We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Los Corales, El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301 Dominican Republic
24 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Booking.com
$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official website
$135
View deal
Hotels.com$168
Travelocity$168
Hurb$201
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1026)
Pool & Beach (351)
Room & Suite (149)

About

#92 of 200 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in front of the beach, whala!bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Full body massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Taxi service
Massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more
802Reviews93Q+A55Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 304
  • 185
  • 111
  • 82
  • 120
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jenefer H wrote a review 19 Jan
Ottawa, Canada10 contributions
Initially we were very disappointed with our room. The shower had no hot water and when you ran it it flooded the bathroom floor. And the toilet did not flush properly in spite of it being plunged! But the front desk staff - Waldron and Franklin were most helpful and efficient in moving us into another room the next day. It was an upgraded room in the building right on the beach with the best views ever. We were so grateful, and this move completely changed our whole vacation for the better. The choice of food was good, and sufficient for us. However, we ate mainly salads and vegetables as the meat and fish offerings were not all that appetizing. Although the location is close to restaurants and shops, being an older couple, we decided it was safer to just stay put. There were plenty of security guards surrounding the resort, all of whom were diligent and friendly. The stretch classes and dancercise on the beach were fun. But the incessant loud music not only blasting from the bars and resort but also the restaurant next door for 12 hrs a day did not do much for a peaceful holiday. Also at any time there were 5-8 dogs in packs barking and running around the beach. They appeared to be friendly but barked a lot. The chickens and roosters hopping around the beach only added to what I can only call, this rather rustic resort. The beach is lovely, and we were grateful the invasive piles of seaweed were being constantly cleared away. The staff at this resort work extremely hard and are anxious to please.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not go here expecting to be in the height of luxury. The building needs much work to bring it...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jenefer Thank you for your kind words and great feedback. It is a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed your experience. Nothing is greater for us than being able to exceed your expectations and to make you feel just right at home. Thank you for describing the incredible service and charisma of our entire team, especially Waldin and Franklin. On the other hand, we want to thank you for bringing to our attention the area where we were unable to exceed your expectations. We know that there are always areas of opportunity to improve our services, and your comments play a very important role in this continuous process. I guarantee that we will do everything in our power so that from this very moment, changes arise in these points and that our guests can see improvement immediately. It would be very nice to have again the possibility to welcome you back. Sincerely, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brie P wrote a review 18 Jan
When we arrived the front desk took nearly an hour to find our reservation and after which they were not informative about the property. There was no beverages offered in check in, nothing stocked in the mini bar, The food at the buffet was dry and lukewarm with very few options and did not taste great. Their beverages (sodas) tasted of salt water also the water from the sink. The bed was uncomfortable.. there was no night life and the only restaurant available with the all inclusive was not even open so you had no option but to eat at the buffet or pay extra for the sky bar. They also did not offer any room service and only had limited hours where they would serve food. The beach area was small with outdated furniture. They nickel and dimed you with extra charges for the beds at the pool etc. Parking was extremely limited on a very narrow dirt road.. this is definitely more of a 2 star hotel with the motel feel.. do not recommend..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Greetings from Whala Bávaro. Your opinion is very important for us to continue improving our services. Constructive support from our guests is extremely important to us as we try to improve our quality. We offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your check-in, but you must also take into account the explanation that was given upon arrival as to why your reservation had problems, many times these problems have nothing to do with the hotel but with the agency with which the stay is requested, for this reason it is always good to validate the data before arrival and make the reservation directly with the hotel to avoid these inconveniences In reference to the drinks upon arrival and room service, I inform you that our hotel offers a 4-star service, but we are always here to serve you in whatever you need, you just have to notify reception and we will assist you.Buffet: We deeply regret that our gastronomic offer did not meet your expectations. Our hotel offers a wide variety both in our buffet and the specialty restaurants, with the aim of meeting the culinary demands of different cultures who visit us. As a company focused on service, we are aware that it is thanks to the valuable comments from our customers that we can continue working for the optimization and improvement of our services. We cannot tell you how sorry we are for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. Rest assured that your observations have been taken with the highest consideration and shared with the General Management of our Resort to analyze the points you mentioned. Sincerely Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah J wrote a review 8 Jan
West Drayton, United Kingdom
We came to the Dominican Republic to attend a friend’s wedding and decided to make it our holiday. Stayed here for two weeks and really had a great time. So relaxed manner that you can’t help but be affected in the best way. Our room was a little walk from the main reception but was all great. Very comfortable bed, nice and clean and having the beach right outside was a game changer, we loved that. The views from most of the public areas are so beautiful and the sunset from the roof bar was incredible. With the wedding in the middle of our holiday, it just seemed to all work. We would love to be able to come back next year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, It is a great pleasure to receive comments like yours, which encourage us to continue our arduous but pleasant work. We are proud to count on you as a valuable member of our family. Thank you! We are proud to know that our facilities, have met your expectations, because for Whala! Bavaro is our commitment to offer all the necessary conditions to make the vacations of our visitors unforgettable, we are very happy that this was the case. Contact us while you are planning your next vacation, to give you assistance prior to your arrival. It is a pleasure for us to welcome you and make your stay an unforgettable experience. Best regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heath B wrote a review 8 Jan
Paid £2500 to stay here in December, our flight was cancelled the day before we should travel so we were unable to make it to our destination. The hotel are refusing to refund us for the accommodation and will not answer emails. Do not pay up front for this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Room Tip: Do not pay up front
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments and suggestions . We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced but we would like to inform you that before said accusation, our hotel is characterized by guaranteeing the satisfaction of our guests, so it is impossible for the hotel to deny a response to said inconvenience. On the other hand, the payments that are made before arrivals have their cancellation policies, but always giving preference to the client, it is most likely that your reservation is through intermediaries and not directly booking with us on our website, if necessary. In this case, the agencies have their own policies, but in any case, we are committed to providing you with the necessary assistance that you need. please contact us at our emails and send us all the information corresponding to this inconvenience and we will gladly assist you. guestservicebavaro@whalahotels.com recbavaro@whalahotels.com. Sincerely, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
155019Sharon wrote a review Dec 2022
Toronto, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
Travelled here via Sunwing. Our shuttle dropped us off blocks down the street and pointed us to walk down a flooded road in the evening dragging our luggage. It was my first time to the Dominican and as a treat We had upgraded our room to oceanfront. The upgrade was $800 for the 2 weeks only to find out it would only cost $20 a night negotiated at the front desk. It said with the upgrade we would get access to the sky bar, assuming that was inclusive of drinks. This was NOT the case. Room only. We headed to our balcony to sit and enjoy looking at the ocean and viewing the stars only to find we could not see anything due to a bright light on our balcony ceiling. We felt like we were on display. We asked 4 times over the next couple of days to disconnect the light only to be declined each time. The rest of the evenings we resorted to closed curtains to block out the bright light so we could sleep. thus defeating the purpose of the upgrade. Buffet had a few choices of 2 star quality food. When I did eat there, it resulted in becoming ill each time. Unfortunately, unbudgeted money was then spent eating out daily. Alcohol seemed watered down. We spoke to repeat customers and they were disappointed in the quality this time around, and they too will not be returning I recommend local restaurants TOC, Kats Corner and Citrus I will be requesting a refund for the upgrade. This is definitely false advertising stating this is 3.5 to 4 stars Book elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Dear guest Greetings from Whala!Bavaro Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in our hotel. We would like to apologize on behalf of the entire team if we did not impress you during your valuable vacation. According to your rating, our hotel has not lived up to your expectations, please accept our apologies, of course, this action saddens us a lot since it is not our intention that these things happen. Also, we are very sorry that the service and attention in general has not been to your liking, considering that our staff is usually highlighted by their predisposition and professionalism. We shall use your constructive critique and ideas to help us reach our goal of providing our guests with a memorable experience. Once again, we offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced, we hope you had a safe trip back home. Best regards, Julissa Gonzalez
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chelsea C wrote a review Dec 2022
Hamilton, Canada10 contributions6 helpful votes
First time straying at Bavaro Beach - Whala! Is a small all inclusive resort property. 3 amazing pools in main building and a beautiful rooftop pool overlooking a gorgeous sandy beach in the beach side building. The staff are mostly Spanish speaking - and all the staff that I interacted with were amazing friendly and welcoming. They all seem to really love the report! Spacious, bright rooms floor to ceiling patio windows. The report operates on ocean water system so be prepared when you hit the shower! It's salty!! The food options were plentiful and always great variety. There is an a la carte restaurant option as well. Definitely recommend this resort. Bavaro beach can get seaweed in the shoreline, but they do an amazing job clearing it out daily.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 9 Dec 2022
Dear Guest It is apleasure and such an honor for me to read how much you enjoyed our resort. We can't be any happier. We thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I'm so proud and pleased to know that we have impressed you so positively, that is why strive every day, so thank you for letting us know that we have achieved our goal. Hopefully, this was just the first of many other future visits to our Paradise. We will be working on an even more amazing next experience. Receive warm greetings! Julissa Gonzalez
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explore15655454285 wrote a review Dec 2022
- no air conditionner in our room for 3 days. The technician was coming putting on and off without doing nothing; -no hands soap in the bathroom of the hotel; -power cut on regular basis; -unsympathetic staff -Cuban level buffet - no access to iron (and 10 US to pays when they have it)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 1 Dec 2022
Dear Guest First of all, we appreciate the time you have spent to share with us your experience and comments which help us improve our services. We regret to hear from your review that your expectations were not met on this occasion and wish we could have done more to make your vacation more comfortable. Because if there is something that disturbs our guests satisfaction we are able to address right away while on property. I have taken the liberty of sharing all your feedback with the relevant Heads of Department to ensure that your points are addressed, we truly appreciate the time you took to inform us about those several points and I guarantee you we will work on them immediately. Sincerely Jhoanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andyFleet wrote a review Nov 2022
Fleet65 contributions44 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, good food with plenty of choice and lovely staff. This was my second visit here & my sisters first, my sister wants to go back again next November. One very small criticism would be that at the only bar in operation when we were there the music was too loud early evening when we wanted a pre-dinner drink & a catch up on the day!.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 28 Nov 2022
Dear Andy, We greatly appreciate for sharing your experience. We are satisfied to attend that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the friendly and courteous service from our accommodating staff. At WHALA, our employees are our main asset and the heart of our company. Their commitment and passion are the keys to the success of our customer service, which seeks above all excellence, proximity, and innovation. Your feedback is very important for us, rest assured that we will put the focus on each of the improvable aspects identified by you, we will continue to make incredible efforts in order to achieve your full satisfaction, which is our main goal. Thank you for helping us identify those points that can be improved that make us grow as a company. We will be waiting for you with open arms and we wish you a happy new year. Best regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike H wrote a review Nov 2022
Ontario, Canada1 contribution
A brilliant holiday, eighteen of us travelled there for a wedding. The hotel couldn’t do enough for us, the food was great, loads of choice. Our room was clean, big tv, extremely comfortable bed and modern shower room. The grounds, pool and communal areas were clean and tidy. Location is right on the beach, with the roof terrace having perfect views of the ocean. So pleased with our choice, it worked so well and everyone managed to relax and have a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 27 Nov 2022
Dear Guest It is apleasure and such an honor for me to read how much you enjoyed our resort. We can't be any happier. We thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I'm so proud and pleased to know that we have impressed you so positively, that is why strive every day, so thank you for letting us know that we have achieved our goal. Hopefully, this was just the first of many other future visits to our Paradise. We will be working on an even more amazing next experience. Receive warm greetings! Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
France B wrote a review Nov 2022
Ottawa, Canada1 helpful vote
The cleanliness was remarkable throughout the hotel all public washrooms, rooms, eating areas etc. Rooms were simple with comfy bed and pillows and extra blankets. All personnel was jovial, helpful and went out of their way to accommodate. Such a welcoming place returning in a few days 30 November...can't wait!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 26 Nov 2022
Dear France, You don't know how happy we are that we can confirm you had a wonderful time while on holidays with us, all the effort of our team is gratefully rewarded knowing that you took very good memories of your stay in whala bavaro Your compliments will be gladly transmitted to those you have mentioned. We look forward to your next visit. Regards from whala. Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alisios bavaro beach hotel, hotel alisios bavaro beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
263
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHALA!BAVARO (Punta Cana) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about whala!bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to whala!bavaro?
Nearby attractions include OCEAN ADVENTURES Caribbean Pirates (0.2 km), Jellyfish Shop (0.05 km), and Liqui2 Liquid Lounge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at whala!bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at whala!bavaro?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at whala!bavaro?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to whala!bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Living Room Vip, Toc Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Pranama.
Are there opportunities to exercise at whala!bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does whala!bavaro have airport transportation?
Yes, whala!bavaro offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at whala!bavaro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Russian.