We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
47 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Exclusive discounts!
Booking.com
$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$222
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Destinia.com
$213
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Expedia.com$231
travelup.com$242
yescapade.com$294
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (13546)
360
Panoramas (10)
Videos (2)

About

#126 of 201 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Hot bath
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive discounts!
12217Reviews1848Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,505
  • 3,425
  • 1,660
  • 830
  • 799
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
alyssa s wrote a review Jan 2023
. When I checked in on January 14th I have never been so disgusted in a hotel room before in my life. The room was covered in dead mosquitos all over the walls, bed and left blood on the floor. Also the room was infested with mosquitos but we just assumed that the door may have been left open and the problem would resolve itself. So we went to the front desk to make a complaint about the issue, they were very dismissive to the problems almost like it’s not the first time they have heard this and they would send a cleaner to the room. By the time we walked back to the room there was a cleaner that did remove the dead bugs, clean the floor, and did spray bug spray to get rid of the infestation. Every day just seemed to get worse and worse, we would wake up in the morning with 10-15 mosquito bites all over our arms and legs. While showering we would be fighting off mosquitos and there would be dead ones on the floor of the tub, hard to feel clean when you’re fighting off bugs. If we had to use the bathroom during our stay we would have to walk to the lobby bathroom just to ensure we wouldn’t get more mosquito bites while just trying to use the bathroom. During our stay we received room service daily to clean the sheets and so forth. Every time new sheets were put on the bed they were stained yellow and appeared dirty. One night during our stay we went to get into bed and once we opened the covers there was a large noticeable blood stain on the sheets, I have never in my life have seen such poor cleanliness from a hotel of such stature like the bahia-principe. I am beyond disgusted with the customer service I have received at this hotel and I am beyond disgusted to find the amount of someone else’s blood in my room during my stay. That is not acceptable in my eyes. After multiple trips to the front desk looking for help we were treated poorly and nothing was ever fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your comments about your recent stay and highlight the good service provided by the staff. Regarding your comments about the cleanliness of the room, please allow us to inform you that these are subject to very strict supervision. It should be emphasized that the health and well-being of our guests are our priority and we follow a very strict program of cleaning and constant monitoring of all quality standards in our Hotel. On the other hand, about insects let us inform you that due to the tropical climate and the lush vegetation that surrounds our facilities and, taking into account that we are located in a protected mangrove area, the presence of certain species coming from outside cannot be avoided at all times; however, we do not have insect infestations in the resort. Nevertheless, since the well-being of our guests is our priority, we are very strict with sanitary measures. We also feel it is important to point out that we enforce insect and rodent control programs, through a strict fumigation program, which are carried out continuously. However, we deeply regret the unfortunate incident you experienced in this matter. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Best service and food at the resort. The resort only allowed 2 reservations per 5 night stay and only 3 for a 7 night stay. I wanted to visit the Italian or the Grill Steakhouse but was limited by the number of reservations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Dear Client, We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and mentioning the service, food, etc. We look forward to welcoming you soon! Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna K wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
First I would like to mention that the staff was extremely rude and unwelcoming, specifically in the reception area. Me and my mother arrived at the hotel at 12:00 pm. The check in time starts at 3:00 pm so they made us wait for 3 hours which is fine its a hotel policy. We got into a check in line around 2:40 pm and waited for an entire hour for someone to finally give us attention. The person who "helped" us out was Carlos, he had braces, he was disgustingly rude and was ONLY attentive to Spanish speakers. He literally let all the Spanish speakers skip the line and ignored people who did not speak Spanish. After giving us the key to the room he did not mention that we need to have a bell boy take us to the room to activate the key. Once we get to our villa the door was not unlocking and I had to go back for help. He was RUDE once again. The room was dirty and not taken care of and smelled like mold. At some point, we only had boiling hot water and no cold water at all. The cleaning service did not clean the rooms properly we even got dirty towels. The resort itself was way overpacked with people. The beach was impossible to go on because there was nowhere to sit and also had a lot of seaweed. The fruits in restaurants and buffet tasted like chlorine. The staff at the restaurants were ignoring us and brinng our food last. This was my first trip to Dominican Republic so I had high expectations. My mom on the other hand, stayed at several hotels in DR and thinks that this one is by far the worst. WASTE OF MONEY. HORRIBLE SERVICE.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We would like to offer our sincere apologies if you felt you did not receive the service you expected and rest assured that your feedback is of great importance to us. We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. Regarding your remarks about our staff, please allow us to inform you that your point of view has surprised us, as it is not usual for us to receive such comments from our customers, otherwise, we receive excellent remarks about their kindness and attention that characterizes the Dominican people. On the other hand, regarding your comments about the cleanliness of the room, allow us to inform you that these are subject to very strict supervision. It should be emphasized that the health and well-being of our guests are our priority and we follow a very strict program of cleaning and constant monitoring of all quality standards in our Hotel. Once again we regret any inconvenience you have experienced, but we look forward to welcoming you very soon at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gordon W wrote a review Jan 2023
2 helpful votes
Awful Resort. Just got back last week Have been to Dominican & Cuba several times. this is the worst Resort I have been to...Phone & safe did not work A/C crapped out during the night...New room next day and keys didn't work....rooms are very dated & NOT clean stairway & hall to our room had no lights Ran out of plates at the buffet almost a fight for them when they showed up. Lobby bar ran out of glasses every night beer was being served in Champagne, wine & plastic cups total crap!! one night at 9pm they ran out of Vodka & Rum.. they shut all the lights off in the Lobby around 11-11:30 and you are told to leave Lobby bathrooms.... door handles fell off didn't get fixed during our stay Small beach area packed like sardines, sand fleas & mosquitoes were really bad.. Pools & grounds were nice this resort could use a massive update!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: do not spend your money on this resort
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otros at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Gordonw09690fy, You can't imagine how sorry we are that your experience at our hotel was not what you expected. For us there is nothing more satisfying than the satisfaction of customers like you, so we sincerely want to offer you our apologies. Our intention is to provide you with a quality site, but we are aware that we have had failures, which we are analyzing to improve and provide a better service. We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay and have the opportunity to change any negative perceptions you may have had. Always at your disposal, Online reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmyB61194 wrote a review Jan 2023
Beach Haven, New Jersey5 contributions
-First of all, you are traveling to a Spanish speaking country so don't expect the workers and other guests to speak English. - The front desk was accomadating when we checked in and there was a problem with the AC in our room. They found us another room that had 2 beds and was on the ground floor since 1 of our party could not climb stairs. - The pool by the beach had just the right amount of entertainment and relaxing time (if you want all relaxing go to the pools in the middle of the complex). Osvaldo from the entertainment staff was always engaging with guests of all ages and smiles were always plenty. Especially enjoyed the young boy that assisted Osvaldo with leading the pool zumba workout. - We enjoyed the numerous locations and staggered times of the nightly entertainment (terrace, theater, Village). - We only ate at the Italian restaurant as the other available reservation times would not allow us to make the nightly shows but this was fine because we always found food at the buffet that we liked. - Of the 3 of us, only my daughter was bit by mosquitos in the evening but this stopped when she no longer applied scented lotion. Bug spray could be packed or purchased at the resort. Nightly bugs are not a fault of the resort. We have plenty on summer evenings in NJ. - The resort is very large in length but trams run all day / night which my mother took advantage of while my daughter and I walked as we liked the exercise and the beauty of the resort grounds. - The beach was small due to storm damage / erosion but there was always room at the many pools. - Be respectful of the overworked / underpaid workers as they are not as lucky as you to be on vacation! It is like groundhog day for them! Check people in and out every day, serve drinks every day, do the same dances every day, etc. They dream of visiting the US but know financially that it will never happen. My daughter actually witnessed one of the entertainment staff being yelled at for putting on music at the main pool (doing his job) and she was so embaressed to see an American behave like that. We are not priviledged! - Enjoy the beautiful weather and relax rather than notice every crack in the pool or complain about lack of plates at the buffet. - In summary, we really enjoyed the resort and wish we could have stayed. Special shout out to Osvaldo for his friendship during our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, All of us at our hotel are passionate about serving and exceeding our guests' expectations. We greatly appreciate your positive comments. Please let us know of your next visit to Punta Cana at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne R wrote a review Jan 2023
Ontario, Canada6 contributions10 helpful votes
We came here for our honeymoon. We arrived on a Wed @ 4pm and stood at the check-in counter for a good 15-20 mins watching 4-5 staff members look like they were busy doing something but doing nothing. Finally got some service. We advised it was our honeymoon because their website said you get a welcome pkg etc. The main thing we discovered at this resort is that most of the staff do not know any English, or very little. The staff members couldn't care less we were there for our honeymoon. We got nothing!! Lol We were shuttled off to our room in a little trolly buggy, which was nice. Our room was nice with no issues. Although the AC conked out on our last day here, ot was fixed immediately. You must throw toilet paper into a waste basket and not the toilet or you risk backing up your toilet system. Because it is such a big resort, there are trolley cars that go back and forth from the beach to the main lobby, dropping you off wherever you need along the way. The al la cartes - we absolutely enjoyed Mashua Nikkei, the Japanese/Peru restaurant. We ate there twice. The food was phenomenal and the service was excellent. The Garden Grill we did not enjoy at all. The service was mediocre (they seemed like they hated their job) and the meat was good but the baked potato seemed like it was prepped the day before. We mainly stayed at the upper pool with the music. It was much less busy than the pool down by the beach. Lots of smokers down there and it was crazy busy with lots of music from different sources so it was almost sensory overload. You had to be at the beach by 7am to get a chair on the beach if you wanted one. We never went because we were more pool people. The upper pool with the music was really nice, never really busy, so you could always get a shade lounger. The beach was absolutely beautiful and clean. We did enjoy walking it every day. The buffet food was ok. Lots of selection for food. The service was pretty good but no one spoke much English so brush up on your Spanish! Entertainment, the shows were cheesy but something to do at night. The White Night party was a lot of fun. Overall, I gave this resort a 4/5 as it wasn't as spectacular as I thought it would be. It seemed tired and the staff seemed over worked. They do work 12-16hr days for minimal wages. We did have a great time, but will check out a different resort next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are fair skin, bring high SPF!! The sunscreen at the resort is $20 for a Dominican brand....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate you sharing your opinion with us and mentioning the restaurants, service, etc. Please be assured that your feedback is important to us. We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. Regarding your remarks about our staff, please allow us to inform you that your point of view surprised us, as it is not usual for us to receive that kind of comments from our guests, otherwise, we received excellent remarks about their kindness and attention that characterizes the Dominican people. We apologize for the impression you may perceive from the language barrier with some of our staff members. Let us inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge of many languages, such as English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Russian, etc. and our Human Resources Department constantly offers courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However, we remind you that Spanish is our mother tongue and that our knowledge and/or pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect. However, we deeply regret the unfortunate incidents you experienced in relation to these issues. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
belcw wrote a review Jan 2023
Edwardsville47 contributions13 helpful votes
On the surface this is a beautiful property. That was the best part, especially in the evening walking around enjoying the beauty and pretty lighting. It is a very big property, somewhat impersonal, lots of walking. There are also convenient golf carts that take you around. We enjoyed the walking. The check-in was really problematic. We waited at least two hours with one person in front of us. We were afraid to change lines because it might have been even worse. When we finally got our room, they would only give us a room with a king bed and my friend did not want to share a bed with me. While one could overlook any particular issue, there were so many issues. To start with food which is pretty important. It was generally very bland, it looked good, but wasn't very tasty and often lukewarm. Some of the seafood--fresh shrimp, crab was a great exception. My companion is a vegetarian and there wasn't a single vegetarian dish in all the many offerings. The worst part in the buffet was the constant shortage of plates. They were always out of plates. When they came out, people would snatch them up from under you, they were so tired of waiting. In the buffet dining room the chairs are very uncomfortable. There were the same issues at the beach restaurant. Not enough plates, cold food, lines for freshly prepared pasta, etc. The rooms themselves are very spacious. The TV reception is really bad and I couldn't find any American stations such as CNN. The water pressure was always very low. The lighting in the room was terrible and at night, when I wanted to read, I could barely see the print in my book. There were old blue cushions on the bed that needed to be freshioned up. The extra facilities were disappointing. Three out of the five treadmills were out of commission and weren't repaired while we were there. The tennis courts were in really bad shape. The beach was populated with lounge chairs that were right on top of each other and were very hard to get. There was an abrupt fall away in the sand, at least a couple of feet down, and it was hard for me as an older person to negotiate this. In general the water was great and there wasn't very much seaweed. It was there but you could avoid it. You could take a lovely long walk on the beach.. We signed up as Bahia members before our trip, but we received none of the promised advantages. We tried calling the Bahia general phone number before the trip but got no answers. A couple of times we got response to our e-mails but they weren't helpful. The website says you can book your room in advance as a member but that never worked.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for mentioning the spacious rooms, beautiful property, etc. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, but rest assured that your comments have been submitted to the General Manager of our Resort with whom we will give due attention. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angel G wrote a review Jan 2023
I am very pleased from the service of Mrs Indiana Santana for her professional and kind response to the whole group of passengers. In this difficult times not everyone has such approach but she put all her efforts to help. Thank you very much. May the management knows that she is the best person that can handle difficult situations.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, All of us at our hotel are passionate about serving and exceeding our guests' expectations. We greatly appreciate your positive comments. Please let us know of your next visit to Punta Cana at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa A wrote a review Jan 2023
4 helpful votes
Check in is very disorganized and longgggg.. Dirty unkept rooms, they refused to give us more than 2 towels and we were a family of 4. Buffet was gross!! They only give you three restaurants reservations will the all inclusive package. ( they are good) . Beach is full of seaweed and so much plastic( it was wrapping around our legs when we swam) . Pools are awesome and the staff there is nice.( but its tough to find nice staff) I would never come back here. Save your money and go to Cuba its safer anyway. Everyone here is trying to rip you off! Its like 2 stars if even!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Dont book here! Its terrible! The only good thing was the pool and an excursion we did with a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otros at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Melissa, We cannot tell you how sorry we are with you for the inconveniences you had to go through during your stay. We understand whatever decision you prefer to make, however we sincerely value your opinion and suggestions which will help us to strive harder and correct those points mentioned in order to achieve complete customer satisfaction. As we implement these changes, we hope that we will be able to regularly test our ability to overcome this problem. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dawn C wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions4 helpful votes
This resort was a disappointment. We've stayed at three other Bahia Principe resorts and been pleased. This one does not measure up. Upon arrival, we discovered our room request was not honored despite being BP members and having stayed at 3 other BP properties, although we booked through Priceline this time and were not given any privileges. The check in employee was not particularly helpful in resolving our request. The person who booked our specialty restaurants did manage to get us a better room, but it still was not what we'd requested a week before. No ocean view, no balcony, not near the pool. The check in process needs to be better organized -separate the check in line from the other requests. People walk up to a shorter line after you've been waiting for 30 minutes and they get serviced first. Check in process was 45 minutes. Also, while booking our specialty restaurants, the guy told us men needed long pants for the New Year's dinner but when we said we didn't have any, he said my husband should be okay with a nice dress shirt and dress shorts. His English was okay but a little broken - we got the gist...or so we thought. Turns out, we could attend the New Year's dinner but NOT the specialty restaurants that required long pants for men. We got turned away from the restaurant. More on that below. Arrival to our room, I discovered a black hair in the tub and did not feel the room was clean. The sofa was badly soiled and there was almost NO lighting in the room. Very dim and hard to see. The minibar was barely cool. The bed was hard. The floor felt like it had sand on it all the time. We went to the Mediterranean restaurant, showed up promptly at 7:30 and the hostess said she could not find our reservation. We presented our receipt and even showed her the app that displayed our reservation. She finally said she found it, but her attitude was less than pleasant. She then proceeded to tell us that we could not enter because of the 'long pants' requirement for men. We feel she only enforced that because she felt challenged when she couldn't find our reservation and we showed her proof. We saw men in shorts in the Italian restaurant which had the same long pants requirement. We ended up at the main dining room eating COLD food, again. That was a huge disappointment...even food trays just brought out from the kitchen were cold. I told the person who booked our restaurants about the long pants requirement and he said he'd told us about it. He did not. He only mentioned the New Year's dinner and then said we should be okay with a dress shirt and dress shorts. He was adamant (even argumentative) that he told us long pants were required at all specialty restaurants. He did not. I complained of having to eat in the dining room where the food was cold and he said there was a 'big' microwave for guests to heat their food. I asked him if we were really supposed to heat our own food. Seriously? If he were service oriented, he would have taken the time when we said we had no long pants to look and see if any of the specialty restaurants did not require long pants and book us there. Turns out the Greek restaurant did not require long pants and we were able to keep that reservation. The Sportsbar was never open when we went there, even going during the posted open hours. The Peach Bowl was being played New Year's Eve and we wanted to watch it but couldn't because it was not being shown anywhere and the Sportsbar was closed. We tried going to Ambar's Sportsbar but were told we were not allowed because we had green wrist bands, not gold. And there was no posting about the New Year's Eve celebration in the Village. We accidentally found out about it. Upon arriving there, the music seemed to be geared toward a very young crowd, not mature adults like us. Also, the beach is in terrible shape and was a huge disappointment. Not at all like pictured. To be fair, they should post current photos or at least inform guests there are issues. Believe the other reviews you read about this resort complaining about the beach. Areas were roped off for safety. Palm tree roots exposed, trees falling over, and beach washed away made for a super unpleasant beach experience. Neighboring resorts had nicer beaches. Also, they need to have more English speaking employees. Too many times we asked for help only to get a 'no understand' type of response and finger pointing to someone else who might help. And the concierge does not always answer the phone, nor do they speak English. We were so disappointed in the food because it was always COLD. Even new trays from the kitchen were cold. And often they did not change signs from the last meal time so the tray didn't match the sign and you didn't know what you were looking at. Wait staff was pleasant in the dining room. I did ask the dining room manager for a banana, which were never out on the buffet, and he went to the back and brought me some. We thought about telling him how the food was always cold but figured he knew it and didn't know how to solve it. He seemed very customer focused. Overall we enjoyed the pool and the Latin music and the grounds, but that's about it. We won't be going back. We expected a lot more for the money we spent on the resort and plane tickets.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book through their website or be treated less than. Men pack long pants. Choose a different BP...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. It is through this type of communication that our guests allow us to evaluate our daily performance. Rest assured that these have already been transferred to the Food & Beverage department to analyze the points you mention. We are pleased that you mentioned the gardens, music, pools, etc. We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. We wish to offer our sincerest apologies if you felt you did not receive the service you expected and rest assured that your feedback is of great importance to us. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia punta cana, grand bahia principe punta cana, bahia principe dominican republic, gran bahia principe bavaro resort, punta cana bahia principe, gran bahia principe bavaro punta cana, principe punta cana, bahia punta cana, bahia resort principe, gran bahia principe dominican republic, gran bahia principe bavaro hotel, grand bahia punta cana, grand bahia principe bavaro, gran bahia principe resort punta cana, bahia principe punta cana dominican republic, hotel gran bahia principe punta cana, gran bahia principe punta cana hotel dominican republic
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
744
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAHIA PRINCIPE GRAND BAVARO (Punta Cana) - All-inclusive Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.8 km), Splash Water Park (1.0 km), and Pacha Discotheque (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Sa Roqueta By Casa Balear, and Restaurant Maiko.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.