Iberostar Costa Dorada

Iberostar Costa Dorada

Traveller (10490)
Pool & Beach (2291)
Room & Suite (1088)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 17 all-inclusives in Puerto Plata
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our spectacular 5-star hotel, located on the beachfront of Costa Dorada in the north of the Dominican Republic, only 15 minutes from Puerto Plata Airport. It is the ideal place for families and couples, with 516 rooms: 302 double rooms, 114 double rooms with pool view, 40 family suites with 2 rooms, 42 double rooms with ocean view, 18 oceanfront junior suites. Its impressive pool has an aquabar, one of them special for children. The colonial-style hotel and common areas are surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. An attentive staff facilitates the perfect vacation experience. Our 5 restaurants will make you enjoy a unique gastronomic offer, from our international cuisine buffet with show cooking. Pasta, meat and fish dishes, vegetables and salads. Thematic nights. In addition, 3 specialty restaurants will take you to an unforgettable experience. Our Wave Of Change initiative is focused on three fundamental pillars: the elimination of single-use plastic in our rooms, the promotion of responsible fish consumption and the improvement of coastal health.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Redeem Reward Nights at All-Inclusive Resorts with IHG One Rewards

Location

Carretera Luperon Complejo Km 4, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
9,794Reviews1,359Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,831
  • 2,521
  • 912
  • 300
  • 231
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
canadiantennisgirl wrote a review Jan 2024
GTA8 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the Iberostar Costa Dorada the week of January 3-9th. We are a family of 3 (two adults and one teenager). For reference we have stayed at numerous AI resorts across the Caribbean including two other Iberostar properties (one in Cuba and one in Mexico). In a nutshell we really enjoyed our stay at this resort and would totally return for another visit.

Travel: We flew with Air Transat but both ways they were not true Transat flights (e.g. run by affiliate airlines – one being Czech air). Transfers at the POP end were smooth and the Iberostar was the first drop off from the airport.

Check In: We arrived around 1:30 pm at the resort and had to wait for our room until after 3 pm. There is a shower/washroom you can use in the lobby while the bellhops hold your luggage until the room is available. We received our wristbands and were able to go for lunch while we waited for the room.

Room: We had an Oceanfront room in building one on the ground floor (room 1013) with one king bed and they provided a single cot for our teen. The cot was a real bed with a thick mattress and the room was more than large enough with the cot and the king bed. I understand that the rooms in this building have been renovated. The room had adequate storage and a couch but pretty standard for the Caribbean (eg nothing special). There was a min bar stocks with cola, sprite and beer which was refilled as needed. There is a Smart TV with no English channels so bring a Firestick for streaming if you wish.I have never stayed in any resort in the Caribbean that wasn’t damp and this was no exception but the AC worked well. I don’t think any of our wet swimwear dried all week with the humidity but that’s fairly normal. We had the power go out a few times during our stay (quick outages). They did a fumigation (no idea why) of our room one day which they compensated with a bottle of rum. No issues with hot water. The room was kept very clean.

Drinking Water: I loved their drinking water filtration system at this resort. They provide two glass water bottles in your room and there are actually dispensing stations in each building along with an ice machine. There were also water stations pretty much everywhere in the resort so you didn’t have to just go to the bars for drinking water like other resorts I have stayed. I loved this feature. We brought a few plastic bottles of water after security at the airport so it was nice to have these to refill rather than the glass bottle.

Food: there is one buffet restaurant, one snack bar and three a la cartes. The variety of foods was good but as typical with AIs the buffet gets repetitive after a while. The buffet has theme nights for dinner: Mexican, Asian, Dominican, International and Spanish. Breakfast and lunches are also served in the buffet restaurant and there is a snack bar by the pool open for
11 to 5 that had a selection of salads, burgers, nachos fries etc etc. My only complaint about the buffet is that breakfast only runs until 10 am each day. When I’m on vacation I like to sleep in so we only ended up getting to breakfast two times and ended up eating lunch/brunch most days at the snack bar when it opened at 11. I was told that on the weekends breakfast ran later but they didn’t update the app with those hours so I wasn’t sure. We ate at all three a la cartes. The Mexican was average. The tacos in the buffet were pretty much the same. The Japanese was our favorite: a fun show of them cooking in front of us and a lot of food. The Italian was also just average to us. I don’t know if it was just what we ordered but I didn’t like their tomato sauce (too sweet with a weird sticky texture) at all so that might be the reason. One highlight was the beach party paella which took place on Saturday. They cook a HUGE paella over fire on the beach which is loaded with lobster and seafood. It was the best thing of the week for me.

Service: I found the service in the restaurants (particularly the a la cartes) to be below what we have experienced at the other Iberostar properties. Service in the Mexican and Italian a la cartes was very rushed and not attentive at all. For example at the Mexican restaurant the server came over to get our food orders about 30 seconds after we sat down without even taking drink orders. We were never offered coffees after dinner etc. all of the a la cartes we were in and out in less than an hour and it felt far too rushed of an experience. In the buffet and snack bars we ended up sitting in the same places all week and the servers there were excellent and had our drink orders ready when they saw us coming. Finally there did not seem to be enough bartenders most of the time we were there and there were long lines. We also found it strange that in the lobby and theater there were no servers to take drink orders which is atypical at all the resorts we have stayed at.

Grounds/Facilities: the property is very well maintained and immaculate. They have a crew cleaning the beach each morning (more on the beach later). There is one large pool in the center of the property and a huge beach front. The pool is quite cold. At the peak of the hottest and sunniest time of day the pool felt refreshing but too chilly for me the rest of the time. The ocean was warmer than the pool! There are plenty of sun beds at the beach, pool and some in-between. As usual there were chair hogs putting out towels before 9 am by the pool and coming only late in the day but we were able to easily find pool side chairs even though the resort was busy.

Bars: There is no shortage of bars at the property and as mentioned above I felt they could have used more bartenders. There was also a huge variation in the way each bartender makes the same drinks so be prepared for that. Selection of booze was decent and they have some premium items for additional cost.

Entertainment: this resort has a jam packed list of activities each day and the Animation staff are high energy and enthusiastic. Winners of the day events win prizes which are presented at the show each night (rum or hats) The nightly show productions (eg singing and dancing) were excellent. There were four productions showing on the app but only three ran for some reason (Vegas, Dominican, Disco). There was supposed to be a dance party at the beach one night but it was canceled due to a wedding. There was supposed to be a Rock show and it also was canceled. They don’t seem to update the app when there are changes which is an area they could improve upon. When there wasn’t a “real” show there was karaoke and some lame audience participation shows. Overall though the entertainment was good. One note is that the disco is off property and open to locals.

Beach: if you’re a beach person and are expecting white sand and crystal clear water you will be disappointed. By the end of the day there is seaweed (or similar) that washes up at the beach and the water was pretty murky. That being said the grounds crew cleans the beach each morning and it’s very well maintained compared to walking further down the beach. There are locals on the beach trying to get you to come to the market and sell you things but I am used to that. In general the beach wasn’t a deal breaker for us and we did spend most of our time at the pool. I did notice I got a lot of bites on my legs on the days we went to the beach so there are definitely bugs there (sand fleas maybe???)

Wifi: Wifi worked very well throughout the resort and even on the beach and poolside. We used our Fire-stick a few times on the TV in the room for my hubby to watch football but it did buffer a bit.

Tours: we hired a private taxi for a Puerto Plata city tour (Salvador Taxi). It was super reasonable ($100 USD for all of us for a half day). It poured rain all afternoon so we couldn’t go up the cable car but the tour was still great. Just a note that when you visit the rum factory and chocolate factory for “tours” they are pretty much shops for you to buy things and not at all true tours. If you google city tour you will see all the stops as most taxis do the same itinerary.

In summary we were very happy with this resort. No it’s not a 5 Star property and has some areas for improvement but for the price we paid during peak school winter break it was great (e.g. it was half the price of other resorts in Punta Cana). We would definitely return based on our experience and the value it offered.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rossina García, Owner at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on your winter break vacation at Iberostar Costa Dorada. We appreciate your insights and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience in the future. Best regards, Online Reputation Manager Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suntanto wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada78 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We just got back from this hotel a week and a half ago.

The airport is modern and very easy to navigate. A big duty free and a couple restaurants. The bus ride was just over 30 minutes with stopping at two other hotels on the way.

Check in was a breeze, we stayed in building 2000 with a ground floor pool view. This was an amazing room location, most times at the end of the day we would walk by the room at just toss our things onto the balcony. Room was nice with an updated bathroom two beds and a cot.

Pool was very large although a little cold I’m the morning but would warm up after lunch. There was always a lot of chairs but one under the umbrellas would have towels on them early on the morning. Ocean was windy but warmer then the pool. Part of the beach did have large amounts of seaweed every morning but they would rake it up quickly.

We sent our daughters to the kids club every day. At first we were hesitant but after the 1st day they were hooked. Carolina does an amazing job with Barbie’s help a couple days. They made the week for sure, our girls are still talking about them and the activities they did.

The resort grounds were well manicured and everything always looked great. There are lights everywhere at night.

We ate at the Mexican and Japanese restaurants. They were both great, the Japanese was a great experience and we had a lot of fun.

The buffet and pool restaurant we’re good but became very repetitive by the end of the week. To the point we were board of the food and really could not find anything to eat.

We would return to this resort but I always like trying new places. The only faults I can find is the repetitive food at the buffet and it’s a small property with a lot of people staying at it so it can become busy waiting for drinks and reserving chairs around the pool. I would highly recommend it for families with children as the kids club was absolutely amazing for us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager DR at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear guest, It is always excellent for us to receive such complimentary reviews like this. We really do appreciate the time and effort you have taken to share this opinion of your recent holiday in our hospitality at Iberostar. We have treated your description as a success story and your comments show that we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our attention to detail. Although the majority of your comments show that in most areas we are performing well with our efforts and quality service, we have taken your feedback regarding the areas you raise seriously as we know that we can only improve by listening to our guests. We would like to thank you once again for your kind review and will be delighted to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Online Quality Manager Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendell D wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York735 contributions262 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With so much prime frontage on Puerto Plata’s beautiful 3km Playa Dorada beach, the Iberostar Costa Dorada hotel has been a wonderful change from the crowds of La Romana and Punta Cana. We’ve stayed here 4 years in a row and plan to return next year.

It’s nice to have a beach where there’s plenty of room to walk or swim ... not to mention lots of palapas, palms and shade trees so guests aren’t packed in like sardines. We’ve visited the other hotels on Playa Dorada, and they just can’t match Iberostar’s expansive stretch of sand and the bounty of shaded seating behind it.

As for the hotel itself, it has a surprisingly intimate feel for a large all-inclusive. Management has done a tasteful job of updating the guest rooms and the common areas without compromising the property’s distinctive character. There’s a comfortable bar next to the well-designed theater, which offers some good local entertainment. The gardens and large pool area are lovely, as is the bird sanctuary teeming with egrets on the eastern side of the property.

Though it rained heavily when we first got here, we could move freely about the hotel without getting wet or carrying an umbrella. It’s laid out so we could reach almost any part of the complex without getting soaked. I’ve seen few other large resorts that can make that claim (though the Iberostar in La Romana comes close).

Not surprisingly, the hotel has a dedicated and experienced staff. Lots of friendly, familiar faces and little turnover.

There are two main buffet restaurants, a big palapa between the beach and pool and an even larger one (laid out so you can enjoy your meal without feeling overrun by guests moving in and out of the serving area). The food is good, with many choices, though I wish they’d offer a traditional roast pork or beef as well as turkey with all the trimmings more often. There’re also 3 nice specialty restaurants: Mediterranean (try the pork cordon blue), Mexican (the churrasco steak was my favorite) and Japanese (featuring an entertaining stir-fry).

The Iberostar is a short taxi ride from Puerto Plata’s modern, relatively uncrowded airport. You can actually find a seat by your gate there ... not to mention arrive 2 hrs before departure. (Don’t try that if you’re in Punta Cana or La Romana.)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel Iberostar Costa Dorada. Such a friendly review is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts. Again we thank you for your pleasant opinion of our hotel and hope that we will continue to provide you with excellent holiday experiences in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Molly34 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ontario, Canada6 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all I want to say that the staff are awesome. Always friendly and willing to help. The hotel is very clean and the grounds are beautiful. Beach is awesome- you are not bugged by people trying to sell you things non stop!
The food was excellent as well. Lots of variety.
The shows were entertaining. The one thing I didn’t like was that they want you to join the prestige club at $40 American pp per day. Not worth it.
The other minor thing was that the tables in the buffet were dusted after each person and not wiped. Then the glass is placed upside down. I asked for a
New glass every day.
I was happy to see that this hotel is conscious of the environment! Instead of little containers of soap/ etc there was large refillable ones. Water is filtered through several stations instead of all the plastic water bottles.
Overall we had a great time . I would definitely recommend this hotel and am planning on returning!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to express our appreciation to you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and taking the time out of your day to write to us. We love that you mentioned the environmental measures that we are carrying out in our hotel, as part of the wave of change in our sustainable chain. As for the minors things you highlighted, we inform you that they are also important for us and they will be shared with the management in order to improve. We have treated your opinion as a success story and we would all be delighted to welcome you back to our establishment in the not too distant future. Until then we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of seven stayed at this hotel in March 2020, the main purpose of which was to celebrate a milestone birthday for a family member.
The service, accommodation, food, and entertainment, was first class. We can't say enough positive comments about the staff. We usually stay at very highly rated hotels, but this superseded and outclassed all of them. What made the huge difference is the staff, in particular, Natalia (hotel manager), Yiselle in the restaurants, Misael (concierge), Eneroliza (juice station), Rafael Sarita, Katherine (concierge), Lucy (reception) and Alex (gardener) who went over and above our expectations.
The entertainment and band was outstanding! The Rock Show was just exceptional. This team is well practiced and work hard to put on a great show each night. The ladies in the spa do a great job with massages.
This hotel needs to be applauded for the glass refillable water bottles provided in each room. This is ingenious, and showcases a high degree of environmental conscientiousness and is a practice that the hotel industry needs to adopt globally.
The grounds are beautifully manicured, the peacocks, flamingoes and other fauna give this hotel special character. The Orchid Garden and koi pond is unique and tranquilizing!
We highly recommend this as a holiday destination.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 30 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments following your recent stay at our hotel. We cannot thank you enough for so many praises regarding our staff members who are always aiming to give the best of them in order to please every single guest in-house. On their behalf, a big thank you for your wonderful words, we will for sure share this review with the entire team. Once again, thank you and we hope to host your next vacations. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
6Norm5 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All the staff at the resort were very friendly, pleasant and helpful. It was a very nice resort, clean and maintenance was kept up. Our room was originally a pool view but we found it noisy, we were able to change our room to another location with no issues. Our granddaughter is celiac and we were very impressed with how they accommodated her special diet. Every meal the chef walked around the buffet with her and told her what she could and could not eat. One day we went on an excursion which included a meal which she would not be able to eat. The chef at the resort made a special lunch that she could take with her on the excursion. The specialty restaurants were all very good as well. She is very sensitive to gluten and she did not get ill once. We would definitely recommend Iberostar for your all-inclusive vacation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room was great but the mattresses were average.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your deserved holidays. It is always fabulous for us to receive such wonderful reviews like yours. We appreciate the time and effort taken to share your vacation experience at our hotel. Your wonderful comment is a confirmation of our passion to offer an excellent service. We want to express our gratitude again for your excellent review and will be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels in the near future. Best Regards, Online Quality Manager Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott and Shari wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in January 2020 which was our first stay at an Iberostar. The first person we saw was Natalia and she definitely made our trip, taking us to our room,and always checking in with us to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. She is a great asset to your company. Our room was oceanfront (Room #5018) first level the view was beautiful. The rooms are very spacious with a balcony and eco-friendly dispensers for all the necessary products. Most impressive was “no plastic” and capability to fill up your own water at a near-by water filling station. Buffet was good with lots of options and our waiters Tavarez & Raquel were always there to take care of everything we needed. We ate at the buffet had a romantic dinner on the beach and ate at Les Petites Francoise down the beach which we walked to and from. A hot beverage machine and soft ice cream machine was an added plus. Our suggestion would be that the buffet have different theme nights. The entertainment staff is excellent always trying to involve the guests in daytime and evening events. My wife is not a bird lover, but we both enjoyed the Orchid Garden and it’s wildlife as well as the peacocks and flamingos. Our main complaints are the maid service, and the alcohol. We drank a lot of alcohol- different types with little to no affect; however, when we had a few drinks down the beach we clearly felt the affects. Special thanks to Natalia, Martin, Raquel, Tavarez. We definitely loved the Iberostar and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to express our appreciation to you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and taking the time out of your day to write to us. We love that you mentioned the environmental measures that we are carrying out in our hotel, as part of the wave of change in our sustainable chain. We have treated your whole opinion as a success story and we would all be delighted to welcome you back to our establishment in the not too distant future. You can be sure that your praises will be shared with those you mentioned. Until then we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
greing wrote a review Mar 2020
Stoney Creek, Canada13 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a 2 week vacation February 17-March 2nd. This is our third time at this resort and it was just as good as the other 2 times. Our concierge Willie instantly recognized us when we arrived with a wonderful warm greeting. He always checked with us to see if all was ok or if he could help us with anything.
Check in was efficient and we were really happy that we were able to get a requested area for our room. The grounds were once again immaculate. The hard work of the gardeners shows. They always had a friendly “hola” for the guests. Don’t forget these hardworking men when you tip. I would like to recognize some of the staff: bartenders Efran, Jesus...dining staff Tony, Carlos, Roberto, Kennedy.....entertainment staff Barbie, Pepsi, Calizan, Bunny, Roadrunner, Wifi, Hulu Hulu and last but not least the new member Queen. Queen is new and learning but is sooo attentive and hardworking. I wish her a long career with iberostar and hope to see her next year.
These are only some of the staff but everyone was wonderful.
The big change this year was the elimination of plastic water bottles. They now provide glass bottles in the rooms that you can refill at water filtration units located on each floor by the stairwells. I also loved the new beach towels.
Looking forward to coming back.
Ps the hard work they do to keep the weed controlled and clean has improved greatly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to express our appreciation to you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and taking the time out of your day to write to us. Our day to day efforts are to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with the numerous services available in our wonderfully designed hotel, so your words confirming our success are really important to us. We will certainly extend your praise to all of our dedicated colleagues because we know we have quite a remarkable team here. We love that you mentioned the environmental measures that we are carrying out in our hotel, as part of the wave of change in our sustainable chain.We have treated your opinion as a success story and we would all be delighted to welcome you back to our establishment in the not too distant future. Until then we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Go541243 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this resort for 9 days, which included New Year’s Eve . What a horrible experience this was. Let me start by saying the people at this resort are very RUDE, specially the waiters. The food is ok; and the facility is somewhat clean and nice but that’s it. Since day one, we noticed how rude and unfriendly the workers were and by day 2 we were ready to leave, but the worst experience came on New Year’s Eve, the hotel close all restaurants but one, were they were having a “gala dinner” according to them. They told us we had to make a reservation in order to eat dinner that night, I have stayed at other resorts in the area and never heard such thing. To be safe, we made the reservation for 9pm, for a family of 6. At 9pm my family and I headed to the main restaurant for the “gala dinner” . Since we had a reservation, we never thought we needed to be there an hour early to get in line. Yes, to our surprise when we arrived to the restaurant around 8:50 pm, there was a line of approximately 120 people in front of us. I could not believe my eyes. I called the front desk and demanded an explanation, why do we have to wait in line if we have a reservation. I asked. Only to get a very rude answer, it does not matter if you have a reservation, every body waits in line , the very rude lady that answered the phone replied. We waited in line to get in for about 50 minutes; then there was another line to the buffet that took about 45 minutes to get the food. We were traveling we small kids and had no choice but to stayed in line and wait for the food, so they wouldn’t go to bed hungry. I was so frustrated and so pissed I couldn’t eat myself. Then, I found out that the hotel sold day passes to anyone that wanted to spend New Years there in order for them to make money and didn’t have enough food or waiters for the people that were already staying there. To top it all up, after the ordeal at the buffet was over, there were no tables or chairs available to sit. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone, please don’t come to this place!! Is horrible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear guest, We would like to thank you very much for your particularly pleasant and helpful review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry if the service and the environment were not always to your liking. Unfortunately, due to the large number of guests at certain times it is not possible to avoid queues and we are pleased to indicate that we are working to improve this aspect. Of course, we will also gladly investigate the areas of concern you raise in your review i nspecial the lack of service you described, as it is through constant dialogue with our guests we can always be made aware of their particular wishes and preferences and thus ensure their well-being and satisfaction whilst staying at our hotel in the future. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel and please give us an other chance to make it better. Best Regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJNNJ44 wrote a review May 2022
New Jersey443 contributions163 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First, I am not a big fan of all inclusive resorts (so my experience probably reflects that bias somewhat). We stayed for 3 nights with extended family and for the most part everyone had a good time. The grounds are spectacular… well maintained and stunning.

The check in process was very difficult. One of our family members was listed under her maiden name but passport reflected her married name. This took well over an hour to resolve through emails and phone calls with the parent company. Not sure what the issue was but it didn’t seem like a significant security issue among a multigenerational family of 10.

We found the ‘entertainment manager’ (or whatever his title is) to be abrasive and unhelpful. When things weren’t working (token machine, billiards for the kids) he seemed to view the whole situation as an intrusion interrupting things he would rather be doing.

The food was good (not great). This is not written as a negative comment - we found it to be typical resort style food. Reservations at one of the ‘specialty’ restaurants were a waste as the “Italian restaurant”, for example, served Italian food seemingly brought over from the pasta bar in the buffet. Would rather have just stuck to the buffet in hindsight.

Sliding glass door in our room was stuck shut and took 2 of our 3 day stay to fix (despite multiple front desk calls and personal visits).

Housekeeping, wait staff, bartenders, and grounds people were all friendly and helpful.

One staff member, Marlyn, at the excursion desks went above and beyond. This young lady should teach a class on how hospitality is supposed to be done because she was genuinely fantastic. Helped us with many things and always passed by with a smile and a wave. Thank you, Marlyn.

We made the most of the location and woke up early each morning to watch the sunrise on the beach. These experiences marked the peaceful, carefree highlights of our stay.

Excursion-wise the Monkey Jungle is worth making time for. I’m not sure if the resort runs this tour as we had a car and drove ourselves. If the resort doesn’t run the tour IguanaMama tours does a great job (we have used them for a number of tours in the past and they are excellent).

Overall, if pressed to stay at a resort again this would probably be the one.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, General Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 31 May 2022
Dear Guest, First of all we sincerely thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to contact us and let us know about your experience. We deeply regret that your stay did not go as we would have liked. Our main objective is to offer our guests a quality service so that they can enjoy every moment of their stay and we are very sorry that this was not the case. At Iberostar, the comments and observations of our guests are of paramount importance, as we are aware that there is nothing better than the genuine opinion of our guests to detect points for improvement . The professionalism and good attentions are an integral part of our services. Please rest assured that we have taken your concerns seriously and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity at one of our hotels in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iouri C asked a question 6 Jun
Washington DC, District of Columbia2 contributions
How much is the taxi from POP to hotel ?
Madevilz asked a question Apr 2024
Montreal, Canada190 contributions
Does anyone know the email to contact the hotel directly?
Answer from Sharpshooter17
Ontario, Canada960 contributions112 helpful votes
The buffet is open until 10 or 10 30pm but the Mexican restaurant that is joined to the buffet is open after the buffet closes for snacks
Answer from Sharpshooter17
Ontario, Canada960 contributions112 helpful votes
It is not worth the extra cost.You can get it for a few days to try it out then decide for yourself if you want to pay the extra for the remainder of your vacation
Geminigurl59 wrote a tip 5 Jun
Toronto, Canada75 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you like the service, tip. No one has their hands out. We tipped the people who helped us all week."
Read full review
1Snoopydog wrote a tip May 2024
Aiken, South Carolina79 contributions81 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool was cloudy the whole time we were there. Plenary of good shade lovations"
Read full review
Daniel H wrote a tip May 2024
Lawrenceville, Georgia2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else or prepare for a not so great stay."
Read full review
Paul K wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool does get crowded, so you need to be early to get lounge chairs."
Read full review
Haley Seguin wrote a tip May 2024
Hamilton, Canada15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"busy pool, go early. Beach had lots of seats. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Plata area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,762 - ₹15,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
iberostar costa dorado, iberostar puerto plata, iberostar costa dorada dominican republic, iberostar costa dorada puerto plata, iberostar hotel costa dorada, iberostar costa dorada hotel, costa dorado, puerto plata iberostar, iberostar hotel puerto plata
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
516
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBEROSTAR COSTA DORADA (Puerto Plata) - All-inclusive Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Costa Dorada
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Nearby attractions include Joyeria Las Americas (4.5 km), Rigo /Leonel /Marleny /and Agustin tours and excursión / Popdominicantravel tours and excursions (3.5 km), and Rancho Lorilar (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Lee's Beach Bar, Los Tres Cocos, and Le Petit Francois.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Iberostar Costa Dorada offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (5.2 km), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (4.3 km), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (4.3 km).
All Puerto Plata HotelsPuerto Plata Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto Plata
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire