We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,177: English reviews
Start your review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ive been to Lifestyle, Puerto Plata quite a few times over the last five years and it never disappoints. I always feel at home. The employees make your vacation. From check in to check out everybody is there to make sure you have a great time. The cleaning staff is always smiling and accommodating. Nelson the bartender is the best....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TAYLOR B
Buffalo, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I rated this very good because when you consider what you pay to get all-inclusive in the Caribbean vs the issues, it's not a bad deal... but please read on!! I am a little tainted because my first Caribbean experience was Sandal's and so was my second because it was so awesome, but there is no comparison price wise. Yes...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank M4168ECbenjaminc
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort as your host. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you took the time to share your unforgettable experience with us. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and liked our services and facilities. We really appreciated your...

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed from March 10-17th. Arrived with no issues late evening and were accommodated to our room right away with help from the luggage guys in the front. First night was pleasant and despite the fact that we had a ceiling leak by the fan, they sent someone quickly to assess the problem and the next morning we were moved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyChanelColombia
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Lady La Colombiana, It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We passed your nice comments to all the staff mentioned here and to the rest of the...

Lafayette, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm really upset I'm even giving this place a star but there's no option to leave it blank. If you want a miserable vacation with dirty broken rooms this is your spot. If u think you have access to 28 bars think again if your staying at this part of the resort your only limited to three bars who will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyleostertag
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced; we sincerely regret that on this occasion we were not able to fully...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My girlfriend and I were accommodated to a new room as our room had a leak the night of check in, that to me was a sign of great service yet to come. And we were not disappointed at all! From the food, drinks, cleanliness and appearance of the resort we were more than pleased!! And now to our favorite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oscar Q
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Oscar, We would like to thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort as your host. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you took the time to share your unforgettable experience with us. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and liked the food, the drinks, the property and...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me, my girlfriend , my syster , my girlfriend bestfriend and her husband visit the tropical from friday 10 to tuesday 14 and Julio Nice and Hassiel Rivera treat us so nice that we are coming back as soon as possible they were really nice and they show us a great time they made our vacation the best. Me and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adonis J
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Adonis, The nice notes like the one you kindly posted about our entertainment employees, are very appreciated by us. All of our staff are very motivated by comments like this. We will passed your nice comments to Julio, Hassiel and the resto of the team. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay...

Coolidge, Arizona
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fun hotel. Me, my fiance and my buddy and his fiance stayed in a 1 br at the Royal Suites. Good amount of activities to do. Rained half of the vacation, but was still able to relax at the beach. Food and drinks were great.. Had a small problem, but Ana from guest services was able to fix it for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon G
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities as well as our wonderful staff and activities. We are very happy to know that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We will share your nice comments with...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We signed up via Groupon for the VIP package with a junior suite. However, instead we were stuck in a crappy room with a roof that was caving in. Less than 24 hours after arriving we were pulled from our breakfast to get a tour of the resort. At which point we were handed over to a salesman that told...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tim K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were last at lifestyles about four years ago. We had a fabulous time. We had the VIP wristband so it's worth to pay a little more for it. The second time which was this past February we stayed right next door at Cophresi Palm which is within the same complex, again VIP. We had a great time. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank montoya3030
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Montoya, Thank you for having chosen again Lifestyle Holidayas Vacation Resort this time at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort as your host and for sharing your experience with us through this website. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you took the time to share your unforgettable experience with us. It’s so nice to...

Keswick, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a family, we have been at lifestyles resort three years in a row, for the amazing view, food and people. I was upset to find out that out of the three people we go there to see (mosquito, mini me and Julio nice) only Julio nice is still there. Although the resort in itself is amazing, we will go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariahbertolini
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Mariah, The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. It was delightful for all our staff to read that you appreciate the service of all...

4,011 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3339)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (892)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (589)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (318)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (24)
Viewed
Dining (212)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1169)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (655)
Viewed
Adult Pool (21)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Beach (69)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Children's Pool 2 (4)
Viewed
Children's Pool 3 (3)
Viewed
Pool (61)
Viewed
Pool 2 (17)
Viewed
Dining (133)
Viewed
Standard Room with King Bed (79)
Viewed
Suite with King Bed (146)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
VIP Beach Pools (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
10.8 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
520 reviews
10.6 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.6 km away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,295 reviews
10.6 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,226 reviews
10.7 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 3,989 - ₹ 15,761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort staff and other travellers.
440 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (440)

Questions? Get answers from The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1220 was nice. Never heard a complaint from anyone in Bldg 1.”
 of 5 bubbles M4168ECbenjaminc, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cofresi Penthouse, Presidential Suites and VIP Villas”
 of 5 bubbles mstoves85, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in Buildings 4 and 6 offer the best location and the best views.”
  • Hole in the shower wall, about eye level
  • Top of dresser - looks bad, is actually worse because of instability
  • Yuck - filthy sample bottle left behind
  • Each room offers a small patio
  • Room view from Building Six
  • Most rooms offer a King bed, all are furnished the same way
  • Towel bar missing
 of 5 bubbles JyllFoy, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sugeily our chambermaid was excellent every day.”
 of 5 bubbles donnasW5216ME, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good luck...I had many issues with my room including a waterfalls from above in my shower. No hot water for several days”
 of 5 bubbles DinoAM, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5