the chain". Chains are what Hotels used back in the 1990's. We don't use chains. We use deadbolts. There is also a second one on the electronic lock. We have been running a full house for some weeks now with quite happy guests. It would be difficult for anyone to believe that when the hotel is running full you would be offered a choice of "Curried goat or fries" when our a la carte menu has such a wide variety of options... Similarly no one in the restaurant - which very recently ( six days ago) passed the Ministry of Health's routine inspection with flying colours - knows what you're talking about (especially about roaches). If there were roaches I am 100% sure other guests would have seen them too - which they didnt, because there were none to see. We take our cleanliness and adherence to local and international standards very seriously. You clearly have made a mistake.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrismor wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I recently stayed at this hotel with my mom. It was a last minute stay because my mom was in an accident at the airport. We therefore, needed somewhere to stay after my mom was released from the hospital. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk to greet us. The security guard had to leave his post to assist me with sourcing the check in documents I needed. Upon entering our room we noticed that there was no kettle or hot pot available. My mom desperately wanted something warm to drink as she had a traumatic day between the accident and the hospital. There was no one available to help us get some warm water. I even asked for a mug or styrofoam cup to use the microwave and the security guard did not know where to find this. To make matters worse, I stepped on an exposed nail in the floor. The next day I filed my complaints with the front desk and the manager was not compassionate or understanding about our plight. I was disgusted with his behavior and told him I would not pay for such a horrific stay. He then threatened to call the police on myself and my mom. I will never stay at this mistake for a hotel again. The staff does not care about their guests and the manager should be fired for how disrespectful he was.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donahue Jarrett, Marketing at Altamont West Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Firstly - Thanks for taking the time to write the review and again, sorry about your mom’s accident. It was clear in the morning that you were still in an agitated state, as anyone would be following such an ordeal. This may account for the fact that I was called to speak to you since you were declaring that you would pay for breakfast but not for the room. My very first words to you were to express empathy for your mom’s situation, while you were shouting at me at the top of your lungs on the phone. You may recall also that you shouted that you were “in the lobby and all the guests can hear” you saying how bad an experience you were having. The front desk explained to you in the morning that we typically do not rent unreserved rooms after the front desk closes ( as a result of the Covid 19 protocols), which is also why you were struggling to find a hotel with the front desk open at that time of the night and why (when asked why, given the problems you said you encountered, you didn’t try to find other accommodations) you said in the morning that you had no choice. We ( the security guard - using his initiative given your circumstances) were in fact doing our very best to facilitate you according to our usual service standards by checking you in, especially without a payment . I was asked to speak to you only because even before I spoke to you, you took the position that you would “ pay for breakfast but nothing for the room” . and that if we charged your card, when you got home you would simply tell the credit card company that it was a fraudulent charge and get a chargeback. You also said you were going to leave ( without paying) at which time , having not been able to reason with you, I reminded you that obtaining goods or services under false pretenses is actually fraud and that I would contact the authorities. Way before this I offered you a 50% discount which you rejected, instead insisting that you wouldnt pay a cent.. Your complaints about the possibility of missing your flight were not unconsidered. I quickly typed up an agreement that you signed acknowledging the (50%) charge. It is unfortunate that you had to experience Altamont West, consistently loved by most guests, under these stressful circumstances. We wish you all the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joni-Gaye C wrote a review Mar 2022
Jamaica240 contributions96 helpful votes
I am a repeat guest of the Altamont West Hotel. This hotel never disappoints. The room, bathroom and entire property are clean. Friendly, smiling staff greet you at check-in and ensure you have everything you need. The bed was big and comfy. Breakfast was delicious, served neatly on a rectangular plate. I had steamed fish, steamed vegetables, fried dumpling, boiled yam, dumpling. I recommend this hotel as the perfect bed and breakfast close to the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The parking lot is small
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Belvedere Beach Hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint James ParishMontego Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Altamont West Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Altamont West Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Margaritaville After Dark Nightclub Experience (0.4 km), Cosmos and Canvas (0.4 km), and Aquasol Beach Park (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Altamont West Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Altamont West Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Altamont West Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Altamont West Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Altamont West Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pork Pit, The Pelican Grill, and Marguerites.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Altamont West Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Altamont West Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Altamont West Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Altamont West Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barnett Estate Plantation (1.5 km) and The Cage (1.9 km).
Is Altamont West Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.