We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Occidental Caribe

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Occidental Caribe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Occidental Caribe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,427: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We've been back from the D.R for about one week now. we spent 6 nights at this resort, and while it wasn't great it wasn't all bad either. First of all we checked in 3 hrs late, due to flight delay, and our room still wasn't ready. Further more, they had no clue WHEN it would be ready. By this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kay C
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Kay, First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Barcelo Punta Cana. We are happy to see that there are elements of resort that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service...

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Barcelo was an average 3star resort. The beach is amazing! Restaurants were amazing, but make reservations before you get there, worked splendidly for us. If you try to get reservations or change while you are there, not going to happen. The buffet has good things but can be very busy!! No waiters in the buffet or we didn't have one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan E
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We really appreciate your comments, we have taken note and we will consider it to help us for continue to improve our services. Our main goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction to which we assure you...

Montgomery, Texas, United States
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Absolutely the worst all inclusive resort experience that we have had. The staff at the hotel were down right rude. The experience begins with the most unorganized check-in that I have had to endure. Our first room was infested with bugs and the bath room had not been cleaned. The rooms and facilities have not been maintained - a/c, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Krade
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Barcelo Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. At Barcelo Punta Cana we work continuously every day to improve our facilities, being your comments very important to reach this goal. We appreciate if you join us once again in the future and you can change...

new jersey
Reviewed 21 July 2013

i dont know where to begin..... big mistake. kids without diapers in pools, or any clothes at all, . local people fill this hotel on weekends, language and ghetto like atomesphere. awful, service, housekeeping at 7-8 pm ?? kids got bed bugs, food rough, service sluggish all around. front desk awful. do not go to this resort!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank rob c
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor. We are very sad to read that we couldn’t fill your expectations regarding our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service, in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of all our guests. We take all guest feedback very seriously; therefore we appreciate...

Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful pool. The food...average. the restaurants are better. You have to reserve.the room was normal. The chairs and the little carpets in the room very very dirty. We were in the first floor and it was very noisy all the time.our upside neighbors were moving all night their chairs or table.we cant do anything. The animation...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank millyg131
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Milly, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana. We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Barcelo Resorts as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing...

Owings Mills, Maryland
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel was excellent in every way but what we mostly enjoyed was the Barcy kids club where our daughter Samantha really loved & raved about how much fun she was having & every morning became a new adventure for her, Special thanks to the staff at the Barcy kids club & especially Bolivia, Lucy & Rosmeri for their love...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samuel M
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Samuel, Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com. In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff at the Barcy Club. We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have just come back from our vacation from Punta Cana, and have mixed feelings about the resort. It was not terrible, so i would like to highlight the good before the bad. GOOD! The beach was amazing and it was very clean! We loved resting under the Palm trees while enjoying the beach views. The hotel staff was okay,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ana_Selamaj
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Ana, First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Barcelo Punta Cana. We are happy to see that there are elements of resort that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was my first time in Dominican and I was not too impressed but I still had I good time. Checking in was pretty easy and quick, they had drinks waiting for us and someone to assist us to our rooms! Once we got to the rooms we weren't very impressed, it was an average room but very old and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meagannxx
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Meagan, Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers. We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. Please allow us to inform you that most...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Good: We went to Punta Cana to celebrate my son's 15th birthday and had a great time. I agree with the other comments that the food is just okay. The best food was at the Tokyo restaurant. Food was tasty and the service was great. We celebrated my son's birthday there and they made him feel extra special. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Love2TravelHot
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the Tripadvisor community. We would like to thank you for highlighting our strengths and weaknesses. Please be sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order...

Elizabeth, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It was a terrible experience, the food was not good at all especially in their buffet. I would not recommended this hotel as a hotel to be visited for tourists around the world. Do not believe in the pictures posted on the internet of this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wilson M
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Wilson, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor. We are very so sad to read that we couldn’t fill your expectations regarding our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service, in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of all our guests. With reference to the meals, we would like to...

8,248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7985)
Viewed
Room/Suite (687)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1891)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1108)
Viewed
Dining (502)
Viewed
Bathroom (174)
Viewed
View from Room (372)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (157)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (41)
Viewed
6:29
Videos (13)
Viewed
Other (3040)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Adult Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (9)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Deluxe (35)
Viewed
Jacuzzis (PRE-RENOVATION) (4)
Viewed
Quiet Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (9)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Suite (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
30.6 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
910 reviews
5.7 km away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#19 of 25 in Bavaro
540 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.0 km away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#78 of 110 in Punta Cana
323 reviews
6.5 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range: ₹ 7,919 - ₹ 19,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo
Hotel Style:
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Caribe staff and other travellers.
489 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (489)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Caribe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is not the place for you.”
 of 5 bubbles VanessaB931, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Building 2 – facing the water/pool (2 to 3 floor)”
 of 5 bubbles johnbE7524OB, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the renovated section.”
 of 5 bubbles stevesP7433CB, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a suite, as it will be a little quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 36edward, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother buying an "oceanfront" room because I had an incredible view of the main pool and beach from the standard suite.”
 of 5 bubbles genor2015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5