We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Navarrete Bahia De Maimón, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$206
View deal
Booking.com
$190
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
$190
View deal
ZenHotels.com
Hotels.com$241
Hurb$242
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1250)
Pool & Beach (446)
Dining (168)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 26/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Playabachata Spa Resort
Updated 26/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 58 in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Playabachata Resort is the ideal place to enjoy a relaxing and disconnected holiday. Its 998 rooms offer all the comforts to guarantee a perfect stay: air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, minibar, liquor dispenser and balcony or terrace, from where you can contemplate the wonderful landscape that surrounds the hotel. In its facilities you will find beautiful swimming pools with children's area, solarium terrace equipped with umbrellas and sunbeds, sports facilities and extensive garden areas. The hotel also has six restaurants, two buffet, two specialties for dinner service and 2 snack restaurants, as well as five bars. Thanks to the All Inclusive system, you can enjoy meals, snacks and national drinks with and without alcohol in all of them. In addition, Playabachata Resort offers a laundry service (for a fee), a babysitting service (for a fee), free Wi-Fi internet in the hotel lobby and the possibility of practicing numerous water sports with external companies (for a fee).
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Public wifi
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Bottled water
Minibar
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
1334Reviews150Q+A83Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 805
  • 183
  • 128
  • 92
  • 126
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hector V wrote a review 23 May
New York City, New York3 contributions
Went to this resort for my spring break. Horrible experience. The food was mediocre, not enough choices but the very basic. Saw some roaches by the salad bar. The worst part was the staff, some of them were not friendly one bit unless you gave them tip, they were looking for a tip more than the serve correctly. Some of them look that they hated to work there. I will never spend my hard earn money at that resort again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Bring your own water, tip the staff if you want good service, beach was not clean
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about our hotel. We are truly sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been. I would have liked to know about your complaint while you were at the hotel in order to solve it: I am sure that your evaluation would be different. Likewise, thank you for letting us know your opinion and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to this hotel, Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
Lisa H wrote a review 15 May
Walderslade, United Kingdom2 contributions
Food, drinks and staff are ok but the hotel is in need of major renovations. The pool needs painting. Air conditioning in rooms is adequate however really difficult to get started again after opening the balcony doors. The A La Carte restaurant food is of poor quality, the buffet is much better. The hotel just pushes upgrades to the sister hotel, Senator.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day. We appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to express your opinion, as well as suggestions for improvement. We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory. Regarding your comment about the lack of renovation or reform of the hotel, I am pleased to inform you that it is undergoing a regular rhythm of reform and updating of its facilities. We also inform you that most of our establishments have superior rooms, family rooms, and suites. Thank you very much for your comment and we take it very much into account for the next reforms. Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
Kim W wrote a review 10 May
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
DON'T GO The male dancers are pure BAD. They make money by chatting you up. Be careful besides from the that it was a nice trip but no more than that . Like I said it was more like a brothel for ugly girls who can sleep with them dancers for a night. Sick how they drink and use guests
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to learn that your stay at the resort was not as pleasant as it should have been: on behalf of the resort I apologize for any inconvenience. To clarify that staff members cannot drink at the workplace. Resort security is a factor we take very seriously And in this sense, what refers to this comment we take the necessary steps to be follow-up pertinently. We provide security and safety for our guests and collaborators as part of the quality of Playabachata Resorts. I hope that this isolated comment does not change the positive impression of the resort and resort staff and that you will allow the opportunity to a new visit to Playabachata Resort in the near future, Again, thank you for your review. Zeus Puertas General Manager We appreciate knowing that you have taken a moment of your time to tell us about your experience at the hotel, and that in general, you enjoyed your vacation with us. Upon reading your comment, I have reviewed along with the executive team to take note and improve the necessary points. Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you in the near future, with the points you have scored already improved. Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
John Mario wrote a review 4 May
Stoney Creek, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
first the Playabachata is not a 4 star the food is fine from me and other quests i was with. The front desk the girls working there were excellent no problems at all same as most of the workers around the hotel. The bartenders both men and women were great had a lot of laughs with them very helpful.I don't hang with other travellers i enjoy the people of Dominican and the workers most become friends, had a lot of fun with them. Overall the place was clean very safe and enjoyable.Thankyou to all the people in Playabachata for my months stay a great time.One more thing the entertainer who works with the kids before the show was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are fine depending on who your neighbours are then you ask to be moved
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that your stay at the resort was full of laughter and good times. For us, the greatest reward is that our guest´s holidays are filled with wonderful memories. Additionally, we share this positive feedback with the work staff and thank you on their behalf, We trust to welcome you back soon here at Playabachata Resort Spa, Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
Ccheco wrote a review 2 May
Columbus, Ohio1 contribution
I personally don’t think the price spent is equivalent to the quality expected. We didn’t like the food and the 3 rooms were so outdated, no power outlet, bathroom unclean, and bad smell in all the rooms. I loved the friendly service from the staff, the beach and the massage. The only good food that deserves to be mentioned is the restaurant food.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sad to learn that your stay at the resort was not as pleasant as it could have been. In addition, we take good notes from your comment to improve where possible. To clarify, outlets placed in rooms can be used for both European and American plugs, however, it is true that some newer devices from a recognized American brand cannot fit perfectly for those due to their unique design. Nevertheless, we have evaluated this situation and due to the preference of the majority of our guests, we take into consideration this resort immediate future reforms of the hotel rooms and revise this topic. Again, thank you for your review, Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
ld8speed wrote a review 1 May
Garnerville, New York1 contribution
The rooms alway had a smell and there is not caring or details on the rooms. The bathrrom were super nasty its the worst eperience you can take your family. food very bad taste abd variety. aal the so call restaurant ala carte were the same food from the buffet they just bring it to you very had quality and cold food, not taste or anyone who care or real chef. i book ly family for 3 night and four rooms we left on the second one and left the 3rd night as a lost just cause we couldn't take torture anymore. the constant harassment of the people trying to take you to the next property is frustrating whem you just want ro be on vacarion and dont want ro talk to anyone just mind you le own business. place ir really horrible and worst hotel by a long shot ever been.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sad to learn that your stay at the resort was not as pleasant as it could have been. On behalf of the resort, I apologize for any inconvenience. As I read your comments take good notes in order to revise and avoid the issues you mention, and avoid the issues that you mention repeated to other guests. Again thank you for your review, Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
Less S wrote a review Apr 2022
18 contributions25 helpful votes
Stay with wife and young daughter for 2 weeks. Sunwing flight fairly smooth until arrival at hotel which took about 40 minutes to get room, welcoming staff so not a big deal. The grounds are beautiful well kept staff works hard and quite alot to do good gym on senator side that bachata guests can use, beach volleyball, beach soccer, pool activities sometimes and a good kids club. The pools are big and it's not that busy during the week till u get to the weekend when hundreds of locals come for the weekend. Beach is long and nice cleaned daily some seaweed and rocks in certain areas but we found a nice spot we kept going to that was for the most part quiet. The food we were worried about reading the reviews but was very very good in our opinion. Now the bad, we got a room first evening we got there no towel, we did bring a couple of our own because we read the reviews. Alot of drawers were broken 4th day the roof leaked not over our bed but near the fridge someone came and tried to fix it. The following day it rained over night and it leaked again and this time we found a massive cockroach near the fridge and another one when I turned the light on in the bathroom, my 4 year old freaked out and was upset....we changed the next day front desk staff helped no problem (we found the front desk staff very good and helpful) we got a new room also had broken drawers and a chair...but no other issues so we kept it. One of our last days there was a homeless mentally ill person who wandered on the resort the security was no where in site and reached towards my daughter in an aggressive manner when we ignored her begging this was very upsetting I yelled at her and she left...also this isn't just a thing at this resort in Puerto plata but others too the time share sales pitch is so annoying can there be a better way of doing this maybe have a desk in the lobby so if there is anyone who wants to inquire about time shares they can...we got haggled like 5 times. Overall lots of good but homeless mentality ill people and cockroaches cannot be a 4star.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you have taken your time to share your feedback from the resort and that in general, you enjoyed your stay at Playabachata Resort. As we read you detailed review we take good notes and share those with the executive team in order to verify and rectify the aspects share on this comment that were not satisfactory and take this comment as an example for these issues not to repeat to other guests. On behalf of the resort I apologize for any inconvenience, as it is our mark to make your stay pleasant and positive. Again, we thank you for sharing your opinion, Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Director
Read more
Tamara B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The staff made this trip unforgettable - specifically Ronni (Chocolate), Yayiito (Kanye) and Aaron (Bom Bom). This place wouldn't be the same without them. If I were to go back, it would be because of them!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We thank you for sharing your positive comment about the resort and the friendly and professional service of the staff. We remain at your entire disposal for your next visit and thank you again for your review, Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
Gul S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Just back from my stay at this all inclusive hotel, and here are my 2 cents: Practical stuff: Book for 5 days instead of 7, it got pretty boring for us, for a family with 3 kids, preferably from Sunday evening till Friday, as during the weekend locals come in and it gets busy. Bring shampoo (I paid for mine 12USD!!!! in hotel lobby shop) Bring earplugs, if it is not fridge, then AC or ventilator will make noise. If with young kids, bring and make your kids wear water shoes in the pool, all of mine got blisters on their big toes.  If you exchange USD to pesos at the front desk, recount your money on the spot before putting it in your pocket. Person at reception tried to rip me off for 100 pesos. I know it is just 2 USD, but you don't scam your customers. If you get invited for some VIP breakfast or some other event by guest services, don't go, unless you are interested in getting into timeshare, we have wasted 3 hours on this. When we said we are not interesed, director got upset. Advice to Zeus Puertas, GM of the resort. Give some customer service training for your front desk, they are smart,  but zero effort is done to help customers. Otherwise, as they say, when fish rots, it starts rotting from the head. Improve your check in procedure. After a long trip, show me which way is the restaurant, which way is my room. We were left on our own. At least in the lobby, make sure that WIFI is always working, even at peak times, people want to connect with their families during vacations. For the amount of money I paid for this resort  it is a good value. Food was fresh, and the menu had some variety to it and none of us got sick. Cleaning crew was constantly cleaning the lobby, cafeteria, beach, lawn, pool. I felt secure at the resort. Toilet clogged and had issues with the lock, so the handyman came right away. This is not a five star resort, it is 3 star. For the price it was decent but will not be returning here!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go check it first to see if you like it.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very thankful that you have taken a moment from your time to share this review from the resort and that, in general you enjoyed your stay, liked the resort and your overall experience was nice. In addition, we take notes from your suggestions and implement those were possible, at the same time we thank you for letting us know, Again, we thank you for your review and hope to receive a new opportunity to welcome you back, Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
paulina123Kitchener wrote a review Apr 2022
Kitchener36 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed 12 days at Hotel Bachata in Puerto Plata. We enjoyed the large and beautiful beach with many palm trees and very clean. The gardeners worked very hard. I was impressed to see so many garbage baskets on the beach. I did not like the lounge chairs, mostly broken and uncomfortable. During transfer from the airport, that lasted more than an hour, the guide told us that the luggage man is doing it voluntarily and is not paid, but he did not say a word about the country, the culture, tell a joke. We arrived at 10 pm. and we were told that the snack bar is open at 10:30 but it opened only at 11 pm. I begged the cook to give me something to eat and he refused, he let me have something at 11:00 sharp. There was a pizzeria open in another section but nobody told us. I remember in Cuba they waited us with some sandwiches when we arrived late. In other resorts they have a snack bar non stop. We did not enjoy the noise at night, people talking, laughing and yelling. They should have some notes to keep quiet please. The were some men who wanted to sell time share and to offer a breakfast at the hotel Senator. They were asking for driver licences and credit cards for a supposedly raffle. This is private information. The staff was nice and hard working. The food was fresh and of a good variety.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeus Puertas, Director General at Playabachata Spa Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We appreciate that you have shared with us your feedback regarding the resort and that, in general you liked your stay. In addition, we take good notes from your service suggestions in order to revise and improve where necessary. Again thank you for your review and we hope to receive a new opportunity to welcome you to the resort in any occasion. Receive a cordial greeting, Zeus Puertas General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
998
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Playabachata Spa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Playabachata Spa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Diamonds International Amber Cove (0.7 km), Ocean World Adventure Park, Puerto Plata (3.9 km), and Amber Cove (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Playabachata Spa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Playabachata Spa Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Playabachata Spa Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Playabachata Spa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Playabachata Spa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Papillon, Los Tres Cocos, and Charros CaribeMex.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Playabachata Spa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Playabachata Spa Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Playabachata Spa Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Playabachata Spa Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Playabachata Spa Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (8.8 km), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (8.8 km), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (8.8 km).
Does Playabachata Spa Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.