We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
See the most recent reviews
Showing 999: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I find this review hard to write as there were many good things to go with some of the bad. Overall, we had a great week here (Feb. 17-24 for $766 from Halifax) and would go back again if we weren’t put in building 15. To put things in perspective, I usually travel to Cuba and stay at 3 or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eastcoastcatlover
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I booked this as a last minute. It's been 15 years since our last visit to Dominica. We were told this was a 3 star resort, 2 stars would be pushing it. The place looks nothing like the pictures, very run down and unkept. The pool was very dirty and unsure if it was ever treated. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Neil F
Ottawa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a standard 3-star Dominican resort, we paid 740$CAN for a week, taxes in. This was our 8th visit to 3 star Caribbean resorts so we know exactly what to expect from these and were pretty satisfied overall with our stay. This is a resort that seems to be undergoing some renos and has recently been through a change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OttawaGriz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently my boyfriend and I went to Puerto Plata and stayed here, however our travel agent booked us at the wrong resort. During our stay here for 5 nights we were violently ill and miserable. First of all, we had to pay $18 to get a safe key for the week, the safe was old and rusted and could easily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky R
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Dear Becky, we appreciate your comments in an analytical and conscious way of the service received. It is totally true that the quality is related to the payment of the service.( Value for Money). We are a 3 star resort in the Caribbean, clean, with entertainment and food according to our budgets. However we are open to ideas and working...

Scarborough
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is approximately 20 min from the airport! Upon arrival, this hotel appears very basic. Had to wait until 230 to check in but it was quick and friendly! Spent the 2 hr wait time having lunch and sitting in the sun. Our room, main floor building 22, was clean and fresh, king bed was comfortable. Breakfast, lunch and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 2patient
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Dear guest : a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you for describing so well what is quality - price of a product. Thank you to mencioned our staff, they really work very hard to pleased our guests. We are at your...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall experience was better than places we've stayed in Cuba but not as good as Casa Marina Reef Resort nearby in Sousa DR. Rooms, lobby and public washrooms have been renovated. Beach grill has great pizza, service and views. The swimming pool is large enough for swimming lengths and quite clean. Gym is useful for workouts with its free weights...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BJM52
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Wow, wow, wow !!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you BJM52 for describing so well what is quality - price of a product. We are at your service on your next visit because we have a high rate...

Reviewed 23 March 2017

First off; this is NOT a 4.5 or 5 * resort so keep your expectations realistic. MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THE REVIEW: DO NOT STAY IN BUILDING 15. it was disgusting. didn't have a working shower for any of the 7 days we were down there, room was not cleaned when we arrived, honestly just so many problems. Building 15...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela B
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Dear Angela, we appreciate your comments in an analytical and conscious way of the service received. It is totally true that the quality is related to the payment of the service.( Value for Money). We are a 3 star resort in the Caribbean, clean, with entertainment and food according to our budgets. However we are open to ideas and working...

Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Check in was friendly and quick. A/C wasn't on, went to front desk and was turned on right away. Our room was in Block 12, renovated and spacious, cleaned daily. We enjoyed the buffet, got repetitive but better than other places we've been to. Loved the bar buffet; fries, chicken, pizza, hot dogs, salad......The a la carte beach restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie M
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

wow !!! Thank you Natalie . This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. a good description so well what is quality - price of a product. Thank you for mendioned our Staff, they work very hard to do their best to...

Blockhouse
Reviewed 22 March 2017

After reading all the negative reviews I was worried , we had stayed at this resort 8 years ago when it was the Celuisma and everything was fine so we thought we would try it again. We were not disappointed, there were 8 of us who stayed from March17-24 and we had a great time, except the rain!! We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Wow, wow, wow !!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you Miss Tammy. Channe for describing so well what is quality - price of a product. Yesterday we had good weather in the morning until noon, hoping today get...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is the first time ever traveling away and I had very little expectations arriving because of all of the horrible reviews. Most people on here are expecting a 5 star resort when paying for a 3 star. IF YOU WANT A 5 STAR BOOK A 5 STAR. I was expecting the food to be horrible but I was actually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brookegushue
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Wow, wow, wow !!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you Miss Brooke for describing so well what is quality - price of a product. Thank you to mentioned our Staff, they realy working hard to pleased our guests....

1,328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1175)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (293)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (438)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Pools (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (12)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
525 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,174 reviews
0.5 km away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 41 in Puerto Plata
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
220 reviews
1.6 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,423 reviews
0.6 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA The Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada guarantees you a unique beach holiday in one of the most complete and welcoming All Inclusive hotels in Puerto Playa, Dominican Republic. Specialized in weddings and events on the beach, this hotel is the perfect setting for some unforgettable holidays. Located in the amazing Playa Dorada, 5 km away from Puerto Plata, this hotel for weddings in the Dominican Republic offers endless customized services and state-of-the-art facilities for events: spa, swimming pools, nearby golf, water sports, parties, restaurants... Discover one of the liveliest hotels in Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata: book a hotel at the best price, only here, on the official website of the Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 72000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: ₹ 6,425 - ₹ 85,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here. Chose a better resort.”
unhappy0407, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“l though l had a good room building 12, but just a room”
_cq_dq1955, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms very quiet large and sunny, new television and renovated”
190dianel, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from building 15.”
eastcoastcatlover, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for renovated room”
OttawaGriz, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5